We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gotta go!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Indianapolis Motor Speedway and Hall of Fame Museum

Indianapolis Motor Speedway and Hall of Fame Museum
4790 W 16th St, Indianapolis, IN 46222
317 484-8655
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 83 attractions in Indianapolis
Type: Race Car Tracks, Specialty Museums
Activities: Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The Indy Speedway, dating back to 1909, is one of the most famous car raceways in the world. Even if you can't join the crowd of 400,000 that comes each May to watch the celebrated Indy 500, stop by for a minibus ride on the speedway. Then visit the museum that traces race car history, including a display of restored speed demons, starting with the first Indy winner in 1911.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Gotta go!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I really enjoyed being here and having the opportunity to be driven around the track was great. This was a surprise for my son

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    495
    205
    45
    10
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterbury, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Tour guide was very knowledgeable about all types of racing (Formula 1, Indy Cars & NASCAR) If your a racing fan, take the tour & make sure to visit the museum. You won't be sorry.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Cool place to visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Had a good time visiting the museum. Paid extra for the longer tour but I think it was worth it. Got to see the press room and media center and race control. The cars are cool to see and the gift shop is nice but too expensive.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Short, sweet, and perfect for a non-fan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Being that we are not racing fans, I wasn't all that thrilled to go t the Indy 500 speedway for a tour. However, I found this just perfect. We took a "lap" in a small bus and listened to a recording of the history of the track, saw the "bricks", and I could almost imagine what it must be like when it is full of sights and sounds. After the tour, we went through the small museum. Overall, a couple of hours and we were ready to go. I imagine if you are really a racing FAN, then you could spend much longer looking at all the historical cars and related items. I was skeptical, but we all enjoyed it...even the teenage girls in our group!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Indy 500!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The Indy 500 is about the best value you can get out of a large event. For $40 entrance ticket you can bring in all your own food and drink. It is an awesome time and we always go in the infield. Every year it is a fantastic event that keeps getting bigger and bigger. Also, parking has never really been a problem even though there are so many people, they do a fantastic job.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indianapolis Motor Speedway and Hall of Fame Museum also viewed

 

Been to Indianapolis Motor Speedway and Hall of Fame Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indianapolis Motor Speedway and Hall of Fame Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Indianapolis Motor Speedway and Hall of Fame Museum to your Saves list