We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terra Cotta Warriors' Only US Engagement in 2014!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Children's Museum of Indianapolis

Children's Museum of Indianapolis
3000 N. Meridian St., Indianapolis, IN 46208-4716
(317) 334-3322
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 59 Attractions in Indianapolis
Type: Children's Museums, Museums
Activities: Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The largest children's museum in the world urges children to dig in and touch everything as they explore the physical and natural sciences, history, world cultures and the arts through exciting interactive exhibits on five floors. There's also a planetarium and a theater with children's plays and live entertainment.
Noblesville, Indiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Terra Cotta Warriors' Only US Engagement in 2014!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

While it was aimed at children, it was well worth the price of admission to revisit this wonderful attraction. My children and I were frequent visitors during their younger years. Much had changed, but some of their old favorites were still there to greet them with memories. The newest exhibit, The Terra Cotta Warriors (small separate admission), and Chinese culture were woven throughout several of the museums exhibits. This made for a nicely cohesive experience. Young children seemed to be particularly enamored with the pretend Chinese restaurant in "Take Me There" on Level 2. Plan to spend the day exploring the five levels (L & 1-4). Get your complimentary tickets to the planetarium and other lower level (L) attractions upon arrival and plan your day around those times. Rock climbing appointments (on level 4) need to be made early, too!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,116
    226
    73
    14
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“great really nice way to spend rainy day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

EXCELLENT museum, very nice way to spend a day, Best thing to do in INDY esp on a rainy day.
Great staff. Would have rated it 5 if my kids were younger

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
68 attraction reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Still a great museum - but, we might be outgrowing?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Took my son here when he was 4 and again now at 7. He was still plenty entertained - but, I don't think he has many years left here - one section he was already too old to enter (3rd floor play area - for ages 5 and under); we managed to keep busy from 10 to 4. Had a nice lunch there - plenty of choices. The food was above average. A bit pricey but that is to be expected. A very nice gift store - again pricey. But, we managed to find a good deal on Kinetic sand! Cool stuff! Free connected parking garage. I found the staff selling tickets in the morning to not be very friendly or helpful. The guy taking our tickets seemed happy and cheerful though. Place was clean. I only saw one Family bathroom and that was difficult for me as my son is not quite old enough to be in the bathroom by himself or for me to leave him while I go... I think the price of admission is high - it was ~ $35 for the two of us.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great for the kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

I really didn't want to spend the time we did there. I'm not much of a museum type of guy but after arriving and seeing all the "hands on" education my wife and I stayed for 3 hours! We had a good time and was even able to grab something to eat there.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookville, Ohio
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Not interesting to my 10 year old.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Their slogan is "Extraordinary. Always." My daughter deemed it "Bordinary." We got through about half of it and she asked if we could go to the gift shop then leave to go to IMAX. Honestly, my husband and I were glad to go, despite paying $53 for admission for the 3 of us. To be fair, the staff was all great.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Children's Museum of Indianapolis also viewed

 

Been to Children's Museum of Indianapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Children's Museum of Indianapolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.