We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Children's Museum - Definite a must-see for the ENTIRE family!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Children's Museum of Indianapolis

Children's Museum of Indianapolis
3000 N. Meridian St., Indianapolis, IN 46208-4716
(317) 334-3322
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 196 things to do in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The largest children's museum in the world urges children to dig in and touch everything as they explore the physical and natural sciences, history, world cultures and the arts through exciting interactive exhibits on five floors. There's also a planetarium and a theater with children's plays and live entertainment.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Children's Museum - Definite a must-see for the ENTIRE family!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

The Children's Museum in Indianapolis is for all ages. Most displays are hands-on and many are interactive with the children. From dinosaurs to model trains (and a real one) it is a great day to spend the day!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,634 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,268
    264
    81
    16
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clarksville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great day for the family!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We are a family with teens and older children. We visited the Children's museum due to past wonderful experiences when the kids were much younger. It did not disappoint this time either! We especially loved the 4th floor of interactive play. The kids still loved the water exhibits even though they are getting older. We loved the exhibits, and they have a food court to make it much easier to continue to play all day. The food court has options that are healthy as well. I was impressed that we were able to purchase items that were more healthy than you usually find - for example, grilled chicken, vegetarian sandwiches, 100% juice items, etc. The prices are higher than you would like, but what you would expect (5-15 per item).

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good spot to get your toddler tired”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We went with a 2-year old toddler and spent more than 2 hours in the toddler play area on the fourth floor. There are so many activities to do like playing with the air-sucked balls, in the sand box, or in the water pool. We also enjoyed the dinosaur display area but after that the toddler just fell asleep as soon as we put him into the car seat.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great for kids and adults”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

This is a great museum for kids because of the hands-on exhibits they have. But it's also very interesting for adults. The Chihuly Fireworks of Glass display is amazing! The temporary exhibits are usually pretty interesting. My favorite was the Cars, Guitars, and Rock, which featured cars and guitars of rock stars.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Love it!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I can't wait to Jolly Days!!! Love the whole place. I really enjoy the brand new Playscape area. I visited Dinosphere for the first time ever and It was awesome. I never went to the lower level before so Fireworks of Glass was beautiful too!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Children's Museum of Indianapolis also viewed

 

Been to Children's Museum of Indianapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Children's Museum of Indianapolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.