We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to spend the day with kids!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Children's Museum of Indianapolis

Children's Museum of Indianapolis
3000 N. Meridian St., Indianapolis, IN 46208-4716
(317) 334-3322
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 59 Attractions in Indianapolis
Type: Children's Museums, Museums
Activities: Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The largest children's museum in the world urges children to dig in and touch everything as they explore the physical and natural sciences, history, world cultures and the arts through exciting interactive exhibits on five floors. There's also a planetarium and a theater with children's plays and live entertainment.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place to spend the day with kids!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Loved the children's museum! There was so much to do and plenty of space. We went on a Saturday and did not feel crowded or congested. It was so nice that the kids could play with what they wanted without waiting or pushing and shoving etc. it's really pricey but you will spend he entire day there! Plenty of healthy lunch options in the food court, too! quite impressive!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,440 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,120
    228
    73
    14
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brownstown Township, Michigan, Usa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Plenty to do for children of all ages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The museum is great! We bought a family membership last year and have gone several times. My triplets are 4 going on 5 years old and they love it. The shows are fun and interesting and the Transformer Bumble Bee (actual from the movie) welcomes all who enter. It is a great place to visit because you don't have to constantly worry about your children breaking things that they can't touch.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Frequent vistor, always great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My family and I frequently visit the Indianapolis Children's museum. We love that there is something for every age. We've been taking my daughter since she was about 2. There is so much to do and staff is always friendly. The only thing we don't care for is the food, it's poor quality and overpriced (to be expected of course). We always bring our lunch.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A must see with kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Friends were in town and we visited with their kids. Everyone enjoyed the day at the children's museum. There are things to do for infants/toddlers through adults. A great place for kids and adults of all ages!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berrien Springs, Michigan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“You simply *can't* do it all here!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I took our 3.5 yo son here over the 4th of July weekend. We arrived shortly after the museum opened and found the crowds to be manageable (though, with so many kids around, it can get noisy!). The museum does offer a AAA discount, so remember to show your card if you are a member to get the discounted price.

Our first stop was to the concierge desk, which is a good place to stop if it is your first trip to the museum. The concierge told us about the planetarium shows and performances for the day, helped us to find one that was age appropriate (we picked the planetarium show with Sesame Street characters), and then printed out our complementary tickets. She also helped point us in the right direction for the attractions that would most interest our son and a good order to attach them in (for us, it was dinosaurs followed by trains, lunch and then the 12:30 show).

We ended up spending 4-5 hours at the museum, which was probably more than our toddler could tolerate. We skipped several of the exhibits that were clearly above his age level and we STILL didn't get a chance to see everything or linger long in some places. Our son's favorite activities involved free play -- dressing up in dinosaur costumes, playing with dinosaur toys, playing at the train and water tables and playing in the play houses -- rather than "instructional" ones, so we steered away from reading-intensive exhibits and towards those that were more free-form and hands on.

I can definitely understand why some families opt for an annual membership so that they can go back multiple times (and in short bursts) to experience everything that the museum has to offer. Since we were visiting from Michigan, we wanted to "do it all" and ended up exhausted at the end of the day! We will likely go back in a few years once our son has grown up a bit, so we can see many of the things that we missed on this trip. Our advice to parents would be to assess your child's (or children's) attention span(s), interests and endurance and plan your visit accordingly. The concierge is a great resource for figuring out how to best navigate the museum to suit your family and make the most of your trip.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Children's Museum of Indianapolis also viewed

 

Been to Children's Museum of Indianapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Children's Museum of Indianapolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.