We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth the bit of patience needed to understand the menu” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taqueria (Carniceria) Guanajuato

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Taqueria (Carniceria) Guanajuato
1269 Oliver Ave, Indianapolis, IN 46221
317-423-8697
Improve this listing
Ranked #326 of 1,921 Restaurants in Indianapolis
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Denver
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“worth the bit of patience needed to understand the menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

This is a great restaurant. It is in the back of a mexican supermarket (carniceria) but has a restaurant feel the way it is situated and decorated. Our waitress was patient with us when we ordered as the menu is very colorful with photos but a bit hard to follow. We started with the queso, guacamole and salsa, well worth it. Especially the quac and salsa. The burritos are stand alone and they are huge! No need to order rice/beans unless you really love those sides. The meat in the burrito was tender and plentiful wonderful flavors....the burrito was plain on the outside (no chili) but it didn't need anything additional.

The margaritas were wonderful and there were a variety to pick from. Lots of quality tasty food for the money.
I'd highly recommend this gem, glad we found it!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    2
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Awesome and surprising - Go and enjoy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We went to the Pike Plaza location off Lafayette Rd and Georgetown. First the restaurant was the big surprise. Awesome food! I had the Seven Seas soup. It came in a bowl the size of a mixing bowl. It had crab legs, clams, shrimp, octopus, white fish, scallops....It had so much seafood, I couldn't believe it! Others at our table ordered grilled chicken, beans, rice, fajitas and I tasted it all. OMG! All good, inexpensive, and no one could finish their plates due to the amount of food. Also, the grocery store is huge. The fresh produce and butcher/meat sections were amazing, with very reasonable prices.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“An Authentic Mexican Restaurant hidden in a Supermarket. Who Knew?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

A hidden treasure. Best Mexican food in Indianapolis. My Son-in-law is from Mexico City and we joined him and my daughter here for dinner. The restaurant is hidden way back on one side of the Supermarket. You need to be able to speak a little Spanish to order (or be good at pointing at what you want from the menu). Don't worry though, because everything we ordered was excellent! You can't go wrong. Extremely friendly and good service, even when we we went back without a translator.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Mexico delight right in Indianapolis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We visited the location on W. Pike Plaza last night. We had been told in advance that it was in the back of the grocery store. We didn't realize how BIG the grocery store was. We walked around in amazement at how all the canned goods were perfectly aligned and they still use the price tag system. We found the restaurant and we were pleasently surprised at how large it was. We ordered the pico and guacamole which were both very good. The chips were ok. I had two tacos. They are served in corn tortillas with choice of topping and cilantro and limes. I had the Chorizo and Asada. They were both great, but the Chorizo was my favorite...so much flavor. One person ordered the burrito which looked great. My husband got the enchiladas with red sauce and it was so big he couldn't eat it all. For four people our food bill came to $21 BUT our alcohol was $50...oops! Would definitely recommend and will go back soon.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Indiana
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“What a wonderful surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I had read about this place recently in our local newspaper. Having lived in Latin America for many years, I was excited to check out the grocery store and meat market half of this place. After grocery shopping, we went to the restaurant side and ordered lunch. The area was huge, had many different kinds of foods on the menu. Plenty of veyr yummy food for 2 hungry people for $8, very pleasant server, and many more things on the menu to try the next time. As we left the store, we picked up two tamales "to go" so that will be in the next review. Definitely, a fun outing for a variety of reasons and a very delicious lunch in the bargain.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taqueria (Carniceria) Guanajuato also viewed

 
Indianapolis, IN
 

Been to Taqueria (Carniceria) Guanajuato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taqueria (Carniceria) Guanajuato, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.