We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn to your Saves list
Quality Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   406 East 22nd Street, Huntingburg, IN 47542   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Huntingburg
Monrovia, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

We stayed overnight at this hotel on a visit to Holiday World. We didn't use the pool or any other amenities as we were all very tired from our day out. The rooms were clean, beds comfy, and we had no issues. The doors do open to the outside, rather than an inside hall, but we were fine with that. The breakfast buffet was great. We would say here again. There is also a restaurant on site, but we didn't eat there, so we couldn't comment on that.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_Inn_IN177, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
I would like to thatnk you for your review of our property. On your next visit to the area I do recommend eating in the restaurant if you like mexican food it is an authentic mexican restaurant. Also if you want to leave Holiday World a little earlier you can relax in the Hot Tub after a long day and let the kids swim in the pool. If you have any other comments or suggestions please feel free to contact us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    22
    20
    6
    8
See reviews for
42
8
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, IL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

I just returned from a 2 night stay at the Quality Inn. While this hotel wasn't the best that I've ever stayed in, it definitely served it's purpose for our stay. All the staff I was in contact with was very nice and pleasant. They even allowed us a late check out. We had a family suite which was a room with a king bed and a room with 2 doubles. The rooms themselves have been updated some, but the shower could have been cleaned a little bit better. It wasn't moldy - just needed a good scrubbing. The rooms did have new flat screen tv's in them as well. Our last day there, we wanted to sleep in (had been at Holiday World the day before and were exhausted), but this was a little difficult to do with all the outside noise. I imagine it would probably be the same at any other hotel. One thing to keep in mind is this hotel is on eastern time while Holiday World is on central time. Also, it's about a 25-30 min drive between the two places. So if you're wanting to swim a little bit after you get back from Holiday World, you'll need to leave HW a little before closing time (8:30 CDT). Also, the breakfast ends at 9:30(eastern), but lots of stuff was gone be the time we got down there about 9:15.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_Inn_IN177, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
I would liek to thank you for your review. I apologize for the noise and the problem wiht the breakfast. You are correct with Holiday world being a major draw int he summer time the noise from the groups is something the we have tried to figure ways to lessen the noise. One sugggestion I can give you should you come back is to request a room facing the parking lot. While there may still be noise it usually does not se as loud as around the pool area. The downside to that request it is further to the pool if you want to use it. The time zone difference is another problem that most of the area hotels have to deal with. There is no solution for that, we tried keeping the pool open later at one poitn but unfortunatly that created more complaints about noise at night. Please feel free to contact us if you have any other comments or suggestions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bon Aqua, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

Bathroom was small...Breakfast ok...pool ok...not what I expected for the money or the reviews I read.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_Inn_IN177, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
I would like to thank you for your response. I'm sorry you will not be staying with us again. We have have done several remodeling projects over the past couple years and do have a couple more in the planning stages right not. Unfortunately the bathroom size is not something that can easily be fixed. I hope the rest of your stay was enjoyable here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia City, Indiana
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

The hotel itself was very nice. Nice rooms. We stayed over the weekend, Friday to Sunday. Checked in really late on Friday night, due to travel. The desk staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The rooms were really nice. We stayed in a Family Suite, which consisted of a King room and a Standard Room with Two Beds with a connecting door in the middle. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The pool and jacuzzi looked very clean. The rooms are outside access, which was wonderful. We were going to Holiday World for the weekend and it was great! The hotel was only 18 miles (about 1/2 hour away) from the park. The rooms were a little expensive, but it was worth it! We would stay here again. The internet was out when we stayed at the hotel, but that was ok.

Room Tip: If you don't like noise, request a room that is not pool-side. The pool is open until 10:00.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_Inn_IN177, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
We appreciate all honest comment about your stay with us. It allows us to not only fix what we are doing wrong but also allows us to improve the things we are doing right. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and apologize for the problems you had with the internet. If you need anything else please feel free to contact us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

We found this hotel about three years ago and have stayed there every year since when we go to Holiday World. It is an easy trip from the park as the directions only contain four lines and three turns. The rooms are nothing special you will not mistake this place for a vegas strip hotel or any five star hotel. What you do get is a clean room in an enviornment where you feel safe. Although sometimes groups of people staying in several rooms can make alot of noise.They have the fridge and microwave to save on dinner if you choose and also several places to eat nearby including Wendys, Dennys, and less than a mile to a Dairy Queen. There is also a CVS nearby so anything you forget you can get. Just remember that on your way there from Holiday World when you think that you must have gone too far it will be on the left in about a half a mile.
The hotel is reasonable in price and every year we have stayed there there has not been any surprises. We do not use the pool although it looks decent, I would complain that there is only one ice machine although it is centrally located. The check in process is fast. They have free wifi throughout the hotel. The breakfast is a joke to be honest we did not even plan on that breakfast for the last two years and to be completly honest we did not even look in the room this year. We always go down the road to the Dennys which is on the way to Holiday World.
We will stay there again next year and reccommend to our friends to stay there. We tell them you can stay closer to the park in a nicer room for about two or three times the price but what do you really do there other than shower and sleep? The extras you pay for are rarely worth the price. Unless you are planinning some kind of trip other than Holiday World I would highly reccommend the Quality Inn for what you need.

Room Tip: Ask to be placed away from large groups
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_Inn_IN177, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
I want to thank you for your review of your hotel. It is only with the honest feed back of our customers that allow us to better our hotel. We did add Scrambled eggs and sausage to our breakfast items along with the waffle and assorts breads, pastries cereal among other things. When you come back year please at least take a peek in our breakfast room to see if something you would rather have then to spend the money out for breakfast. Unfortunately since Holiday world is a major draw in the summer groups and the noises that comes with them is a factor in most hotels in the area. If you ever have noise complaints though please feel free to contact the desk. We would like to make every effort to make your stay an enjoyable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McCormick, IL
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

Will probably wrap itself around a tree. Have been here several times in the past year. The "deluxe" continental breakfast is not what the hotel site says. Biscuits and gravy, individual snack cakes, apple juice, yogurt have disappeared. The rooms are going downhill besides improvements. Housekeeping is getting shabbier. Since we're working on the NS railroad here, we have little choice where to stay. It is the only game in town and they know it. Run, Forest, Run! Will be getting out ASAP.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_Inn_IN177, Assistant General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, May 10, 2011
I'm sorry you feel that way. We are constantly looking at ways to improve our hotel and honest feedback from our guests is a must. The biscuits and gravy, yogurt, and apple juice are currently being offered as part of our breakfast. We are currently looking to try other items on our breakfast as well. Right now we have replaced the snack cakes with donut holes to see how well they would work. As you stated we are improving the hotel rooms, we got rid of all the old wallpaper in the rooms and have textured and painted all the room in the hotel. We are also in the middle of replacing all the furniture like headboards, dressers and nightstands. We will have 32 inch flat screen TV's installed by the end of the year. We are actually try to work out a deal to get them installed before the summer rush gets here. Our housekeeping staff consistently scores well for cleanliness on our annual inspections done by an independent company. I hope you will come visit us again and check on the improvements we have made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

This hotel has outside entry only rooms. I asked to look at my room before paying. They refused saying they do not so this. Thus, I asked to cancel my stay. They said they do not cancel stays and were forcing me to pay. I called my travel agency and they called the hotel. The clerk challenged the agency, saying they were not legit. American Express forced the issue and they cancelled. I asked to speak to the manager and the clerk said he was out and would not return for two weeks. There was no one to override her service choices. Hands down the worse experience I've had in over 150+ hotel stays ranging from one to four star hotels. I would strongly avoid. This hotel does not reflect the Quality Inn chain and I imagine they may soon be delisted based on my service if it is wide spread.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_Inn_IN177, Assitant General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, May 5, 2011
I apologize for the problems with your recent visit to us. Im sorry that you had a bad experience with our hotel and that you feel our staff was rude to you. Unfortunately reservations made through third parties need to be cancelled the same way they were made. We set it up like this because some sites and travel agencies prepay through an advanced purchase program so us cancelling a room here may not reimburse you. As far as the clerk "challenging" your travel agency, that is done becasue we have no way of knowing who is on the other end of the phone line. Travel Agency and other Reservations lines should be able to cancel the rooms themselves.
Once again I apologize for the problems with your stay and invite you to stop by and look at our rooms next time you are int he area so that you can have better idea of what our rooms look like inside before you make your next lodging choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Address: 406 East 22nd Street, Huntingburg, IN 47542
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Huntingburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Huntingburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Huntingburg
Huntingburg Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.