We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old school delicious” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Miner-Dunn

Miner-Dunn
8940 Indianapolis Blvd., Highland Lake County, IN 46322
(219) 923-3311
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $10
Restaurant details
Munster, IN
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“old school delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Miner-Dunn goes way back and always has been a go-to spot for us. Decorating etc needs updating, but we love the place. Great food.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    13
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

?Went there for old times sake...still great hambergers and there was a good salade too...not as many calories.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Better Burgers Than Schoops! Yes, Really!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Everything is homemade at Miner Dunn. That roast beef sandwich you're eyeballing? Yep, that was a beef round, roasted in the oven and then sliced to order. The fries and onion rings are hand cut. Soups, pies, fried chicken--EVERYTHING is homemade. This place deserves a lot more love than it seems to be getting here.

The real reason to come is the 1930s style burgers--big and delicious, expertly cooked every time. It is similar to Schoops--ground daily, hand made patties cooked to order--but I have to give Dunn the nod.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dyer, Indiana, United States
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Old time favorite!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

When my siblings and I were little our grandmother not only took us here, she would also bring home the burgers. There burgers are very tasty as well as the pat cleansing orange sherbet ice cream. Their coffee is very good too and the staff is very friendly. I took my husband who is not from around here and he too was won over. Worth a visit. Cozy and down home no frills. Affordable.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, AZ
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great food and prices, but needs remodeling”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I took my daughter and grandson to this place in late June 2012 to show her where my parents took us when we were kids. This was the only place my mother liked going to in the 1960s. It was a family diner then and it still is now.

The trouble is that despite the delicious food and great prices, the interior needs a serious overhaul. There was a hole in the ceiling two tables from us from water damage, the bathrooms have rust on the pipes to the toilets, and the tile floor felt sticky. The decor also looks faded from the 1960s. The owner, who chatted with me, did admit he needs to get the ceiling repaired

But despite these minor flaws, the Salad burgers we ate ($5.99 each), which were cheeseburgers with 1000 Island dressing and shredded lettuce, were delicious, and the fries perfectly prepared. Service was very fast and friendly as well. The sherbert we got with our platters was also delicious. I don't think you can get as much food as you can at this place for the price anywher else in "The Region." Stepping into this place is like reliving the 1960s, and even the outside marquee still stands.

This place opened in 1932, and the owners are celebrating 80 years of serving great food.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miner-Dunn also viewed

Highland Lake County, IN
Highland Lake County, IN
 
Highland Lake County, IN
Highland Lake County, IN
 

Been to Miner-Dunn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miner-Dunn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.