We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Chicago Southeast/Hammond

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Chicago Southeast/Hammond to your Saves list
Residence Inn Chicago Southeast/Hammond
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7740 Corinne Drive, Hammond, IN 46323   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Hammond
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“Loved our Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I must confess that I am a hotel snob. But I really enjoyed my stay at the Residence Inn in Hammond. During our week long trip, we stayed in 4 different hotels and this one was perfectly fine and up to our standards. My kids slept on the pull out couch and neither complained. The room was clean, service was great, and even the free breakfast was good with hot choices. I would definitely stay there again.

The only downside I would give the hotel is that you can hear the traffic since it's located near the freeway. But I wouldn't let that stop me from coming again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie S, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Southeast/Hammond, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review! We are so glad you and your family enjoyed your stay. We look forward to serving you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    15
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
25
7
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Spring Lake, Michigan
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

Overall our weekend stay was nice. We were suppose to have the 2 bedroom suite both nights, was reserved with a credit card. When we arrived the clerk said that was not available. The clerk did put us in 2 separate rooms but this was defeating the purpose of us all staying together.
The rooms were modern, clean an well equipped. The breakfast was good. The kitchen ladies could use more help when the hotel is to capacity. Signs could be placed to bus your own tables and have better garbage can placement. It all worked out fine!
I would stay here again and would recommend. Very easy on an off the highway.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie S, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Southeast/Hammond, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
I'm sorry we did not have one of our 2 bed 2 bath suites available for you and your family during your stay. My staff and I have reviewed all of your comments. I hope that you will give us another opportunity to earn your business and you will experience first hand how our amenities and services are a great fit for families and business travelers alike. We hope to see you back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Our first room's air conditioner went out so we had to switch rooms. We thought about getting a 2 bedroom suite and were told to move our stuff right away, when my son, who was ill, had just laid down for a nap. A quick chat with management and we were allowed to move when we pleased. The jacuzzi was not working, but we were allowed to use the one next door. One night there was a group in the courtyard which most rooms surround, they were drinking beer and being loud even at 11 pm; I felt it was wrong that I had to call the front desk-within view of the partiers-to ask them to kick them out of the area. The maids, front desk people, and cooks were all very kind and helpful. For example, I needed to print something and the public printer was not working so they let me use theirs.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie S, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Southeast/Hammond, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience. My staff and I reviewed each of your comments and have taken appropriate action to resolve each issue. I invite you to give us another try. We greatly appreciate your feedback, as it helps us to improve and provide a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Currently staying here (have been for about 3 months) for work and by far one of if not the best hotels I have ever stayed at. The rooms and hotel itself are in excellent condition, it has all the amenities I need and for an extended stay like mine it is vital. The staff is great, very friendly and on top of their game (directions, necessities). It is very nice to come back here after work and be greeted by the front desk staff, maintenance staff (Antwane), Lynn Hon, and the cleaning crew. Also, the operations manager (Lynn Hon) provides excellent customer service; she always makes sure that everything is going great with my stay and if there is anything that I need its taken care of ASAP. This is like my second home and I am enjoying it more than I would be if I was at home. I would recommend this hotel to anyone that is staying anywhere close to this area.

Room Tip: I have a room facing the lake and it is a beautiful site to wake up too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie S, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Southeast/Hammond, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you so much for your review and recognition of the management team and staff. I will be sure and share all of your great comments with each and ever one of them. We are so glad you can call this your “home away from home” because that is what we strive to provide our guests with everyday. We cannot thank you enough and hope to have you back with us very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed here after attending a concert on 5/11/12 at the Venue in Horseshoe Casino. Residence Inn is 10 minutes away from the casino and close to the expressway. I chose this location based on Trip Advisor reviews and they are right on target. As soon as we walked in and was greeted by the staff, we knew it was the place to stay. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. We stayed in room 201 which gave us easy access to our car. It was right outside our window. Loved it. The studio smelled fresh, clean and it was roomy. It provides you with every amenity you would need in a furnished apartment, i.e., plates, glasses, spoons, microwave, refrigerator, etc. After winning $2,000 on the slot machines at Horseshoe Casino and not returning to our room until 4 a.m., I was hoping the bed was comfortable. It was comfortable. There is a free breakfast from 7 a.m. - 10:00 a.m. which I heard was tasty, but we didn't wake up in time. I can't say good things about this location. We'll be back soon. You will not be disappointed!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

We selected this property based on it's proximity to the Museum of Science and Industry in Chicago and freeways AND based on the recommendations from other travelers. The trip from the property to MSI is about 30 minutes in non rush hour traffic, either direction using 94/Bishop Ford and Stony Island Ave- all non-toll.

This property is just off I 80-94 just inside the Indiana stateline from Illinois. It is easy to get on and off the free way. The Visitors Welcome Center shares the same access road, as does a Cracker Barrel and Wendys. Our room overlooked a small pond with waterfowl and we heard NO highway noise, even with a window open. If you go north of the freeway, you find the edge of town with a Domino's, McDonalds, fuel stations and little stores. We didn't go much farther up the way, but it seems like there is more just a bit north.

Dave at the front desk was very helpful and friendly. All staff extended warm greetings when they encountered a guest. There was lots of storage in the bed/bath area, lots of closet space.

The a/c unit did run a little loud BUT it kept the room comfortable.

Having the bedroom separate from the sitting room/kitchen was a plus. We used the kitchen and found it to be functional. Dishwasher runs loud- perhaps plan to run while you are out and about! Note: there is a 2 burner range top and no oven! Plan your meals accordingly.

Speaking of meals, Connie in the breakfast area cooks everything right there! She manages to put out oatmeal, sausage, scrambled eggs, potatoes/onions/peppers, french toast, yogurt, dry cereal, bagels and muffins! Connie was also very accomodating for a food allergy in our family.

We did use the pool and hot tub. The area was clean and had lots of towels. House keeping actually came in to mop up the deck after some funloving kids did some seriously splashing!

The hot tub was, well....hot. Almost uncomfortably hot.

The foyers, breakfast area and hallways all looked very new. The room was clean: counters, carpets, mirrors, fridge. However, it could use a deep clean- dust on the lower corners of bedside tables, dirt on the vents (which I had to get up to to change the direction of the airflow).

Not anything to cause someone to avoid the property.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie S, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Southeast/Hammond, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for your recent review! We greatly appreciate your recognition of our guest service representative and breakfast attendant. We posted a copy of your kudos for the entire staff. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

As a frequent traveller the hotel look and appeal become less important. When staying at a hotel I need friendly and prompt customer service. I receive this at the Residence Inn in Hammond, from management to the maintenance staff. They do everything in their power to make sure that I feel like I am at home. Every comment or suggestion is taken into serious consideration. I have been her for almost two years now and I do not plan to switch any time soon.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Chicago Southeast/Hammond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Chicago Southeast/Hammond

Address: 7740 Corinne Drive, Hammond, IN 46323
Location: United States > Indiana > Hammond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Hammond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Chicago Southeast/Hammond 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Renovated! The Residence Inn Hammond just completed a full renovation and redesign of all lobby and guest room space. Close to the beautiful Indiana Dunes, Indiana's casino boats and just 25 miles outside of downtown Chicago, this extended stay is a standout among South Chicago hotels. Our studios and one-and two-bedroom suites are 50% larger than traditional hotel rooms and feature fully-equipped kitchens, free WiFi and even a grocery shopping service! Other complimentary features that make us perfect for business travelers and families are our complimentary hot breakfast buffet, evening social hour (weekday), an indoor pool, outdoor Sport Court, private BBQ and patio area. The Residence Inn Hammond is proud to offer all modern conveniences and amenities today’s traveler has come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Inn Chicago Southeast/Hammond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Hammond
Hammond Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Chicago Southeast/Hammond, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.