We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Musty Smelling” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Northwest Indiana Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Northwest Indiana Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Northwest Indiana Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3830 179th St., Hammond, IN 46323-3035   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Hammond
Arvada, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Musty Smelling”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I thought the whole place had a musty odor. Rooms were not terribly clean but you could tell the bathrooms were recently renovated. People were shooting off fireworks about 10' outside our window which was annoying. We needed something last minute, traveling with a pet... So beggars can't be choosers.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    16
    11
    7
    12
See reviews for
9
8
7
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Haven, Michigan
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The room had a terrible smell upon arrival. Do not recommend this property! The staff was helpful but the room did not meet my expectations. Location off expressway was good but it is in a bad area. Did not feel safe.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwnwi, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Northwest Indiana Inn, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Please accept our sincere apology in not meeting your expectations. We are right off the expressway and in an industrial area. I can assure you that our area is safe. Please contact to me at the hotel anytime so that we can make your next stay better for you. Give us an opportunity to make your experience better next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City Missouri
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

I was pleased with our stay here. It was less expensive than the hotels down the road and suited our needs. When we first walked in the room, it had a little musty smell but we didn't notice it once we were in. The carpet appeared to be new and the king bed was very comfortable. The room was very clean. We knew that breakfast was not included, but ate at the adjoining restaurant (Orion) and had a great time talking each morning the the waitress, Connie. Overall this was a good stay for us.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwnwi, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Northwest Indiana Inn, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Your feed back is valuable to us. Thank you for staying with us. we are pleased that your stay with us was enjoyable one. We strive to give our guests the experience they will remember. Please come and visit us again any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PARKER
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

The overhang had been damaged and wood was dangling, which should have had a minimum of a tarp or something to ensure nothing falls on people. The people that hang around the front of the hotel are just not good. I get people smoke, but they certainly stayed right near the front door, making it impossible to walk right in. The odor in the room was atrocious! And the Direct TV only had pixels every 5 seconds. Not a good experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwnwi, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Northwest Indiana Inn, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
I want to apologize for your experience at our hotel. We did have a guest damage our canopy with a U Haul. We did put a tarp on it once the insurance agency had accessed the damage. I understand your concern regarding guests smoking in front of the doors. I am sure you also noticed all the signage pointing towards the designated smoking area at the end of the building away from lobby area. I am not sure what kind of smell you had in your room but we would have been to move you at any time. Please accept our sincere apology and hope that your will give us another chance to fix it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

If your looking for cheap and nothing else than stay here. Other than that find another location. Internet was so slow you could not use it, I gave up and used my 4G hotspot that was slow as well but faster than the hotel Internet. The TV was off for hours with no signal. FT Desk said they have satellite and it goes off sometimes. This hotel is outdated and there is a strip club two doors down.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwnwi, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Northwest Indiana Inn, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
We apologize for the inconvenience you had during your stay. We did have a satellite outage for couple of hours due to dish network upgrade. We appreciate your feedback and will hard to fix the internet problem you faced. We do have 24 hour support number for guests who might have problems with internet. Please accept our apology and hope that you give us another chance to make your next stay memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Hi I stayed here for a couple of nights during the Easter weekend. It was right off the interstate, so it was pretty convenient. The staff were very friendly, and helped with directions to local area attractions. The rooms had comfy beds, and were very clean.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwnwi, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Northwest Indiana Inn, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for your kind words. Our staff tries to make every guest feel comfortable and at home. We hope that you come visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Excellent service, very safe, nice amenities, kudos to the staff. This was a last minute reservation due to weather and late in the evening. Thanks to the kindness and efficiency of the staff this turned out to be a great choice.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwnwi, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Northwest Indiana Inn, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for your kind words and kudos to the staff. We work consistently to improve on the guest experience, with our in house training, and our product improvements. It is nice to see staff effort appreciated, and I will be happy to let them see your comments. I hope you will consider us again, whenever travel plans call for a visit to the area. Again, thank you for taking the time to tell us how we did...its important, and your comments are deeply appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Northwest Indiana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Northwest Indiana Inn

Address: 3830 179th St., Hammond, IN 46323-3035
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Hammond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Hammond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Northwest Indiana Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Northwest Indiana Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Northwest Indiana Hotel Hammond
Best Western Hammond
Hammond Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Northwest Indiana Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.