We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexpensive, and lots of noise” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Econo Lodge
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4000 South Calumet Avenue, Hammond, IN 46320 (Formerly Magnuson Hotel Hammond)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Hammond
Surgoinsville, Tennessee
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Inexpensive, and lots of noise”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

Stopped at this hotel outside of Chicago. It is located right off the interstate. We stayed on the first floor. A party/reception going on in the banquet room when we arrived. Very loud, we could hear in our room. Turned tv on to drown out the thumping music. Room was clean. Bathroom needs to be updated, hairdryer did not work and front desk said they did not have another one we could use. Breakfast was good-waffles, fruit, sausage, and hashbrowns.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    10
    8
    5
    15
See reviews for
9
7
5
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, De
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

Trying to save money by avoiding Chicago hotel rates. Found this place and save $150+ than staying in the Loop for 2 night. The hotel looks a little scary on the outside. It is located in and industrial area and it looks like a rough neighborhood.

The woman that checked us in was friendly. It was a small room with 2 small beds, a regular bath with small tub and shower. Ok towels, soap and shampoo. It was a basic hotel. The inside of the rest of the hotel was ok, not great, but not bad. It was a little noisy at night with some slamming door, but I slept through the night.

It was your average breakfast in the morning with fresh waffles, bagels, danish, cereal, apple and bananas. The juice was bad, but the coffee was good.

This hotel overall met our needs. An inexpensive relatively safe place to sleep. If you want the four seasons, you have to pay for it.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

While staying at this hotel for a friend boxing match, I will say this was one of my worst hotel experience. I felt like I was staying in a run down apartment complex that called themselves a hotel. Started off with the door to my room, the latch to lock it was screwed down onto a piece of ply wood onto the door. The bathroom floor didn't feel or look like it was clean. I called the front desk to ask for towel and they told they don't have them at the front desk and that I had to go find the housekeeper down my hall. Once I found the housekeeper she had me follow her to the laundry room to get my towel instead of offering to bring them to my room. Mean while my fiancee was at there workout facility where the water jug was empty and some of there equipment was broken. He informed the front desk, where the woman told him "I cant replace the jug, go get some water from the closed breakfast area." Then to top things off, there wasn't a variety to continental breakfast. It had nothing healthy like fruit or yogurt where they advertise healthy food.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

We booked this hotel at the last minute without being able to thoroughly research it, so I was nervous. The area getting to the hotel is not the greatest but it gets a little better where the hotel is. The lobby was very nice and clean and the attendant wonderful. The rooms were very clean but showed some wear and tear. The bed was amazing! There was a huge party going on when we arrived in the banquet room and we could hear the music in our room. Thankfully it ended soon after we arrived and before we retired for the night. The breakfast the next morning was the best I've ever had at a hotel. Sausage and hash browns, waffles, toast, bagels and muffins. Very Yummy. i would stay here again if inthe area.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2010

Nice room...I actually had a room with a hot tub. It even was decorating with flowers for valentines day. The front desk people were nice....I used Choice Points...But heard the price was $69 ....which is not too bad...Did take a trip to the Horse Shoe Casino 3 miles north on 41.....Slots are tight...Food was good....But Hammond is one dipressed area...UNDERSTATEMENT....Quality Inn seemed safe....but a few blocks away...YUK!
The closeness to I 90 was convenient. Would definetly stay gain...Close to Chicago.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

I stayed at the Quality Inn Hammond when I traveled with my church youth group in July of 2009 for the annual Youth Conference services they have up there at the 1st Baptist Church. I personally believe this is a very nice hotel. The lobby is very nice with sofas, chairs, and tables in case you need a little relaxation. They also have a great continental breakfast every morning that includes waffles, cereals, bagels, muffins, assorted juices, etc. The dining area has lots of seating too. The hotel also has a nice exercise room, indoor pool (which we did not use), outdoor gazebo, ample parking, elevator, vending machines on every floor and the rooms there are very nice. The rooms are very clean, spacious, table with chairs, phone, and nice bathrooms. Not a whole lot of frills in the rooms, but they are great nonetheless. The shower/tub has great water pressure as well. They have daily housekeeping service, and the hotel is in a very convenient location. It is only a mile from one of the world's largest churches (1st Baptist of Hammond), 1/2 mile from the Dan Ryan Expressway, and only about 15-20 miles from the inner city of Chicago (Navy Pier, Sears Tower, Shedd Aquarium, Planetarium, etc.) There are also tons of restaurants and shops within walking distance of the hotel as well. Be warned, however, the hotel is not far from the "ghetto" area of Chicago, so be careful when making turns on and off the expressway. If you are looking for a nice hotel without a whole lot of frills in the suburb area of Chicago for a great rate, then the Quality Inn of Hammond is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2009

Upon arrival at hotel, the area seemed to be a little on the rough side. The room itself was clean (clean bedding, comfortable, not worn out). It was the bathroom that was disappointing. The caulking job that they had done around the perimeter of the tub was flaking off as well as the ceiling (lack of ventilation or exhaust fan). The shower was brutal. It would only operate at one pressure (the shower head was not adjustable). If you stayed in the shower too long, it would start feeling painful. The toilet was also very loud. The continental breakfast was the usual. Bagels, toast, boiled eggs, waffle maker, oatmeal and the usual juices and coffee. The only reason we chose this was because we were traveling with our dog. I will try and find another place to stay if in the area again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 4000 South Calumet Avenue, Hammond, IN 46320 (Formerly Magnuson Hotel Hammond)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Hammond
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Hammond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Hammond
Hammond Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.