We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food quality ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Freddy's Steak House

Freddy's Steak House
6442 Kennedy Ave, Hammond, IN 46323-1064
219-844-1500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 97 Restaurants in Hammond
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Food quality ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Had the chicken piccata. It was excellent. Tender and juicy and the wine sauce was very light and tasty. My dinner partner had the Greek red snapper. No complaints. Dinner for two with drinks $59.00. Good meal good price. Service started out a little shaky but improved as the night went on.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    13
    7
    7
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Illinois
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“What are people talking about?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

I have been here more times than I can count.Am I special or some thing? I mainly order the prime rib but others with me often order other dinners. I have never once experienced bad anything ever. The local branch of the national prime meat company Meats by Linz owns this place so I know I am getting the best meat here as the downtown Chicago steak houses.Am going again tonight.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Don't waste your money!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

Tried this place and it was disappointing from the start with so many good restaurants in the area "Jack Bunions" for example you don't have to settle. The staff seemed to have no direction we had to ask for a server my tuna special was awful my wife's steak burnt no manager to apologize nothing taken off our bill I did not eat more than three bites before losing my appetite and I paid for every miserable moment! Go somewhere else that place needs work!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“In transition, but still a great place for steaks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I first started going to Freddy's over 40 years ago. The restaurant looks the same as it did back then. It could probably use a makeover, but since we hadn't been there in 20 years, we appreciated the nostalgia. Back then, their "steak sandwich" which was hardly a sandwich but a great cut of beef, was divine. Unfortunately, the steak sandwich on the menu today is not the same, but the twice-baked cheesy potatoes and mushroom sides are. The steaks we ordered were great.

The last time we were there in early December, we met the new chef, Jillian Flathers, of Hell's Kitchen fame. She's going to make some changes to the menu this month, which will be interesting, given Freddy's long-standing traditionalMidwestern meat and potatoes fare. Hammond needs a culinary shot in the arm, so we wish her the best. We'll be back in February for the new menu and will report again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammond, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Over priced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

We came here to eat dinner and the food was not good and it was so so over priced we will never be back again stay away..

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Freddy's Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Freddy's Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Freddy's Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.