We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfast!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sophia's Original House of Pancakes

Sophia's Original House of Pancakes
1694 W Main St, Greenwood, IN IN 46142
(317) 888-6800
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 160 Restaurants in Greenwood
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Columbus, Indiana
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Everything we had a Sophia's was delicious, hot and reasonably priced. My husband had the Western Omelette special which came with hash browns and two pancakes. He has a big appetite but couldn't finish it. It was, I think, 7.75. I had the senior pancake special, pancakes (2), eggs (2), and bacon (4) and it was 5.75. Everything was prepared perfectly, especially the four strips of bacon which were crispy. It was a busy Saturday morning, but we were seated promptly. I would definitely come here again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    21
    0
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very good breakfast.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

Very good breakfast. Large portions. Great value. Eggs had 4 yolks. Huge pancakes! Very noisy. Will come back to try other things on the menu.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Huge Portions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Went for brunch on a Sunday. Busy, busy. Crowding them in. But LOVED it! Huge portions; you can take over half your meal home! Hashbrown potatoes were delicious and crispy...amazing how that's hard to find sometimes. Next time I'm in town, I'm going back for breakfast and lunch!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Value, Busy Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I really like going here for breakfast - the portions are generous (enough to take home for later), the selection is great and it tastes delicious! It can be quite busy and loud on weekends. It can be hard to hear one another and you feel crowded while eating. I have to be in the mood to put up with that to go for breakfast. Some days I don't want to go simply because I don't want to feel like a sardine that morning. We have had great service every time we have eaten here. It would be good to see more money put into the exterior of the building and landscaping - it looks dilapidated and worn out.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indy
1 review
“The best HOME cooked food on the Southside...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Honestly, I really think the negative reviews are from a lack of understanding of what Sophia's is... It's a DINER. It's not a high-end, stuffy restaurant. Think Denny's but with WAY better food. The wait staff are VERY pleasant and if you treat them as equals, they are warm, funny and make the experience even better. Now we get down to the food. The food is incredible! The omelets are 5 egg (read HUGE) and packed with whatever you choose to eat. Their Eggs Benedict are FABULOUS! Homemade Hollandaise sauce and perfect poached eggs with a thick slice of ham. The skillets are HUGE and packed with meat, cheese, 4 eggs, potatoes and love.

Honestly, I've never had anything but breakfast there, but it's what they do and they do it right. You don't go to a steak house to order fish, You go to a specialized restaurant, order what they do special.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sophia's Original House of Pancakes also viewed

 

Been to Sophia's Original House of Pancakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sophia's Original House of Pancakes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.