We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very, Clean Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Mishawaka - Notre Dame

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn Mishawaka - Notre Dame to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn Mishawaka - Notre Dame
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1325 E University Dr Court, Granger, IN 46530   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Granger
Marion, Indiana
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A Very, Clean Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

This is an exemplary Red Roof property in terms of cleanliness, looks, and hospitality. (I seriously doubt if this building began its life as a member of the Red Roof franchise because it's just a little too nice.) My floor vacuuming little dog found no crumbs under the bed or anywhere else to devour. And, there was plenty of grass outside for him. The hotel has a large breakfast room and a decent-sized lobby. The breakfast selection was pretty limited with cereal, doughnuts, frozen waffles and white bread as the options. The doughnuts were spectacular, however! There was coffee, orange juice, hot water, and milk to drink. That was it. The only disagreeable thing about the hotel was that smoking rooms were down at one end of the floor, and on my first night there, a strong odor of smoke lingered in the hall. I did not smell anything inside my room, however, and the room next to mine was a smoking room. I did not smell the smoke the second night. I would not hesitate to stay again at this Red Roof.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    24
    13
    10
    7
See reviews for
20
12
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We arrived late at night and next morning got up to find no towels-called to front desk and had to get dressed and go down and get our own towels. two days later had no toilet paper! when I called front desk they told me I had to come down and get my own so again I had to get dressed and go down even though there were two people at desk when I got there. They were not apolegetic at all, I mean really, no toilet paper in the room!!! I don't expect a 5 star hotel or fancy towel animals every day but I do expect towels and toilet paper! Young woman at front desk was down right rude when I complained. One day they did not make the bed because my daughter had left her blanket laying across the end of the bed, said they couldn't make bed because of "personal item". since this is the first time I have ever stayed at a Red Roof Inn I'm not sure if this is how they all are or this is just a "bad apple".
Only nice part of the hotel was we did have a refrigerator in the room. Lots of other hotels in south bend to stay at besides this one.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasaga Beach, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

We used a Room Saver coupon, so it was a great room, with great service, for the money. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

First off, the owner/general manager of this hotel will bend over backwards to make your stay great. With that being said, we did have a couple issues that made our stay not perfect. The rooms, lobbies, etc are clean and well cared for and we were there after that horrendous snowstorm dumped feet of snow in the area and the entrance was always sparkling clean. The lobby had THE most comfortable couch and rocker to sit in. They not only welcome folks with pets, they love having them and for free!!! The staff will help you out with anything and fix anything that is not up to standards. They are friendly and knowledgeble. This is a budget hotel so don't expect big dollar amenities, no pool, no hair dryers in the rooms, no big hot breakfast for free, though they do have continental we didn't participate in, etc. They also have limited hygiene products offered, just shampoo in a packet not bottle and a couple small sized soaps so you might want to bring your own products. The bedding is clean, the mattresses are firm and ok. The carpeting was put in rather shabbily and has sort of a speed bump look to it, but nothing you would trip over. It is standard hotel fare carpet and ugly but you walk on it, not sleep on it so future complaints about this are ridiculous in my opinion. We stayed in a double queen room so I can't say this is true of the king rooms, but we didn't have a traditional living room type chair to sit in, only a couple hard backed chairs for the desk. We are seniors and I hated having to use the desk chair or sit on the bed all the time. Now for things the management cannot do anything about, but you might want to be aware of. First off, the hotel backs up to the Indiana Toll Road so if you can't stand car and semi noise make sure you have them put you at the front of the hotel. It is very noisy in the back. Our heating unit was kind of noisy on and off, but worked very well. Since we live in a large city very close to a busy street the toll road noise did not bother us and neither did the heating units kind of clunk sound when it turned on and off. Secondly, I hated the tub. It is cheap fiberglass, and very deep. I am 5'7",but have short legs. I had to grab the bathroom door handle to help myself into the darn tub and out again so I couldn't shut the door. I am not infirmed so didn't want to take up an assessible room just because of the tub. Finally, our room was non smoking and wreaked of smoke. We told the manager who offered to change our room, but we had already unpacked and such so stayed where we were and I Lysoled the room. I did contact the hotel the day after we returned home and did their survey online saying I felt their housekeeping staff should have recognized the smell before we checked in and laundered all the bedding in cluding the comforters, any mattress pads and such along with sanitazing the air before anyone checked into the room. I received an email the same day from the manager saying the problem will be immediately addressed and not happen again and apologized. Be aware that during Notre Dame football season, ALL hotels no matter how budget or luxury gouge the heck out of consumers so this one could also be pricey. It has been done for years and years and will continue to be so, but any other time of the year, the prices for this hotel are reasonable and we got a senior discount for only $50 a night. As it was a last minute trip because my sister's husband passed away suddenly, we were not disappointed with this budget hotel at all. Take a gamble and try it. I think if you want to save money but have a great hotel experience, this is the place to stay in the South Bend/Mishawaka area.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, MI
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

My job requires that I am in the area once or twice a week in this area. My first choice, always, is the Red Roof Inn in this area. I began staying here a couple of years ago and from the beginning (and consistently) I was impressed. The manager and staff are the CONSUMMATE HOSTS. Their professionalism and pleasant manner are the norm as opposed to every once in awhile like so many other establishments. Although it is not a very new, the housekeeping/cleanliness is impeccable! Any problems during your stay? The staff is right on it to your satisfaction!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

I've stayed at this location several times. The staff is always very friendly--above and beyond! We've never had an issue with cleanliness and they have been helpful and accommodating with any requests. For the price, I haven't found a better place in town!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STROUDSBURG
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

We spent the night as a break on a 1000+ mile drive. The room was comfortable and clean. The hotel was quiet and the staff was very friendly. The continental breakfast was just donuts and coffee...would have liked some toast or bagels. Coffee was good though. Internet service was excellent and water temp and pressure were great. Considering the price, this was a great stay!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn Mishawaka - Notre Dame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Mishawaka - Notre Dame

Address: 1325 E University Dr Court, Granger, IN 46530
Location: United States > Indiana > Granger
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Granger
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Mishawaka - Notre Dame 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Red Roof Inn, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Mishawaka - Notre Dame reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Mishawaka - Notre Dame Hotel Mishawaka
Mishawaka Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Mishawaka - Notre Dame, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.