We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is not Chicago!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Uptown Kitchen

Uptown Kitchen
7225 Heritage Square Drive, Granger, IN 46530
+1 574-968-3030
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Uptown Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 52 Restaurants in Granger
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $9 - $25
Cuisines: Vegetarian, Contemporary, Healthy, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Families with children, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Reservations
Description: High quality, fresh, natural foods. Specializing in gourmet breakfast & lunch cuisine. Great weekend brunch, salads, sandwiches, pizzas, house made soups and much more. Great spot for vegetarian, vegan & gluten free dining. Full bar with craft beers, fine wines & cocktails. Full service catering.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“This is not Chicago!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I stop by this place for lunch every now and then when I am in the area and the food is okay at best. I stopped in today for a sandwich which was average and a glass of wine and I will never go back again! They charge way too much money for food the quality of Applbee's (nothing against Applebee's). This is Granger Indiana not Chicago.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    19
    7
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food, great ambiance, great people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I have been to this restaurant on many ocassion, and have always walked away feeling good and satisfied - food, service, decor ... every thing comes together nicely.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suttons Bay, Michigan
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“CULINARY DELIGHT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Stopped here for lunch with good friends.
Healthy vegetarian choices. We split the quinoa burger and the cauliflower sandwich.
Both were excellent. No worries they have a wide variety of menu choices. This is a must stop if you are in Northwest Indiana.
Jim and Linda Munro
Korner Kottage B & B
Suttons Bay, MI

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Outstanding breakfast in stylish setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

In a sea of Granger/Mishawaka malls, the mall this restaurant calls home stands out for its human scale and fine design. The restaurant itself holds to these standards and offers a warm welcome and great food besides. My family and I have experienced only breakfast here, but I'd wager all other meals served here are just as good. If you're an oatmeal aficionado, you won't be disappointed. Five stars for that alone. Skip the banana pancakes if you really love bananas, but you're safe with just about anything else on the menu. Coffee is exceptional, too.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WINTER PARK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Larry S”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Ate there twice while visiting my oldest daughter at ND. Items on the menu were varied and seemed suited for most palates. Everyone at the table was very pleased with their selection and little food remained. Agree that the desserts are expensive (on par with Cheesecake Factory). Split one piece of cake between 5 people. Returned for breakfast/brunch the next day only because of the very long wait time at the first restaurant we chose. Wait time was 20-30 min. Took my daughters to the grocery store in the same complex while my girlfriend waited at the restaurant. She was seated early and was told by the manager, after being seated, that if we did not arrive within the next few minutes, she would have to get up from the table and return to the wait line. Waitress (not ours) apologized for the interaction once the manager was out of hearing range. Other than that, breakfast was good, but not memorable. Would go back again for lunch or dinner.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uptown Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Uptown Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Uptown Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.