We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place should be allowed to have the Courtyard brand” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Suites Goshen

Save Saved
You added Quality Inn & Suites Goshen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites Goshen
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1930 Lincolnway East, Goshen, IN 46526 (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott Goshen)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Goshen
Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“This place should be allowed to have the Courtyard brand”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

This is the exception to the Courtard norm. The rooms are dated and warn. The whole place is in need of an upgrade. The rooms are clean enough, but it's just not comfortable. It's dreary, the walls, floors, ceiling and drapes should have been replaced years ago. I was disappointed that this place carried the Courtyard brand. I depend on the brand and usually select the courtyard over other properties because they are consistently clean and comfortable. Also, this place reaked of carpet deodorizer. I had to wash everything that I brought to the room to get rid of the smell. The staff was nice, the room was cheap, and breakfast was pretty good, but I would encourage you to stay at the new holiday inn express up the street if you're visiting Goshen.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the Hampton so you can get access to the Hamptons wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goshengm, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Goshen, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,
I do apologize for your less than enjoyable stay and find it very troubling that you had such problems. You will be glad to know however, that we have just placed brand new pillow top mattresses in nearly all of our rooms and they are nice! We will also be receiving new flat screen TV's in all of our rooms and several other updates in the very near future. We are still Goshen's premier hotel and hope you will give us a second chance on your next visit. We are carrying on in the Marriott tradition of excellence that have made Marriott an internationally recognized name for 83 years and counting. Have a great day.

Derrick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    24
    14
    10
    3
See reviews for
23
17
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

After reading all of the reviews, many of which were quite negative, we were worried, but since we didn't feel we wanted to change reservations at the last minute, we went ahead, and were glad we did.

The rooms, bathroom, hallways, lobby, pool, and other areas were extremely clean and pleasant. We had absolutely no concerns at all about cleanliness. Breakfast was advertised prominently as costing a certain amount, so we were expecting that. The buffet was very good and the service very attentive.

The only thing we would have liked was WiFi in the room. It was available in the lobby, so we took our computers there to use. Our grandchildren enjoyed the inside pool, since it was pretty cold outside and the outdoor pool wasn't available. We liked the popcorn machine in the lobby, the availability of tea or coffee there, and the helpfulness of the desk staff. They were great at answering all our questions.

Others have mentioned the lack of an elevator, but this didn't bother us. Going up one flight didn't seem very difficult.

We had 10 people with us for a family reunion and everyone was quite satisfied with the accomodations.

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues, you may want to choose a room on the first floor, since there is no ele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goshengm, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Goshen, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
Thank you for your feedback and we can't wait to see you on your next visit to Central Indiana, and hope you all the best between now and then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

Travel alot and this is the first hotel that I have stayed at in the past 10 years that didn't have a fridge, should have asked. Bed was like sleeping on a rock, shower head was broke had to tie a towel around it to keep water in shower. Looked like mold in the shower my girlfriend wouldn't go near it. Pool was freezing they don't believe in heating it. You also have to pay extra for breakfast each morning, I have seen this before however it is at hotels with restraunts not just a couple warmers on a table. Told the person at the desk when checking out and told he was getting right on it as he stood there in front of me with a smirk.

Room Tip: don't stay here you will regret it. Go somewhere that cares for your bussiness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goshengm, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Goshen, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,
I am very sorry to hear about your experience and do hope you will contact me on your next visit and be my personal guest in one of our suites. We do have regrigerators available upon request and have recently received new pillow top mattresses (you will be glad to know). Additionally we are in the process of retiling and updating our bathroom showers and tubs. Our pool is kept at a constant 82 degrees as is required by Marriott and we have gourmet made to order omeletes, eggs and french toast available in addition to the buffet daily. I am sorry my staff was not more empathetic upon your check out and I look forward to hosting you and your family as my guest on your next visit. All the best between then and now and I thank you for your honest feedback.

Derrick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Not up to Courtyard (Marriott) standards.
Room A/C did not work well
Hotel had a "perfume" smell to it.
Hallway carpet smelled from chemicals (too much rug shampoo?)
Heated indoor poll wasn't heated
Had reservations for 2 nights..checked out after one.
Front desk personnel were very nice.

Room Tip: Stay on 1st floor...2 floors ....no elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goshengm, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Goshen, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,
As I have mentioned to other guests who have shared some of your concerns, I agree we were badly in need of some updates. But you will be glad to know we have just received a semi full of beautiful brand new pillow top mattresses, flat screen TV's are on the way and we are ordering the new tiles for the guest showers and bathrooms as we speak! As for the odor, I regret to tell you it was all a result of poor timing on my part as I had just had all the hallway carpets shampood in preparation for the busy week of your stay. So I understand your concerns, I do hope you will give us another chance though and I would encourage everyone visiting the Goshen area to come and see the hotel for yourself prior to making a decision based off of your poor experience. I look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Goshen and all the best to you between then and now, I thank you for your feedback to help make us better.
Derrick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

We were looking for a spot in northern Indiana for a family reunion and settled on the Courtyard by Marriott in Goshen. They had a good rate and the amenities we were looking for. We had a great experience there! We ended up having a smaller group than we expected but there were 21 of us, ranging from age 2 to 81, and we were all happy customers. Got a great rate, the rooms were clean and well maintained, and the GM and staff really went above and beyond our expectations in being pleasant and accommodating. The breakfast was excellent and extensive as well for a hotel in this price range--oatmeal, eggs, sausage, yogurt, fresh fruit, etc. Very happy with our decision to stay there! Only cons of this hotel: No elevator to the second floor, and no wifi in the rooms (an ethernet cable is provided though).

Room Tip: Ask for first floor room if carrying luggage up the stairs will be a problem for you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goshengm, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Goshen, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,
I thank you for your review, I couldn't have said it better myself. I hope all of the folks out there utilizing this fine web site will see that we truly are a great place to stay and it is guests like you who make coming to work everyday a pleasure sir. We hope to see you on your next family reunion in the area and appreciate your honest feedback. The Courtyard by Marriott in Goshen,Indiana Amish Country's premier hotel. All the best!

Derrick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Had made a 4 night reservation almost two months in advance of staying at this property. Upon arrival, on a Wednesday, was given NO option but a second floor room. No where in the reservation description did it bother to note there is NO elevator at this property. It was take it or leave it. Also, led to believe the continental breakfast was free-wrong again. Finally, couldn't get the air conditioner to moderate-either 50 or 90 in the room, no in between setting possible.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

This Courtyard by Marriott was previously a Carlton Lodge, so it does not have the typical floorplan designed by Marriott. Thus, the hotel does not have an elevator for rooms on the second florr. The desk staff is friendly and offers to assist with luggage, but guests on the second floor are always forced to climb the stairs. There is free internet access in rooms and on computers in the lobby, and the hotel provides free popcorn and cookies as snacks. There is also an indoor-outdoor pool with a hot tub. There is a breakfast buffet, but it is not complimentary. I would say that this is a nice place to stay if you can get a room on the first floor. If not, I would suggest staying at the new Hampton Inn right next door.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Goshen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Goshen

Address: 1930 Lincolnway East, Goshen, IN 46526 (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott Goshen)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Goshen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Goshen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Inn & Suites Goshen 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn and Suites Goshen is located in the middle of Amish Country on Lincolnway East, just 45 minutes from South Bend and close to downtown Goshen, and is near attractions like the Old Bag Factory, the Quilt Garden Tour, and the Shipshewana Flea Market. Business travelers also appreciate the close proximity to Elkhart County Courthouse, Goshen College, and the Goshen industrial parks. This hotel in Goshen, IN offers a welcoming lodge-style lobby complete with a fireplace, 24hr market, a unique indoor/outdoor pool, and a free full hot breakfast buffet daily. Guest rooms are highlighted by free WiFi, new Sealy pillow top mattresses, in room refrigerators and microwaves, 46" flat screen TV's with premium cable. When looking for a little more space on the road, upgrade to the Presidential Suite with separate sleeping and living area, microwave, and mini-fridge. Choose the Quality Inn and Suites Goshen and enjoy the comfort and convenience that make this the top Goshen, IN hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Tingo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Goshen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Goshen Hotel Goshen
Courtyard Goshen
Goshen Courtyard
Goshen Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn & Suites Goshen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.