We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a waste” 2 of 5 stars
Review of French Lick Resort

Save Saved
You added French Lick Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
French Lick Resort
8670 W. State Rd 56, French Lick, IN 47432 (Formerly French Lick Springs Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in French Lick
borden in
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What a waste”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

We stayed at the hotel and had kids running through the hallways untill 2:30am and a drain pipe next to the bed that was loud and bothersome. The 1895 restuaraunt is a joke. The food is very expensive and not what someone would advertise as 4star as the price sudjested. The $52.00 steak was tough and chewy. The salad we had $11.00 tasted like what happens when you regurdistate up to the back of your throut. every server was greater than thou attitude and acted like you were nuts when you complained.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    220
    159
    48
    25
    21
See reviews for
106
197
8
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Louis
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

This historic resort is famous for its mineral waters and intricate detail. Spacious rooms with beautiful detailing. Very friendly staff, nice shops, good spa and big casino.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

We went to the French Lick to take our kids on a USGA golf course fit for them. The place is very beautiful and the room was one of the nicest ones we have been to thus far. It was one of the first places I have stayed at and felt like I was sleeping in my own bed. Overall, the hotel has very beautiful decor and you can definitely tell that the restoration cost was up there! They try to incorporate other family activites, such as tennis, bike riding and bowling. However, if you plan on staying there more than a couple of days and like to stay active, you will become bored rather quickly. We checked out the casino while our kids participated one of their programs and it was very clean. My husband and I do not smoke and this is the only casino we have been to in the area where we didn't feel like we were being hit in the face with smoke! If your looking for a peaceful, slow-paced weeked then the French Lick is it!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

My girlfriends and I spent a night at this resort for an "unofficial" high school reunion while we were all in our hometown over the Christmas holiday. Upon arriving, everything was great. We were assisted at the door by a very nice man named Bill. He was extremely helpful in getting our bags to our room, recommending a restaurant for dinner, and calling the shuttle to take us there. This dinner was excellent, although the club (The Donald Ross Golf Course and Country Club) was understaffed.

Upon our return to the hotel, we tried our luck in the casino until the bar closed. We were unfortunately rooming near two crotchety women who complained about the noise that we made in the hall upon arriving back at our rooms. They had given us dirty looks and made comments to us even prior to our going to dinner. Basically, they didn't like us talking in the hall. I understand that this is not the hotel's fault, and I do not blame them for it. However, the manner in which the security guard treated us was inexcusable. We were immediately threatened with a call to the police and public intoxication arrests. Mind you, we were IN our room and the people on the other side of our room verified that they could not hear us. After this shocking and demeaning visit, the security guard stood in the hallway outside our room for quite a long time. During this time, we made no noise and watched him stare at our room through our peephole.

Once he was out of sight and we felt comfortable, one of us made a trip to the ice machine. She came back to say that he was still stalking our room in the hallway but had simply moved a couple of doors down. Within minutes of her return, he pounded on our door again and began harassing us once more. He claimed that he could hear us from down the hallway and the manager joined him this time. He threatened us once again with a call to the police, he spoke very degradingly towards us and made such statements as "Have you EVER stayed in a hotel before?" We are not kids. We are all professionals in our mid-30s and were there to have a good time catching up with each other. We have never been treated so poorly in our lives as we were by this security guard who kept barging into our room while we were in our pajamas and trying winding down for the night.

The manager was eventually helpful and offered to move us to another room because it was obvious that the women rooming near us had personal issues with us. We were uncomfortable staying in a room where they could complain and have us arrested, no matter what we said. Upon discovering that he had no more double rooms available, he moved us to two king rooms for no extra charge. We went to bed and fell asleep as soon as we were in our new rooms, after one final threat from the security guard. Other than a phone call from the manager, waking me and my friend at 6AM to ask if we had been to the front desk asking for him, the rest of the night was uneventful.

Upon receiving her credit card statement, we discovered that we were charged for an extra night in one of the rooms (the night after our check-out). This charge is currently being disputed with the hotel.

This resort used to be a fun destination for many in our party (there were eight of us total) but I, for one, will never return. The security guard's superiority complex, berating treatment, and stalking of our room was very disconcerting.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

My family of 9 adults and 2 children recently spent a few days over Christmas. We were told that Santa would be there, but all activities for the children ended by 12/19, so we missed everything. The pool and hot tub are great and the rooms are well done and very clean. We were disappointed in the overall choices for food; buffet etc. Diamond Jim's Cafe was good, but you couldn't bring children as it was through the casino. Our options for feeding the 2 children were to go to the buffet. We also had dinner at Hagens on the Golf Course. We ate there in January and loved it, but felt this time the meals were just ok. With our stay, we received a $150 credit towards food, spa, etc., but unfortunately they didn't spell out the charges against the credit, so some of us felt we were over charged and not able to get anywhere with a more detailed statement. Bottom line is, I probably won't go back

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

It had been 3 years since we were last there at French Lick Resort. They had sent us an invite and comped our room, which we took advantage of right after Christmas to unwind from all the hustle and bustle of the holidays. It is still one of my favorite casinos, BUT...... it now leaves a lot to be desired. I like the machines and get a good feel every time I'm there. But the service, the STINGINESS of the comps for playing, the customer service all seem to be lacking. It's a very clean place. Housekeeping is very good. But it's obvious there isn't enough staff anymore. They allow pets now, which I do not ever remember seeing before. In our particular room, after a long night of playing in the casino, we retired around 12:30 in the morning, only to find our room very cold. Turning on the heat made a tremendous racket all night long. It sounded like a Piper Cub taxiing in the corner of the room all night long. Very little sleep was gotten by either of us. In the morning when we went to VIP to discuss the situation, we were offered a comp dinner to compensate for our sleeplessness on our next visit. Honey, there isn't going to be a next visit. It has lost it's charm from a few years ago when it first opened up. Doubt that we ever go back.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, OH
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2010

We had a delicious meal in the 1875 Steakhouse with great service. Our room was clean and comfortable. Enjoyed the casino, especially the large non-smoking area. The "halls were decked" with great Christmas decor. We would like to return in the Spring, Summer or Fall to enjoy the grounds. What a friendly staff throughout the entire complex.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to French Lick Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Lick Resort

Address: 8670 W. State Rd 56, French Lick, IN 47432 (Formerly French Lick Springs Resort)
Location: United States > Indiana > French Lick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in French Lick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
French Lick Resort Casino is a $500 million historic restoration and casino development that includes French Lick Springs Hotel, French Lick Casino and West Baden Springs Hotel. This premier resort destination features 689 guest rooms and suites; 42,000-square-foot casino; 45-holes of golf, including fully restored Donald Ross Course and the new, 18-hole Pete Dye Course (opening Spring 2009); two full-service spas with a combined 36 treatment rooms and an array of dining and entertainment options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your French Lick Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
French Lick Hotel French Lick
French Lick Springs Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage French Lick Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.