We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place overall.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lane's Motel

Lane's Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in French Lick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lane's Motel
Save
You added Lane's Motel to your Saves list
8483 West Highway 56, French Lick, IN 47432   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in French Lick
Southern Indiana
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice place overall.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2009

Okay people it isn't the resort....however, it was nice, quiet and by far an awesome price. If the weather is right you can walk to resort/casino, store, or around town. They have a pool, and fridge with a microwave!(at resort no fridge or microwave) The people at the front desk were very nice to us. Beats prices at the resorts in town by far. They also have camping ground/area for RVs which sets off from the motel, which is cool. Big parking area that wraps all around building. Fishermen with boats were there from Patoka Lake that weekend, and still had plenty of parking avail. Would go again, hands down.

  • Liked — The price.
  • Disliked — It wasn't the resort.
  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    9
    1
    5
    5
See reviews for
8
13
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2009

very small quaint hotel thats within walking distance to everything. Rooms came with fridge and microwave. Our room looked and smelt clean. I wouldnt recommend this hotel for people with small children because the walls are paper thin...allowing all sounds to be heard from the next room that may be suitable for little ones.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort KY
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

I took a quick trip to French Lick mostly because of boredom. I stayed at Lane's and enjoyed every minute. I like Mom and Pop motels where you can park at the front door. The people who checked me in were not the warmest people, but the room was clean with a high def flat screen tv. I watched football and NASCAR and relaxed. It was great.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indiana
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2008

on 3/19/08 my gf call for reservation,she ask for a confirmation number to make sure we would have room when the time came.the front desk ,said they don't give confirmation number,she said how we to know that our rooms we be available when we arrived,the guy told her you just have to trust me,then my gf,said that she read some reviews on the motel where peoples call ahead of time and got the same bs,but had no rooms when they arrived. he whole attitude change,he got very rude with her and i step in ask that all she wanted was to make sure we had rooms,they hung up the phone on us three time,so in my opinion i wouldn't let my dog stay there and referr anyone esle to stay there,very rude peoples who need to learn to treat peoples with respect not attitude JCB-Evansville

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — deciding not to stay there
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2008

I thought it was a very nice place to stay. We did not want to spend $200 a night to stay at the resort, so we decided to try it out and it was just fine! The room was very clean and the staff was very nice. That's pretty much all that matters to me, cleanliness and service. The pillows were flat, but next time I'll just take my own! No big deal! We thought we received quite a deal for $77 a night! We would definitely stay at Lane's Motel again.

  • Liked — it was clean and close to the casino.
  • Disliked — The pillows
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2007

I've stayed at Lane's Motel several times over the past 16 years and have never experienced anything but the cleanest rooms and friendliest service. Whomever posted the Totally Gross review must have been a bit upset their friends were staying somewhere they would've maybe liked but couldn't for whatever reason. This motel is homey, clean, relaxed and an ideal spot for one wanting to get away from it all. The pool is sparkling and crisp, perfect for a hot southern Indiana afternoon. I would recommend this charming motel to my friends and family and anyone else wanting a nice room for a great price. They even can arrange shuttle service to the nearby casino!

  • Liked — Friendly helpfull staff, consistantly clean rooms, location.
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2007

I was born and raised in French Lick and Lane's Motel has been in town as long as I can remember. My husband and I took a short trip back to my hometown while we were in the state so that I could show him where I grew up. We wanted to stay at the French Lick Springs Hotel or the West Baden Springs Hotel but we got in late at night and were leaving the next morning and couldn't see paying $300+ for a room to just sleep in. So, we stopped by Lane's. It was probably close to 11pm and the office door was locked and the lights were off but we rang the bell and Randy came and let us in. We got to the room and it was very clean and the beds were surprisingly very comfortable. I didn't see an ice machine (I'm sure they have one somewhere though) but we didn't need one since it was so late and basically we were just sleeping there. The shower was nice...I honesly can't find a thing wrong with our room. Of course it is dated, the furniture, carpet and bedspread were all old but were all very clean. There was a mini fridge that kept our drinks cold overnight and also a coffee maker, I believe. The next morning when we checked out, Randy was super nice and the lady cleaning the rooms was very friendly as well. I would definately do another overnight here. If you're looking for ammenities, pay the resort prices and stay there, you won't be happy here. I'm REALLY picky about the places we stay so I was afraid I wouldn't be happy here but I totally was. Their rooms were only $66 a night. I wasn't expecting much for $66. But, Lane's passed with flying colors! We've spent 5 times that on a room before that was not nearly as comfortable or clean as this was. If you want a retro-motel experience that is clean, comfortable, safe and inexpensive...stay at Lane's!

  • Liked — The bed was extremely comfortable!
  • Disliked — I guess the dated decor...
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lane's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lane's Motel

Address: 8483 West Highway 56, French Lick, IN 47432
Location: United States > Indiana > French Lick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in French Lick
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are small clean motel in French Lick, Indiana. We are within walking distance of the major attractions. And we are also only nine miles from Patoka Lake. We offer an affordable option to the higher priced resorts in our area. Approximately 60-70 percent of our guest are returning to stay with us again. We hope to see you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lane`s Hotel French Lick
Lanes Motel French Lick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lane's Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.