We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Expensive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sinclair's Restaurant

Sinclair's Restaurant
8670 West State Road 56, French Lick, IN 47432
888.936.9360
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 25 Restaurants in French Lick
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Indiana
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This restaurant is beautiful and the service was good. We were here for an anniversary celebration which they acknowledged upon seating and also with a complimentary chocolate berry dessert. The food was good but not exceptional. The lobster bisque contained only a little lobster that dissappeared in the first three bites. The wedge salad was good. We had the lamb and the ribeye. Both were prepared as requested and well presented. The asparagus was cooked just right and we also enjoyed the mushroom risotto. The glass of red wine had sediment in the bottom and could have been filtered better before serving. This was noted by the server who said the beverage manager apologized. We felt that overall the restaurant prices were too high for the level of service and food. This is definitely a special occasion restaurant which we enjoyed. It was part of the overall experience of this wonderful resort.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    53
    22
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Little Slow”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We went for breakfast, usually a quick meal, however, with only 4 other tables seated it took almost an hour to receive our food.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ILLINOIS
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Beautiful restaurant located in the West Baden Springs Resort, which is approximately one mile from the French Lick Resort. Great menu -friendly staff - beautiful

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Average food at exceptionally high prices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Our service was fine. The food was cooked to our liking. But I expected truly gourmet cuisine given the prices. It was similar to what I can get at my local, rural steakhouse. $200 for 2 people with no alcohol. No huge complaints, but no beaming recommendations either.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OH
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Elegant & Memorable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed at the resort for three nights and celebrated our 25th anniversary with a wonderful evening meal at Sinclair's. The atmosphere was relaxed and quite elegant. I ordered a chicken entree with a nice tomato based sauce. My husband opted for the pork chop which was quite large and served with mashed potatoes. It was very thick and perhaps wanting it "well done", made it a bit chewy. We tried to save room for dessert and the rhubarb strawberry crisp was the best. Our server checked back on us many times but it wasn't overly done. The only ? I had...when we made our reservation at the front desk (upon check-in), we were asked if we were celebrating anything special. I said "yes". No real big deal but no one mentioned it that evening. That was puzzling.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sinclair's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sinclair's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sinclair's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.