We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the kids!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Big Splash Adventure Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Big Splash Adventure Resort to your Saves list
Big Splash Adventure Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8505 West State Road 56, French Lick, IN 47432   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in French Lick
Evansville, Indiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“For the kids!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

A hotel designed to make your children happy and separate you from your money. DON'T stay if you not bringing children. If you are traveling with children, its PERFECT. My kids 11 and 6 could jump,play, and make as much noise as they wanted with no concern from me. The not having concern isn't from being a bad parent, but that all the other kids are doing the same thing. The hotel is very loud with lots of running up and down the halls. It's a great place for kids to behave like kids.

The water park appears to be a safe place. Most all guest are familys with children. The plus for some adults will be the ability to have a beer while floating around the lazy river. Beside the water park is a arcade with the standard games. The hotel has one dinning place and a pizza place.

The surrounding area does offer many amenities and other distractions if the water park isn't enough.

For adults without children look to stay at West Baden or French Lick Resort for a much more subdued experience and more adult things to do.

Big Splash Hotel is basically Indiana's version of Nickelodeon Splash in Orlando but on a smaller scale.

Shop around for rates and packages along with when your going to visit. Their rates vary pretty dramatic at different points.

My biggest complaint is the beds, BAD!

Room Tip: Second floor is most convenient to the water park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSA_Manager, Manager at Big Splash Adventure Resort, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,
Thanks for your recent review. We are glad to hear that you had a good time with your kids! We do hope that you will visit us again soon!
Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    90
    79
    28
    33
See reviews for
226
Couples
0
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

After reading some of the reviews, I was anticipating a few disappointments when we visited. However, it was a completely amazing experience, from start to finish! We arrived Saturday at 3:30. There was plenty of parking, the entire place was clean and beautifully decorated, the room was clean and spacious, the water park was delightful and kept my 9-year old on cloud 9 the entire time. I was extremely pleased with the staff who were all very friendly and helpful. We ate in the hotel restaurant - the Boatyard and received wonderful service. The food was decent and you can't beat the free breakfast buffet. The arcade did have 'out of order' signs on about half of the games, but we really didn't care because the water park is what we came for. It was a fantastic place with a pirate & tropical theme and had many different water play areas for all different ages and different interests - lazy river (my favorite), lots of spouting water, kids areas, pool with hoops and obstacles for bigger kids, small slides & great big slides. I felt secure seeing many attentive lifeguards in all areas of the water park. It wasn't crowded either. We stayed on the 5th floor. The beds were comfortable and had lots of pillows. I like that they use sheets as bed covers because you know that they are clean. You can hear hallway noises fairly easily, but it was all quiet by the time we were going to bed. The room did seem to be missing the typical information binder that most places have - telling you about the hotel services, food options, phone numbers, area attractions etc. Anyway, we thought the place looked spotless. There might have been little messes here and there from little kids dropping their snacks and stepping on them or wiping their sticky hands on things, but they seemed to be cleaned up fairly quickly. I can't say enough about the staff. There were ALL so very nice and helpful. My son and I had the best time there and hope to come back again very soon!

Room Tip: Getting a 3rd, 4th, or 5th floor room is best for less traffic and noise. Lobby & restaurant is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSA_Manager, Manager at Big Splash Adventure Resort, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,
Thank you for your recent posting! We are so glad that you enjoyed our facility and water park. We hope to welcome you back as guests again soon!
Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

my kids loved everything about it. The waterpark, arcade, and the miniature golf located just down the street. I loved that everything was convenient, from a sit down restaurant to a little place outside the water park to get pizza or burgers (we got a pizza to take back to the room). Oh and don't forget the bar and lounge. This place has everything for kids of all ages.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSA_Manager, Manager at Big Splash Adventure Resort, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,
Thank you for your recent review. We are so happy that you enjoyed yourselves! We hope to have you back again soon!
Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We went for the day to the water park with our 4 yr old. He loved it. We liked the small slides and the lazy river. Our child was too small for the big slides, but they looked like a lot of fun. The decorated concrete around the park needs some repainting, but it's not in horrible shape.

We ordered pizza from the snack bar. It was fine. Also had a hot pretzel which was the microwaved kind, so it wasn't the greatest I've ever had.

If you go to the game area, which is impossible to avoid because it is the first thing you see, bring a good amount of cash. They have the typically priced games that spit out the "prize" tickets for some dinky 10 cent toy.

***If you are planning to go just for the day, they have changed their policy and you have to bring your own towels. The resort towels are now for the resort guests only.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSA_Manager, Manager at Big Splash Adventure Resort, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,
Thank you for your recent review. We are glad to hear that you had a good time. In reference to your comment about the floors in the water park we are actually closed all this week and re-painting all of the floors in the water park! Thanks for your comments and we do hope that you will return in the future!
Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

to start the room was just filthy. then on top of it my 1 yr got hurt as the heat/ac vent fell on her when she bumped into it causing her to be scratched on the leg. The scratch was not hospital scratch but enough she cried when she got it wet. We told the supervisor and he did not care.

All in all it will be the last time for us!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSA_Manager, Manager at Big Splash Adventure Resort, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,
Thank you for your recent review. I apologize that you feel your room was not clean. We usually get great comments that our rooms are nice and clean. We also apologize that the AC/Heating vent scratched your child. You mentioned speaking to a Supervisor. Was it a front desk supervisor or a water park supervisor? Hopefully you were able to get a band aid to cover the scratch and make your daughter feel better. Again, we do apologize for these inconveniences you experienced during your stay. If you would like to discuss further, please feel free to email us as guestrelations@bigsplashadventure.com.
Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

If you're looking for a quick getaway with kids this is the place. The waterpark is clean, the water is warm, and there are plenty of things to keep the kids occupied. The only negative to this hotel is that there isn't a lot to do in French Lick for kids other than the hotel and rhe mini golf place down the hill.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSA_Manager, Manager at Big Splash Adventure Resort, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,
Thank you for your recent post! We are so glad that you had a good time and enjoyed our facility! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We enjoyed the waterpark. The lines for food during lunch time were ridiculous. The locker keys were a magnetized bracelet which was good. I can't speak to the rooms. We just had day passes. The place overall was good. They could have had a better set-up for the big tube rides. The lines were a little rough and being all together made it a little hectic.

It could have used one more water ride. But overall the place was nice. Our kids had a blast. It all went well.

I would go back if there weren't other local options for us(we drove from Louisville). But I still would rather goto a closer place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSA_Manager, Manager at Big Splash Adventure Resort, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,
Thank you for your recent post. We are so glad to hear that you had a good time! We do hope you will visit us again!
Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Big Splash Adventure Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Splash Adventure Resort

Address: 8505 West State Road 56, French Lick, IN 47432
Location: United States > Indiana > French Lick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in French Lick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Big Splash Adventure Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Venere, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Big Splash Adventure Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Splash Adventure Hotel French Lick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Splash Adventure Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.