We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tight slots on new years eve” 3 of 5 stars
Review of French Lick Casino

French Lick Casino
8670 West State Road 56, French Lick, IN 47432
+1 812-936-9300
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Get your game on at French Lick Casino, a 51,000-square-foot Vegas-style gaming facility all on one floor with soaring 27-foot ceilings. On our gaming floor, you can play to win a brand new car on slot machines or a progressive jackpot at our table games. You'll find live-action blackjack, roulette and craps and other table games, a luxurious high-limit room and Indiana's largest non-smoking room. Bring a group of friends and enjoy live entertainment, DJs and Promotions in our spacious entertainment lounge.
Evansville, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“tight slots on new years eve”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Spent new years eve at french lick casino. The band was not what was advertised, and not as good as expected. The one thing I did notice was that the slots were tight. Which makes sense since the place was crowded with people there for the party. Drink service was slow due to the crowd, and the environment was fun. But, if I go again on new years eve I don't think I'll play slots.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLCasino, Manager at French Lick Casino, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Hi Michael B -- Thank you for spending your New Year's holiday with us and sharing your experience. We apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We are glad you had fun but we will work towards exceeding your expectations. We hope you will visit us again and allow us the opportunity to better serve your entertainment plans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    94
    46
    10
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dickson, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A beautiful step back in time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

My husband and daughter were skiing in Paoli. I do not ski. The hotel is about a 20 minute drive from Paoli Peaks. The front lobby is beautiful. The staff was very friendly. There are a few shops available to pass the time an the casino is just down the hall. Our room was not large, but nicely furnished. My only complaint was that the thermostat for the heat was located behind a large piece of furniture. I used a compact mirror and flashlight to adjust the temperature.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLCasino, Manager at French Lick Casino, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Hi mcclurkans- Thank you for making the trip from Dickson, Tennessee to visit the French Lick Resort and write a review. We are happy to read that you found our team friendly and our facility beautiful and nicely furnished. We take a lot of pride in our friendly staff and we are equally as proud of our historic hotel and the preservation. Your inconvenience with the thermostat will be passed on to our operations management. We hope you will be able to visit again soon so we can serve you as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmer City, Illinois
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice Casino”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

While staying at the resort, we ventured into the casino. First thing I noticed, although it is smokin allowed..it DID not smell like smoke. But..when we went, it was NOT crowded. It did seem to have good ventilation. Fairly clean and modern. I have come to realize that all casinos are basically the same. Their goal is to draw people in and to make money...which they did...lol. Its attached to the resort which is very nice.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLCasino, Manager at French Lick Casino, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Hi bearmde- Thank you for visiting our casino and writing a review. We are happy to read that you had a pleasant experience in both our casino and resort in general. We made it a priority to maintain an air quality that our guests will enjoy. We are also pleased to read that you found our casino to be clean because, in addition to friendliness, we consider cleanliness to be one of our top goals. We hope you will visit again and allow us to serve you as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Smokers paradise”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Cough, cough, cough - might well be the most smokey casino I have visited. The fairly small casino has a nonsmoking area but you will soon tire of the limited selection and venture out into the haze.

Slots are dominated by penny video machines. Video poker pay schedules are not to bad, 7-5 bonus poker and 9-5 double double bonus. Most machines are single play. A very limited selection of multiplay and more modern poker games/machines. Many of the poker machine have keys that are sticky or don't function.

Cash Back was very limited but it was easy to earn a comped meal in the steak house. You have to ask about meal comps at the players club and get a voucher.

If I lived close or was staying in one of the Grand hotels I'd go back but I wouldn't drive far for the experience.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLCasino, Manager at French Lick Casino, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Hi troll999- Thank you for making your way all the way from Toronto to visit our casino and post a review. We apologize for the smoky environment you encountered. We usually provide top air quality so we will look into your observations. We are glad you were able to enjoy a complimentary meal at our upscale steakhouse. You comments on our gaming machines will be passed on to our slot department. We hope you can be our guest again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisville, ky USA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“great people watching”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Neither of us are gamblers but we like to watch. plenty of people to watch and all kinds too. the casino is clean and well lit. we are not fans of smoking but it was not too obtrusive and our clothes did not stink when we left. I was glad to see the blackjack table minimums/limits were within my means.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLCasino, Manager at French Lick Casino, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Hi jim b- Thank you for visiting our casino and posting a review. We love to hear "non-gamblers" points of view and we are glad you found our casino enjoyable. Our casino is intended to be a place for anyone to enjoy a night out. We take pride in providing our guests the cleanest and most smoke-free environment possible. We hope you will be able to return and be our guests again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed French Lick Casino also viewed

 

Been to French Lick Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage French Lick Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.