We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cabin by the lake atmosphere for sunset” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake George Retreat

Lake George Retreat
35 Lane 130a Lake George, Fremont, IN 46737-8957
260-833-2266
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 14 Restaurants in Fremont
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: American, Pizza, Sandwiches, Grill
Restaurant details
akron
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“cabin by the lake atmosphere for sunset”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

My husband and I have been attending the Auburn-Cord-Duesenberg car show for 20+ years. We always look forward to a night at the "Retreat" for sunset, cocktails, and a good dinner. Our waitress, Molly, was fun, efficient, and knowledgeable about the area. Dinner was wonderful (the salad that comes with dinner, although delicious, was miniscule - could have eaten at least two!). Ask for a table on the windows and watch the sunset. Casual, easy, lake-people vibe.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    17
    3
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Freeport, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
268 reviews 268 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
253 helpful votes 253 helpful votes
“My favorite in the area, sunset views are terrific over the lake. Forget Clay's, go here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I've been in the area several times on business this summer, and I have eaten at the Lake George Retreat four times. I have consistently been served by friendly, attentive wait staff and have enjoyed a view over the lake at sunset each night. The specials are inventive and excellent, better than what you'd expect for the price. I've also had the pizza which is half price on Tuesday evenings and it is very good for a thin crust pie.

I've not used the bar so I can't comment on the service there, but my experiences have all been good and the food constantly exceeds my expectations. Best of all, it's not one of the cookie cutter franchises.

Strongly recommended.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great Wings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Came to the restaurant on our last day at the inn..and we loved it. Great wings, great french onion soup and stick with the sandwiches. Burgers are pretty good. Good fries.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“lousy service by immature waitress and punk bartender”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Wrong beers served by the older bartender who blew us off as interuptions to his TV watching with his buddies at the bar. I know beer, I've been drinking it for 35 years. Young immature waitress became angry and flustered when waiting on a party of 8. Slammed down water and other drinks that splashed on table to make her point of us annoying her. And the best part...I was double billed on my credit card!!! I'm glad I pay attention to my credit card statements. Never going there again (we only went there because our regular place, Dave's Lake Shack was closed due to a power outage) Suggest you try Dave's for a better experience!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Good food, good service. A local non-franchised facility that is what a restaurant should be.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake George Retreat also viewed

 

Been to Lake George Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake George Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.