We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best pizza iin Franklin” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Richard's Kitchen

Richard's Kitchen
229 S Main St, Franklin, IN 46131-2411
(317) 738-5451
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 55 Restaurants in Franklin
Restaurant details
Franklin, IN
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best pizza iin Franklin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Headed home after a long day of driving and hadn't been here since last fall so decided to stop in. Amazed that nobody seems to know about outside dining. Wife and i had backyard to ourselves. Pizza was excellent as usual and our server was very attentive without being intrusive. When you come sit outside!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    1
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, IN
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“I believe they have closed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Richards pizza is still open (same building) but I belive Richard's Kitchen has closed its doors. We had been there several times but the last couple it had become disappointing after their head chef Joe left.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, IN
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best Prime Rib...let's put this in a time frame, ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

A small venue in Franklin with amazing food. The prime rib was absolutely amazing, the service was incredibly helpful. I enjoyed the selection of single malts as well. Richard stopped by our table and we were able to quiz him...mostly about why in the sam heck would you have a five star restaurant in Franklin (his wife is from here). Will definitely be coming back!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Richard's Brick Oven Pizza is amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

This restaurant is split in two. I have never been to the "Richard's Kitchen" portion, but my wife and I frequent "Richard's Brick Oven Pizza". We enjoy the small, romantic atmosphere as well as the delicious food. I am a huge fan of the "pinwheels and marinara" appetizer, where as my wife loves the "spinache and artichoke with flatbread". We usually also get a three topping pizza. They never disappoint. This place makes for a great date, dinner with friends, or even a family night.

Note: There is an actual brick oven in the main dining area, in case the title wasn't enough... This is visually nice, but can be quite warm directly in front of the opening and adds a slightly smokey smell. This is a small shop with a very small staff. They seem to work hard and are friendly, but if the shop is busy there might be delays... which we have never experienced.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Indiana
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“We're back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Went to Richard's after an absence of more than a few months. But we'd heard Richard was back cooking and that makes all the difference to us. Took another couple and we all had excellent meals. Both the guys ordered steaks, my friend ordered the pork and I had chicken. All were cooked perfectly. Even better, the cost was HALF the price of the meal the four of us had at Sullivan's on the north side of Indy a couple of months before. The food was better and the atmosphere was certainly better (not noisy and cramped). We'll be going back to Richard's again soon.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Richard's Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Richard's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Richard's Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.