We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fort Wayne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Fort Wayne to your Saves list
Hotel Fort Wayne
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   305 East Washington Center Road, Fort Wayne, IN 46825 (Formerly Fort Wayne Marriott)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 46 Hotels in Fort Wayne
Janesville
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We just returned from our 2 night stay. We travel to Fort Wayne frequently and decided to try a different hotel. We had an excellent experience. The price was a great value (since we stayed 2 nights, the second night was half off). We requested a 1st floor pool side room and it exceeded our expectations. We had a second door in our room that let directly to the pool. We had a little patio with chairs to sit on outside of our room (which was an extra bonus). The pool was better than any other pool hotels that we have stayed at in the area. The courtyard is beautiful and very relaxing.
Don't let the outside fool you. It does look a little older and the drapes are outdated, but the inside is well maintained for the price you pay.
I prefer the 1st floor pool side room and will definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: 1st floor pool side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick H, General Manager at Hotel Fort Wayne, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
We really appreciate you coming all the way from Badger Land to see us, let alone your kind words about our hotel.

Thanks for giving "5's" to us for "Service"..."Value"..."Rooms" and "Location"-- it means a lot to our staff.

We look forward to your next stay, and again, thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    42
    17
    6
    7
See reviews for
30
15
3
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

This hotel is okay, there is absolutely nothing special about the rooms. The bathroom was super small, I felt like I was walking out of a bathroom stall having to position myself just right in order to get the door open to exit. It was in a convenient location and looked nice, the staff was nice and it was clean. It just wasn't special in anyway for me.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick H, General Manager at Hotel Fort Wayne, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for the taking of your time to review our hotel.

It was great to see the "5" you gave for service as well as the high scores given to Cleanliness, Comfort of your bed and location.

We appreciate your selecting us and hope you will come back to see us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed recently and the hotel was a great value. The hotel has a great location, easy on and off from the freeway. I'm not sure why there are comments about the hotel looking abandoned, definitely did not appear that way when we were there. The rooms are nice and clean, linens are fresh. The hotel staff was very attentive and polite. There is some hallway noise, and hall doors could be insulated better to prevent this, but it did not affect our experience. We stayed on the 6th floor but next time we will try to be closer to the pool. The onsite restaurants had great food and service. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking to stay in the Fort Wayne area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick H, General Manager at Hotel Fort Wayne, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you so very much for the taking of your time to review our hotel.

We certainly are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

If I may suggest calling the hotel direct to request a pool-side room as they do have a tendency to be a favorite.

We agree that this hotel is a "great value" and that our restaurant serves some outstanding food!

And Again...thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Hotel staff very friendly and polite. Hotel common areas quite worn and shabby. Room was actually clean and in fair condition. Exterior of hotel another story, looks abandon and the parking lot was not lighted very well. 3 1/2 stars very misleading more like a 2 star.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the 2nd floor vending machine
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick H, General Manager at Hotel Fort Wayne, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thanks for the taking of your valuable time to review our Hotel.

We really appreciate your comments about our great staff and about the cleanliness of your guest room.

Again, thanks and we hope to see you return to experience our friendly staff's version of Hoosier Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We attended a wedding reception at the Hotel Fort Wayne, what a treat. From the time we arrived until the time we left the staff was so helpful and courteous. The filet they served was the best we'd had in a long time. A great time was had by all.
Thanks Hotel Fort Wayne. (I believe the Manager's name is Gary and the Chef's name is Mike.)

Room Tip: We didn't stay in the hotel so can't comment on that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick H, General Manager at Hotel Fort Wayne, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
I am pleased you enjoyed yourself when you attended the recent wedding reception.

My agreement with you..We do have a great banquet staff led by Gary, Banquet Manager. Albeit a wedding, a family reunion dinner, a corporate meeting or holiday party Gary and his staff do outstanding work.

Chef Mike will be happy you enjoyed your Filet. You might want to consider coming back to try his Garlic-spiked Filet , a Horseradish encrusted Filet (or NY Strip) or even a Rib Eye in a classic peppercorn sauce in our Red River restaurant.

Thank you for your kind words...we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indianapolis, in
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

My husband and I booked a last minute room at Hotel Fort Wayne for a concert earlier this month through HotWire. The price was right for this 3-star hotel. The staff were nice but we only spoke with them in check in/check out. They did call us a taxi so that was very helpful! The actual room was what we expected but man, are the walls thin! I woke up numerous times throughout the night to some very passionate lovemaking a couple doors down. They do allow dogs here, so wanted to pass that along because a dog barking would have been much worse! The bed was comfy though!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick H, General Manager at Hotel Fort Wayne, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
So glad that you and your husband decided to come to Fort Wayne for the concert and stay at our hotel.

Hope the concert was enjoyable and we appreciate your kind words and review about our property,

Some rooms which have a connecting door to an adjoining room may allow some noise in from the adjacent room. Our staff is in process of installing sound proofing within those door jambs to reduce the potential for sound transmission. The actual walls between rooms are of concrete.

Next time, if there is a noise concern, please let us know so that we may send a member of our Security staff to the offending room.

And again, thanks for choosing Hotel Fort Wayne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moline, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Keep on driving past this place, it was horrible! When we arrived I thought I had the wrong address, the place is big, but it was completely empty! There wasn't even ten cars in the lot. The hall way is nice but everything else sucked! I booked on priceline and paid way too much. Alex the front desk clerk was nice. We had a stain on one of our beds and some guy came to change our bedding and was not very happy to do it. When we went to lay on the other bed, it had a nasty blood stain on it. I called Alex, AGAIN! And he said he would send someone down to change it. Well, I guess the guy had left for the day, so there was nobody available to help. So, Alex changed our room and said he would give us a free breakfast because of our inconvenience. Well guess what! In the morning the clerk, Josie, knew nothing about it and Alex did not leave a note. Very disappointing! I would never stay there again or recommend that dump!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick H, General Manager at Hotel Fort Wayne, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
I am sorry....we screwed up!

So that I may make this up to you to your satisfaction, please contact me here at the hotel. The main phone number is 260-484-0411.

Sunday night, the day/night of your arrival, used to be a night for business traveler check-ins, be it Fort Wayne, Chicago or Dallas...but not any more, and thus the reason you saw few cars.

I'm pleased that Alex, our Guest Service Agent, was able to take care of you...but very disappointed that our other associates let you (and me) down.

Please allow me to make it up to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Fort Wayne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fort Wayne

Address: 305 East Washington Center Road, Fort Wayne, IN 46825 (Formerly Fort Wayne Marriott)
Location: United States > Indiana > Fort Wayne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Fort Wayne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Fort Wayne 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most hotels provide a place to sleep.... we create outstanding memories... Hotel Fort Wayne is the premier site in Fort Wayne, Indiana for weddings, business meetings, seminars, youth sports, and family reunions. Our guest experience and meeting specialists will hold your hand as you plan your event so that you create meaningful get-togethers and outstanding memories. But we're more than a meetings hotel, as we are family friendly, AAA rated, and TAG approved. With convenience from Interstate 69 and less than 5 miles to downtown Fort Wayne, Indiana, the Hotel Fort Wayne specializes in Hoosier hospitality, All-American City quality and access to sports venues, major corporations and leisure activities. Whether coming to visit the Fort Wayne Children's Zoo, the Memorial Coliseum or Fort Wayne's baseball team, the Tincaps, our location is ideal to wherever you point your adventure. Near Spiece Fieldhouse, Parkview SportOne Volleyball Fieldhouse, and Lutheran Health SportsCenter Ice Arena, this hotel is also close to Indiana University-Purdue University Fort Wayne and Parkview Regional Medical Center. Major corporations close by include General Motors, Raytheon, Vera Bradley and Exelis. Free Wi-Fi and High Speed Internet Access are available throughout the property... whether it's while watching a 32" flat screen from your comfortable king or double guest room or suite, at our indoor or outdoor pool, or as you dine in our restaurant. Complimentary parking is plentiful at the Hotel Fort Wayne. Also featuring... 24-hour fitness center Fort Wayne's ONLY Concierge Lounge, available as an upgrade from standard rooms Red River Steakhouse serving seafood, steaks, ribs ,sandwiches and salads Whirlpool and sundeck Pet friendly, select rooms only, fee applies ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Fort Wayne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Wayne Marriott Hotel Fort Wayne
Marriott Fort Wayne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fort Wayne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.