We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have been coming for 20 yrs., now bring my own 3 kids!! Love it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Wayne Children's Zoo

Fort Wayne Children's Zoo
3411 Sherman Blvd., Fort Wayne, IN 46808
+1 260-427-6800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 23 Attractions in Fort Wayne
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Winner of the 2014 TripAdvisor Travelers' Choice Award ...and also voted Indiana's #1 Summer "Gotta-Do" Attraction in a contest sponsored by the Indiana Office of Tourism & Development. The Fort Wayne Children's Zoo is operated by the non-profit Fort Wayne Zoological Society under a cooperative agreement with the Fort Wayne Parks and Recreations Department. The zoo receives no tax funding for operations and operates solely on earned revenue and donations. Our Mission: Connecting kids and animals Strengthening families, Inspiring people to care. The zoo is closed for the season. Plan a visit when we reopen for the season on April 25, 2015.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Have been coming for 20 yrs., now bring my own 3 kids!! Love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012 via mobile

I have been coming since a child, live an hour away in Ohio, and now I bring my 3 kids. It is great for kids, mine love the animals and the rides (the rides can be expensive for 3 kids plus parents, but we only come 1-2 times/ year). The sign says 'children's zoo' so don't come as an adult and be disappointed with the size and scale of animals. By the age of 10, your kids may get bored, but my little guys love it and we still have a few years left till we cross that bridge! We come during the week and crowds are minimal which is awesome!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    324
    67
    11
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
O-H-I-O
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Zoo to YOU!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

BEST darn Zoo in the area. Extremely kid friendly with lots of interactive areas for fun learning. Train ride through the woods and around the pond, feeding the goats at the farm, log ride through the Australian village, Sky ride, GORGEOUS Merry-Go-Round.... so much to see and do. A full and fun day to be had by all. Bring a picnic lunch for the park!

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Churubusco, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Great Family place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

One of the best zoos in the nation. Lots to do-plan on 3-4 hours. Subway is Australian area is good for lunch

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwestern Ohio
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Fun for all ages!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

One of the best zoos in the country. Constantly expanding their exhibits. A great learning experience for kids and adults. What a great way to spend a day with your family. Food and drinks on site if you get hungry or thirsty. Super nice staff. The sea lion exhibit is great, make sure you stop for one of their shows, offered several times daily.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best of Fort Wayne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Very enjoyable zoo, with or without children. Subway at the tree tops cafe in the rainforest is nice for lunch. Take the water ride in Australia. Enjoy the close proximity to the kangaroos - no fences! Skip the skyride.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Wayne Children's Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Fort Wayne Children's Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Wayne Children's Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.