We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avenir Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Avenir Inn to your Saves list
Avenir Inn
1005 W. Washington Center Road, Fort Wayne, IN 46825   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 48 Hotels in Fort Wayne
Toronto
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Headed north to Toronto, we needed a place for one night only. Somehow I stumbled across this place while checking maps trying to decide if we would make it to Toledo or Ft. Wayne. When I checked comments on this site, we decided to stay here.

It's a bit like stepping back into the '80's, wallpaper borders and big TV's but the place is spotlessly clean and well maintained. Our king-sized bed was very comfortable, the sheets crisp and the bathroom towels were softer than the hotel we had spent the previous week in!

A modest breakfast is included with the very reasonable room rate.

I'm making a note of this place for future travel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    10
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
4
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indy, IN
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Clean and quiet. It is privately owned and many people do not know about it. There is just a banner over the entrance, no lit sign nor road sign so you might be challengne to find it at night. IT SITS BACK FROM THE ROADWAY AND OTHER BUSINESSES. But it is worth a stay if you just need a place to sleep. My standard room did NOT have a fridge or microwave as i seen in advertisement. Rooms and hotel looks a little worn, ice machine on 3rd floor didn't work so I went to the 2nd floor and it worked but the elevator button did not work to go up only down. So it is the little details here that need attention. One of the end doors did not lock late at night, so they need to check and repair safety stuff like that. But for $55 on a busy weekend, it was fine.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

... when I booked this hotel, I'd never heard of the name. We took a chance and it was well worth it.

The price and location to IPFW were exactly what we were looking for an overnight stay. The rooms were clean and up-to-date. The toiletries provided were wonderful!

Check-in/out were fast and easy. The breakfast was typical, but it was a quiet Easter weekend, so there weren't a lot of guests checked in at the time. Parking was plentiful. Free WiFi in the rooms.

It was difficult to find with GPS because of the name change [use to be a Baymont Inn] and they definitely need to improve on the street signage. [There isn't any, just a banner on the hotel.]

We'd definitely stay here again -- don't forget to look at their 'wall of fame' in the hallway. LOTS of comedians have stayed there!!

Thank you for a quiet and pleasant stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Found Avenir after doing a bit of research and reading about them on Facebook. They offered discount if telling them I read about them on FB and that was honored. The rooms are clean, neat and reasonable in price.

They do not have their main sign up yet and a banner with the name hanging on front of the Inn. So, it is a bit hard to find. The street to the Inn is in between bingo sign and Carpet One. It sets off the road a bit, so look back away from street.

Staff was very nice and helpful. Our room was quiet. Beds were nice. Everything worked and we will stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

This used to be a Baymont. It is a clean and reasonable place north of Glenbrook shopping center, other shopping, and restaurants on the north side. Internet connection was a bit slow but I was using it during a high usage time.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Clean, comfortable, close to town, proximity to restaurants, inexpensive, nice rooms, free breakfast. Toilet made a lot of noise, only drawback. Staying here was a great call. Traveling on business, but would stay here for personal travel too - example, Notre Dame sports, etc.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia City, Indiana
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

On 1/24/14 I stayed here for business, because the weather was bad enough that I didn't want to drive home overnight. Although the bathroom wallpaper showed some signs of wear, the room setup was very nice with everything I needed (comfy loveseat, desk and desk chair, working radio alarm clock), and plenty of light, and the room was spotlessly clean. I had requested a fridge and microwave, and both were provided. The motel staff were friendly. The bed was just ok - not the most comfortable I've ever slept on, but not the worst, either - but I was able to sleep - which hasn't always been the case with motel beds. The breakfast was adequate though not exceptional - choice of four dry cereals [raisin bran, frosted mini-wheats, fruit loops, and one other], 2% milk, orange juice, toast, biscuits and sausage gravy, and apples and oranges.

The inn is near a number of restaurants: a McDonalds, a nice restaurant at the hotel next door, a Culver's, and a pancake house - all within 1/2 mile. Many more within a mile (Chinese, sushi, Cracker Barrel, Thai...). There's a movie multiplex a mile in the other direction, as well as a Wal-Mart and other restaurants. So it's a very convenient location, in a decent part of town.

I would recommend this inn for people looking for a clean comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avenir Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenir Inn

Address: 1005 W. Washington Center Road, Fort Wayne, IN 46825
Location: United States > Indiana > Fort Wayne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 48 Hotels in Fort Wayne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Avenir Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avenir Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.