We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely done” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Best Western Plus Fort Wayne Inn & Suites North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Best Western Plus Fort Wayne Inn & Suites North to your Saves list
Best Western Plus Fort Wayne Inn & Suites North
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5926 Cross Creek Boulevard, Fort Wayne, IN 46818 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fort Wayne)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in Fort Wayne
Southeast WI
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nicely done”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This is the second year we have stayed here for a local soccer tournament. Many good things about the stay...fresh food at breakfast, comfortable beds and very hospitable staff. Very convenient and easy to access the highway and many local restaurants that offer quality. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Suites are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    19
    12
    4
    11
See reviews for
28
13
6
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Use this clean & quiet hotel when I'm doing business in Ft Wayne. The rooms are always great, the staff is prompt and courteous and there are always hot cookies at the front desk at night.

Plus they have NFL Network!

Room Tip: Rooms on the back (north) side are further away from the road but even the south rooms are not very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Looks like a typical Country Inn with typical amenities but this building is old. They have tried keeping up with the Joneses with new modern bedding but it cant hide that old hotel smell. Bathrooms (sink counter and tub/shower) are old with old dirty caulk. Nice towel arrangement...they have tried to make this seem comparable to similar chains but it isn't. Location good...right off the highway. Safe area with lots of shopping and food nearby. Breakfast not too great...few choices. Couldn't get wifi to work from upper floors ... too far from router? If you need a clean place a step up from the Red Roof etc this is fine. If you are used to Springhill Suites or Holiday Inn Express etc stay at one of those nearby instead.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Just spent a long weekend at the Country Inn and Suites in Ft. Wayne. It was great. Spacious, clean room. Spotless linens and towels, We were in room 314. Never heard a sound from anyone else...very ample space in the room. Fridge, microwave, two flat screen tv's.....everything you could want to be comfy !!..
Mike at the front desk was great...he provided us with maps, directions and was an all-around nice guy ! The breakfast room, which is small but comfy, provided us with a great start to the day. Coffee, teas, juices, hot and cold cereal, pastries, etc. If you walk away hungry, it's your own fault. No restaurant on site, but close to several good choices. We ate at Cracker Barrel and it was great. There's a nice mall close to the hotel (maybe 10 minutes) that has lots of shopping choices. The Auburn, Cord, Duesenberg Museum is about 18 miles and is worth the trip, even if you had to walk. Classic Car Heaven !!!
If I had to fault the hotel on anything, it would be that there were no safety strips in the tub and it was pretty slippery. Other than that, they were wonderful !!!

Room Tip: we had room 314 and found it to be perfect for our needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stopped here one night while traveling west. We did not have a reservation, but were able to get a room at a reasonable rate (Sunday night and not too busy). The walls are thin and it is very noisy. The breakfast was gone by the time we got there and so we ate elsewhere. The room was neat and clean, and that is what we needed

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhart, Indiana
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I usually don't write bad reviews. I try to consider all the angles and put myself in the shoes of the hotel staff and give them the benefit of the doubt. This time, it was a little more difficult.

We booked our room online. We looked at several hotels in the Forty Wayne area. Our main criteria for choosing a hotel was the availability of a suite with a separate bedroom from the sitting room area. The options were limited, but we settled on Country Inn and Suites. We have three young children, so we booked a "deluxe king" suite with a fold-out sofa bed in the sitting area and a king bed in the separate bedroom. At least that's what the pictures on the website had shown. When we checked in at the hotel, the girl at the counter didn't seem to know what she was doing (maybe in training still?). They told me my credit card had been denied and continued to insist on this in front of other guests before realizing they had the wrong number in their system. It was embarrassing. I asked for an additional roll-away bed and they said "we'll try". We got our key cards and went up to the room and found it was not a suite at all, but a double-queen room. We had to go back downstairs and insist we had not booked a double queen room. They told me they don't accept reservations for suites online. Seriously? Your hotel name is Country Inn and SUITES! You don't accept online reservations for your SUITES? I showed them our printed receipt from the online registration and after some more fumbling to figure out how to transfer our room information, they set us up with the suite we originally requested. We went back upstairs and our key cards didn't work. I went back donwstairs with the issue and they realized they hadn't put the right room access on the cards. This was fixed and we finally got into our room.

The room was clean and as spacious as one might expect. No complaints here. Our kids used the (small) indoor pool and enjoyed it. When dinner time came, we chose to get some carry-out for me and the kids. My wife has special dietary needs and needed prepare her own food in the microwave. We forgot plates and silverware for this and when I asked the front desk of they had any plastic silverware and disposable plates for my wife's meal, they said they only had glass plates and metal silverware to offer, and those were all locked up with a private party in the breakfast dining room. We were on our own in this regard. The next morning, we found only disposable plates and plastic silverware in the breakfast dining room. No glass dishes or real silver were to be seen anywhere. Why lie?

The bed was comfortable but there were kids and adults (really?) running and yelling up and down the hallway until around midnight. I would have called the front desk again about this, but already being made aware of their lack of concern for their guests, I assumed it would have been a waste of time. I really wish the experience had been better, but I can safely say, we won't be staying in another Country Inn and Suites for quite some time.

Room Tip: Unless you don't care about what room you'll eventually be given upon check-in, don't st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FHF_CIS, General Manager at Best Western Plus Fort Wayne Inn & Suites North, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Joe,

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel. We are working diligently to correct these issues and I appreciate that you brought them to our attention. Unfortunately, our suites are not offered on "third party" bookings like you used, these are only contracted for our standard rooms,

Please accept our apology also for the misunderstanding about dishes. We do have disposable dishes available to our guests. The person you spoke with is new and was concered about interrupting the huge party of guests using our breakfast room. This has been addressed, and we are working diligently on training issues. We greatly appreciate you bringing this to our attention so it never happens to another guest.

We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area, and would like to further discuss your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

The folks there were so very very helpful!
We had traveled ALL DAY!! We actually had stopped at several hotels suggested by our GPS. When we stopped at Country Inn, the gal at the desk said she could get us two queens for $85.00. When I explained we were taking our two college aged kids to college, she offered a suite for an additional $10.00, for a reasonable rate of $95.00. We took it! The kids loved it! It had two TV's and two rooms. It was very accomodating! She even gave us four extra towels since we used our shower towels after our swim.
In the morning the gal that ran the breakfast was a beatiful person who was warm and professional! What a worker! When she wasn't filling breakfast containers, she was sweeping stairs!!
After breakfast I needed to print a coupon, and the receptionist was so very very helpful! She helped me print a coupon that didn't want to be printed! Ha!
My 21 year old daughter said: "when we come down again, we have to stay HERE! These folks are great!" I thought that was pretty high praise!!!

Room Tip: Staff is helpful! Rooms are clean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FHF_CIS, General Manager at Best Western Plus Fort Wayne Inn & Suites North, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. Whenever we have the rooms available we like to offer uprgrades at a little extra room rate. I am glad you liked our breakfast person, she is a great hospitable worker. The front desk staff all go out of their way to help guests, and I am glad we was able to help you. Tell your daughter thanks for the great praise and we would be honored if you chose our hotel for your next Fort Wayne stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Best Western Plus Fort Wayne Inn & Suites North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Fort Wayne Inn & Suites North

Address: 5926 Cross Creek Boulevard, Fort Wayne, IN 46818 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fort Wayne)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Fort Wayne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Fort Wayne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Fort Wayne Inn & Suites North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Best Western Plus Fort Wayne Inn & Suites North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Fort Wayne
Fort Wayne Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Western Plus Fort Wayne Inn & Suites North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.