We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visiting Family with us and four kids... this place is GREAT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Fort Wayne Southwest

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Fort Wayne Southwest to your Saves list
Residence Inn Fort Wayne Southwest
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7811 West Jefferson Boulevard, Fort Wayne, IN 46804   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #9 of 48 Hotels in Fort Wayne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Atchison, Kansas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Visiting Family with us and four kids... this place is GREAT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

While visiting Family in Fort Wayne, we needed a place to sleep us and our four kids... this place fit the bill! We had a two queen suite and could easily accommodate us and our large family comfortably. I would highly recommend this if you need some larger space. The staff was exceptional, and the kids really liked the pool and basketball court. We will definitely stay again when we go back to visit in the future!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derrick R, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Wayne Southwest, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you so much for the very kind review! We love serving our guests and we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. I'm glad that you enjoyed our two bedroom suites, indoor pool and sports court. Thank you so much for choosing our Residence Inn Ft Wayne, and we look forward to serving you on your next trip!

Sincerely,
Derrick Robertson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    24
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
31
8
2
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I'm ordinarily a fan of Residence Inns but have had bad experiences at two (blood on pillowcase in NY) and at this location this week. While the staff was pleasant and accommodating, I dont care for the vertical 'apartment-building' design vs the convenient park-at-your door usual 4-plex townhouse style RI's. Miles of hallways. I am not disabled, however, I have a couple issues - shortness of breath, and a spine problem, which kick up at inopportune times. We did not reserve a handicap room because I don't need the special aspects and like to keep those open for people who really do, however when we arrived I was having a lot of walking-related pain and we asked for a room close to the entrance, to minimize my walking. We were offered a first-floor handicap room and took it. I'd love to meet the genius planner who put the HANDICAP rooms at the very END of very long hallways......passing at least a a dozen regular rooms to get to them. Thanks a bunch. So after struggling to make it to the room, when we went out to dinner I was pleased to see we were close to a side door at the end of the hall. yay. Wrong. It did lead out to the parking lot but it opened to a steep brick STAIRWAY. Just what a handicapped person would love to see. This bizarre 'accommodation' of handicap parking and rooms is not unique; if you look at any public parking lot, half the time there are the required handicap parking slots; but unaccountably, often they are NOT nearest the entrance.

Room Tip: Wear your track shoes - lots of walking is likely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derrick R, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Wayne Southwest, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your review, I appreciate your comments and concerns. I am so glad that you found our service to be pleasant and accommodating.
Because all of our rooms are suites and much larger than the standard hotel room, our hallways are longer than average. We do offer several types of accessible rooms to meet the needs of our guests. I am terribly sorry we were unable to meet your needs, we should have found something closer to the entry. Please accept my most sincere apology.

Sincerely,
Derrick Robertson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

A had a great stay at this residence inn. I ended up in town that day because of a family event and was in need of a place to stay fast at 7pm. They got me a room right away and the service was fabulous. A young lady at the front desk named Shanice made sure everything was perfect. When I realized I forgot toothpaste and called the front desk, she personally brought some up within minutes. I have always had a good experience with Marriott but the service of the young lady of front made this one the top of the list! Thanks Shanice!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derrick R, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Wayne Southwest, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that on short notice you chose our Residence Inn! I'm thrilled, although not surprised, that Shanice gave you such great service. Thank you so much for posting your experience with us and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,
Derrick Robertson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senoia, Georgia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Spent a long holiday weekend at this hotel for a friend's son's wedding. The staff at the hotel could not have been more professional or pleasant! I have NEVER stayed at a hotel where every single employee went out of their way to greet us as we entered the hotel, or as we left and made sure that we had every thing we needed while inside the hotel. Our friends had rented a conference room to use for the weekend and the staff bent over backwards to make sure that the room stayed equipped with supplies, and kept it clean. We spilled over into the lobby a couple of times and the staff continued to make our experience top notch.

Our room was very comfortable. It was outfitted with a sitting area that included a sofa and a reclining chair - both great places to catch a quick nap before heading out to the next wedding activity. The bathroom was clean and neat. The room had a large closet with plenty of hangers. The tv was large and swiveled easily so that it could be seen throughout the room. Our only 'complaint' was the lack of king size beds, we were told that the hotel is about to go through a remodel and more king size bedrooms will be available in the future.

Our room was on the back side of the hotel and we heard no outside noise. The air conditioning and heat were also nice and quiet, as was the refrigerator. We enjoyed having a full kitchen, it was nice to have a refrigerator and microwave to heat up leftovers and keep drinks cold.

I'd especially like to give a nod to Shanice from the front desk. What a pleasant young lady she is! She was professional and engaging and we enjoyed her pleasant behavior very much. She's a keeper and I hope management will reward her for her outstanding skills.

Room Tip: Backside of the hotel was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derrick R, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Wayne Southwest, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Susanlst,
Thank you so much for your review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed our hotel and especially our service! We know your group had lots of choices and we really appreciated the opportunity to serve you. I agree that Shanice is a keeper, we are very fortunate to have her as part of our outstanding team of professionals.

Sincerely,
Derrick Robertson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Lots of people think you have to have an extended stay to stay at the Marriott's Residence Inn. Well, I like this property for short-term overnight visits too. I like it because I can warm up my soup from Panera Bread, sit in front of the gas fireplace, and work on my computer. It really does feel like a home living room versus being in a standard hotel room with only a bed. Here I have the option of a studio apartment with a king bed, couch, fireplace, desk and kitchenette. The pricing is in line with regular hotel rooms but the amenities are better. In the lobby, they serve food Monday - Thursdays with adult beverages which is perfect after a long work day away from home. Two thumbs up to this specific property with thier prompt and efficient front desk staff, clean rooms and easy parking.

Room Tip: A studio is great for 1-2 people and I love the gas fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derrick R, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Wayne Southwest, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you so much for taking the time to comment, and we look forward to serving you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Findlay, Ohio
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Stayed one night as a get away and to meet some Fort Wayne friends. Pretty good hotel. Rooms are a little smaller than the photos suggest. However, that is normal for hotel websites. Couldn't used the pool and hottub because of some maintance issues. Breakfast was very good. The only issue was the pet friendly room next to me. IT WASN'T A SMALL DOG THAT BARKED FOR HOURS. I was afraid to knock on the door. He sounded like he would have eaten me. Anyway. Would I stay there again? Probibly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derrick R, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Wayne Southwest, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your comments, we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay! I am very sorry you were disturbed during your stay. Although our hotel is pet friendly, we make sure our employees are properly trained to handle these situations to ensure the comfort of all our guests. Thank you again for choosing our Residence Inn and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawfordsville, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Hotel's first floor is great, pool just right, breakfast hit the spot, and the staff is awesome. Now in my experience the Region is not usually known for Hoosier hospitality, but Stacey is a delight. Forgive me i cant remember the Happy Hour Hostess, not because she not memorable, but because she is all over the place taking care of everyone!!! Lyndsie made sure my room was spotless and always full of sunshine.

The folks here are an awesome compliment to a terribly boring training!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drobertson7811, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Wayne Southwest, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you so much for choosing our Residence Inn! We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thanks Again,
Derrick Robertson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Fort Wayne Southwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Fort Wayne Southwest

Address: 7811 West Jefferson Boulevard, Fort Wayne, IN 46804
Location: United States > Indiana > Fort Wayne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Fort Wayne
#11 Family Hotel in Fort Wayne
#15 Business Hotel in Fort Wayne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Fort Wayne Southwest 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Inn Fort Wayne Southwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Fort Wayne
Fort Wayne Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Fort Wayne Southwest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.