We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genealogy Specialists” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Allen County Public Library

Allen County Public Library
900 Library Plaza, Fort Wayne, IN 46802
(260) 421-1200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 60 things to do in Fort Wayne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Genealogy Specialists”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

The Allen County Library's genealogy collection is second only to the one in Salt Lake City. People come from all over the country to research their family history. The staff are very knowledgeable and very helpful.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    18
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elida, OH, USA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Selections”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Visiting the Allen County Public Library is always a pleasant experience. I like to bring my grandkids often.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Allen County Public Library”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

This is a fairly new building but I think they've made some major improvements from the last one. it's huge, you feel like you're walking into an airport when you get there. Great kids area, the art gallery is always interesting, and lots of books for rent! I like renting movies personally for free with my library card. They have a lot of activities that take place here as well, some mini outdoor concerts, etc.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Best Genealogical Collection in the USA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Fantastic public library with great public support (this county reads more books/capita than any other US county). The genealogical collection is unbelievable and more more accessible to most of the country than Salt Lake City and the LDS Family History Library.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spencer, Indiana
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Beautiful Facility with Staffing Limitations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

I visited the library to attend a genealogy conference and do a little genealogy research in what is touted as one of the two largest genealogy libraries in the world. Since I have not yet visited the FHL in Salt Lake City, I don't have much basis for comparison only what I've heard. And I've heard that knowledgeable volunteers walk the floor just waiting to assist someone. Anyone I've ever talked to about SLC has been enthusiastic.

It was my experience at Ft. Wayne that they have a beautiful, awesome facility with massive holdings in genealogy. On the down side, I had a hard time finding what I wanted, the staff did not seem enthusiastic and were hard to find. In one very large room there was no staff member and I had to step outside to request assistance. I've heard that the paid staff must have at least a master's degree in library science to work in the genealogy area, but limiting themselves in this way does not bode particularly well for the patron. Surely, volunteers could provide some assistance.

On the ground floor is a small cafe operated by Dunkin Donut with used books for sale along with beverages and sandwiches. I had chicken salad on a warm croissant and it was tasty.

Those who do not have a library card and park at the facility are charged $7 maximum daily. There is outside parking as well as a garage and plenty of parking is available.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Allen County Public Library also viewed

 

Been to Allen County Public Library? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Allen County Public Library, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.