We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Fort Wayne Downtown at the Grand Wayne Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Fort Wayne Downtown at the Grand Wayne Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1150 S. Harrison Street, Fort Wayne, IN 46802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in Fort Wayne
GreenLeadersSilver level
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

This hotel was the assigned hotel for the wedding we attended in Fort Wayne last weekend, so our visit was by choice, but the hotel was picked for us. We were pleasantly surprised. We were originally booked for just Saturday night and called to ask for Friday night, too, just a few days before we arrived. The initial response I received was negative and the “wedding block” rate could not be had. It was an $80 increase, so I actually searched elsewhere in the city for a more reasonable alternative for Friday night. Tried calling back again the next evening, spoke to a very nice person who suggested she have the manager call me back in the morning. He called and agreed to give us Friday night at the same rate without hesitation. Very nicely handled.

First off, this is a downtown hotel. No shopping malls across the street or restaurants on every corner. Saturday was quiet downtown. Parking was very convenient – a parking building right next door but cost was $7 per night. Not thrilled at the cost, but convenient and easily accessible for those things you forgot you left in the trunk. Breakfast was not included, but local choices were limited nearby. We walked a few blocks to a diner called Cindy’s but it was very small and very busy. Might have been a good sign of good food, but we weren’t willing to wait. The hotel café was a little gourmet and a little pricey. Note for families - didn’t realize there was a McDonalds just 2-3 blocks away – an easy walk. And, there’s also a Taco Bell across the street from McD’s. There was a farmers market Saturday morning within two blocks of the hotel that some of our group discovered, too.

We also discovered a sports bar/grill just behind the hotel (half block away) that had a really good lunch special (even on Saturday) and all in our group were pleased with their selections. Quiet place during the afternoon, but was a fun night spot, too. Had a live band Saturday night and place was full.

There is also a minor league ballpark that is right next door. Literally next door. It was VERY nice. I’m not a baseball fan, but this was a fun event and a top notch ball field. We bought cheap seats ($5 grass level) and were very comfortable to enjoy a summer evening at such a clean park. Better yet, there were fireworks both nights that we were there – right on the field behind the hotel. Yes, 10 minutes of noise, but spectacular fireworks for all to enjoy.

Our room was a two queen room on the 6th floor on ballfield side of the hotel. If you can, ask for a room on the ballfield side. Nice view, fun to see the game and fireworks. Room was clean, cool and didn’t smell like a closed up hotel room. No problems with the room other than finding the last guest’s comb in the shower. Toiletries were usual – 2 soaps, shampoo/conditioner/lotion. Hair dryer, iron, ironing board in room. Ice machine down the hall. Internet worked good and included in the room cost. Noise was minimal, although there were 4 weddings that night closeby and a few basketball teams staying at the hotel. There was a pool, but it was indoor and about the size of my family room – maybe. But, those in our group who used it said it was fine. Chlorine smell was noticeable when you walked down the hall by it.

In lieu of the pool, there was a big open patio that was between the hotel and the ballfield. It was quite nice, clean and had ample patio furniture and a nice alternative to sitting in a lobby or in the room. We gravitated to this area many times, including to watch the fireworks and enjoy the late evening with the group. This was a nice addition that not many hotels usually have.

The wedding we attended was at Baker Street Station. It’s three blocks away but was a safe, easy walk to/from. (I’m not used to walking downtown, let alone at night) This was an excellent choice of hotel and venue for the wedding – totally convenient. We didn’t even move our car until check out.

Overall, it wasn’t a bargain hotel, but not many downtown hotels are. It was a very nice place to stay and I would recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale N, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fort Wayne Downtown at the Grand Wayne Center, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Wow! If you're ever looking for a writing job, please give me a call. THANK YOU for such an incredibly thorough review. I'm highly impressed and grateful that you took the time to share so much wonderful information with our future guests. We were so happy to host the wedding participants and hope you get to experience us and the community again very soon. We'll welcome you with open arms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    70
    10
    7
    5
See reviews for
36
29
14
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marion, Indiana
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Stayed here for a color run with some friends. Great service and the whole place was very well kept. Fantastic location to many downtown places! It's also a great place to stay if going to Parkview field

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale N, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fort Wayne Downtown at the Grand Wayne Center, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
We sure enjoy hosting so many for the color run and we're glad to be of service. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we hope to see you again on the next color run.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

My husband, myself, and our 6 year old twin sons stayed here for three nights for a short family vacation. The front desk staff was very welcoming and helpful. Parking was convenient in the nearby parking garage. I liked that the hotel gave us a swipe card to enter and exit the parking garage and simply added the parking fee directly to our bill. This was much easier than keeping track of multiple parking stubs. We stayed in the suite which was very nice. Only complaint would be on our last night at the hotel someone from housekeeping was sweeping the carpet outside of our room at midnight.

Room Tip: "The suite is on the top (6th) floor, facing the street. It had a fair amount of street noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale N, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fort Wayne Downtown at the Grand Wayne Center, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
What a great way to spend a vacation Jenifer! Thank you for sharing that special time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

The front desk staff went out of their way to accomidate my needs. Fast and professional service. The facility was very clean and room layout buffered noise from the corridor. I departed very early, before 5:00 am, and they still greated me with a smile.

Room Tip: Get a room that overlooks the stadium if your there on a Tin Caps game night
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale N, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fort Wayne Downtown at the Grand Wayne Center, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you for your FIVE STAR REVIEW Gregory! We're happy to see you and all our guests (even at 5AM). Thank you for the opportunity to serve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This is a very nice hotel that is located downtown fort wayne it is very clean, quiet with friendly helpful staff. We were in town for a wedding and the location was perfect, there was a festival going on the same time along with a baseball game. We were close by to all of the activities during our three day stay. As mentioned by others, you can see the ball park from your room. My only draw backs were the $7 a day garage parking and no continental breakfast. However there are 2 restaurants on site.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale N, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fort Wayne Downtown at the Grand Wayne Center, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
We're so glad you had the opportunity to see so many of the events in our wonderful city. Were you able to attend a ball game or the festival? If not, come on back soon to enjoy them. We'll be anxiously awaiting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincroft, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

My recent stay at the Marriott Courtyard in Ft. Wayne was exceptional - the staff and management are attentive and accessible throughout - and afterwards. They all go out of their way to provide a truly exceptional experience.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the minor league ballpark - just outside the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
Green Features: I found my room and the hotel in general to be very environmentally friendly.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale N, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fort Wayne Downtown at the Grand Wayne Center, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for your FIVE STAR review!! We all work very hard to do what we can to be as efficient a frinedly to the environment as possible. Thank you for noticing our efforts. Have you had the chance to see one of the Tin Caps ball games? If not, let us know the next time you're in our fair city and we'll work on changing that for you. Until next time...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I came to Fort Wayne to attend a Fort Wayne Tincaps minor league baseball game. The Courtyard by Marriott is right next to the ballpark--couldn't be more convenient. The room was very nice, with a comfortable bed, fridge & microwave in the room, and a large lobby with several amenities. Breakfast at the Bistro was good. The price was more than I usually pay for hotels, since I am not on an expense account, but this hotel was worth it.

Room Tip: Most any room should be OK--there are no busy streets or other noise generators nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale N, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fort Wayne Downtown at the Grand Wayne Center, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
I hope the TinCaps added a win on your visit! We're sure grateful to have had the chance to serve you while here in Fort Wayne. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Fort Wayne Downtown at the Grand Wayne Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Fort Wayne Downtown at the Grand Wayne Center

Address: 1150 S. Harrison Street, Fort Wayne, IN 46802
Location: United States > Indiana > Fort Wayne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Fort Wayne
#6 Business Hotel in Fort Wayne
#7 Family Hotel in Fort Wayne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Fort Wayne Downtown at the Grand Wayne Center 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Fort Wayne Downtown at the Grand Wayne Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Fort Wayne Downtown At The Grand Wayne Hotel Fort Wayne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Fort Wayne Downtown at the Grand Wayne Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.