We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ft Wayne's personal best !!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Don Hall's Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Don Hall's Guesthouse to your Saves list
Don Hall's Guesthouse
1313 West Washington Center Rd, Fort Wayne, IN 46825   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 46 Hotels in Fort Wayne
Zion, Illinois
1 review
“Ft Wayne's personal best !!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Beginning with my reservation by phone, my two sons and I were amazed at the hospitality we
encountered from the folks at Don Hall G. !!! Friendly employees and the food was GREAT!!!
After spending an eveniing @ Pieres ( another Fort Wayne classic ) , it was so wonderful to
come back and unwind- also able to stay alittle longer in our room with no big hassles this
establishment just tries to make you feel right at home and want to return. Add Don Hall's
Guesthouse to your list should you need to stay in Ft. Wayne !! 5 Stars Plus!!

Room Tip: Corner suites are wonderful!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    21
    11
    7
    7
See reviews for
26
16
5
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sedalia, Missouri, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

It's not very often that a hotel passes one's expectations, but this one certainly does. We chose the package that included meal vouchers. Upon arrival we found that due to a computer glitch, our reservation did not show up, but the young lady working the desk immediately got us a room like the one I had reserved and at the same price. The room was spacious and clean, and the in room coffee maker was great! The beds were comfortable, and even though there were several children in the adjoining room, we did not hear them at all. The only way we knew we were there was that we had seen them entering the room with their parents When we went to dinner, the waitress was extremely accomodating, answering all or our questions regarding the items on the menu (my husband has special dietary needs). The food was excellent. The service and food for the following morning's breakfast were also great. We did not use the pools or hot tub (no time) but did enjoy the entertainment in the lounge. The fact that the entire hotel (including the lounge) is smoke-free is a huge plus for us, as my husband is allergic to cigarette smoke.

Room Tip: Follow up after making online reservations so computer glitches don't get you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, Manager at Don Hall's Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for the great review! Sorry about the reservation glitch (lost in cyberspace?) but we are so glad you trusted us for your stay here in Fort Wayne! Shop local, dine local, stay local!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anywhere usa
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Big rooms, breakfast AND dinner, 2 pools, a hot tub, WiFi and great service all for under $100!

Stopped here after local merchant recommended this hotel. What a value! Stayed Friday and Saturday. Restaurant was get good and offered live entertainment both nights in the lounge area.

Indoor pool was coffee warm and the hot tub was actually hot!

WiFi was string and fast in our spacious room.

Staff was helpful and the hotel was clean.

Yes, this hotel is older but it is charming and offers outstanding value.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, General Manager at Don Hall's Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Wow! Thank you for a great review! Especially coming from someone so well traveled! We hope you come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

My eight year old son and I stayed here as part of a boys night out staycation. The room was nice and my son loved the pool. The great thing about this hotel is that dinner and breakfast are included in the price. It's not just some small setup in the lobby but rather a very nice "real" restaurant with a huge menu and excellent food. We stayed on a Saturday night and got to take advantage of their Sunday buffet that had every food imaginable. You just can't beat the value for what you get. We would have spent another $40.00 on food alone had we stayed somewhere else.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, General Manager at Don Hall's Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for a great review! If you come back this summer you can enjoy our larger outdoor pool where we are now serving food and drinks "poolside". Pina coladas anyone?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This hotel was a great place to stay. Nice rooms, clean, nice pool, nice fitness area, nice facility. A little throw back but that was cool. No continential breakfast but a nice restraunt on site, room service. I would recommend staying here!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

A real find. My sister recommended Don Hall's and we are so glad we listened. We paid the same price as one of the "Choice" hotels and had a fantastic dinner included. Our room was clean, spacious and welcoming. The bathroom/vanity area is separated from the sleep area by a pocket door. What a great idea! We have been guests at Hilton, Radisson and other bigger names but those folks could learn something from Don Hall's Guesthouse.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, General Manager at Don Hall's Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Great! Thank your sister for us. As far as those other places.... Sorry to be selfish but we would rather not teach them "Guesthouse Hospitality". Sorry chains...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Stayed here 4 nights for a local job interview (I'm from out of state) - the company paid for the first 3 nights, I stayed an extra night and drove 350 miles back home.

That being said, the staff were excellent - Cindy? and the gals at the front desk were always attentive, informative, and very cheerful, also great with local directions and Fort Wayne area information. I had a great late-nite conversation with an older gentleman (works the front desk, sorry - I think his name was Mike...?) and he was a local community theater actor and playwright.....great to talk with him about late-night dining options (1am!) and also to get a feel what the local arts and music scene is like. Everyone from the maids to the Housekeeping Mgr. from West Africa to the servers - James at the bar always was 'quick on the draw' with great humor, jokes, and local info, and Blair the server at breakfast (wonderful personality) as well as ALL the servers made breakfast a 15-minute stop, from sit-down to paying the tab - and I had free, hot, fast dinner and breakfast vouchers with my room.

Room was business-oriented and comfortable - appreciated the table and chairs in the corner to do my work and business stuff. Clean bathroom, clean beds, rooms smelled fresh and were cleaned daily. Heated tile in the bathroom made hopping out of bed in the mornings great! Thanks to all the staff for a great stay and great service!

Room Tip: If you are traveling in the summer - the courtyard rooms - odd numbers might be nice. Only a short w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Don Hall's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Hall's Guesthouse

Address: 1313 West Washington Center Rd, Fort Wayne, IN 46825
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Fort Wayne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Fort Wayne
#19 Business Hotel in Fort Wayne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Orbitz, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Don Hall's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Hall`s Guesthouse Hotel Fort Wayne
Don Halls Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Don Hall's Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.