We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service Great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sam's Food & Spirits

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sam's Food & Spirits
702 Highlander Pt Dr, Floyds Knobs, IN 47119-9442
(812) 923-2323
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 21 restaurants in Floyds Knobs
Restaurant details
Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great service Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

food was great on 3/7/13 had the fried seafood it was good, they hand bread everything themselves. server was great didn't want for anything. had the cheese cake they make there at the store it was wonderful chocolate lovers.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    4
    2
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Albany, Indiana
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Manager is a LIAR!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I stopped for carry out and placed my order carefully, being specific about what I wanted.
I got my food home and I did not have the proper dipping sauces I asked for. I got horseradish!
I ordered soup. I bet it would have been good - except I crushed up the crackers they provided me. They were stale and turned into chewing gum in the soup.
Not normally a complainer. As I ordered my food I saw signs advising how it it important to support LOCAL BUSINESS.

I was proud as I ordered. Feeling civic and supportive of my community.

I called and spoke to the manager. He listened as I advised him about just spending $10.00 for an in edible meal and how I regretted my decision of BUYING LOCAL. He asked for my address and advised he was comping my meal and mailing me a gift card.

Well that was two weeks ago. No comp or gift card ever arrived.
Will I go back: NEVER!

Manager you are a LIAR! Keep your gift card. May your business prosper as the last Sams Food and Spirits did- now out of business.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floyds Knobs, Indiana, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Good Local Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I love their Fried Cauliflower! So Good!I also love their Fried Chicken Sandwich, it is served on a onion bun, very good and very Large!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanesville, IN
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Not as good as the other Sam's Restaurant in New Albany”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

This is a redo of the older original Sam's. While they keep trying to make it better, it lacks everything that makes the original one so good. We live in the area and used to frequent the old one on an almost weekly basis, so we were really excited when this new one opened. However, after many tries, it still is not up to par with the service or quality of food of the one in New Albany. If you're hungry for Sam's, I suggest you go to the one on Charlestown Rd. in New Albany instead of this one. I'm hoping someone in management will see this and be able to do something about it as we loved the old Sam's.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam's Food & Spirits also viewed

 

Been to Sam's Food & Spirits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sam's Food & Spirits, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.