We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Way to Experience Dominica” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jungle Bay, Dominica

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Jungle Bay, Dominica to your Saves list
Jungle Bay, Dominica
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Point Mulatre, Point Mulatre 0001, Dominica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Point Mulatre
Northampton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Way to Experience Dominica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

We stayed at Jungle Bay for the second half of our Honeymoon and it was the perfect blend of adventure and relaxation. We signed up for the Adventure/Spa package as well as the Honeymoon Upgrade. The Adventure/Spa package was totally worth it. We went on excursions every day to beautiful locations all over the island, and because it was during the off season, we were often the only ones on the trip. All the guides were incredibly friendly and knowledgeable. On a typical day we woke up early, had a delicious buffet breakfast at the Pavilion restaurant, went off on a fun-filled excursion, returned home to our lovely tree house cottage to relax and swing on our hammock, went for a massage at the Spa, and then got ready for a delicious 4 course dinner. The food was excellent and there are tons of vegetarian options. We didn't really need the Honeymoon add on, but breakfast in bed was pretty nice. All of the staff were excellent and Nancy went out of her way to accommodate us. Jungle Bay is a a wonderful example of a well run and sustainable resort that should be supported.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    28
    7
    7
    2
See reviews for
83
249
45
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

We spent several nights in Jungle Bay in Dominica and had a blast. We enjoyed every aspect of the trip and the service we received at the Jungle Bay resort.

On our stay, we did every excursion/event available and were glad we did. Personal favorites were Victoria Falls Hike, Boiling Lake Hike, daily Yoga, the massages and of course the food. We are vegetarian and it was great to try so many new, local grown vegetarian meals.

Also, we loved the way the tour guides (Carlos, Keith and Justin) guided us on our treks and showed us the variety of fruits and plant life. We always felt safe and felt they truley cared about what they did. Nancy was also great as well as the owner Sam. We quite enjoyed the "Jungle Bay Story".

All in all, we share the same opinions most other reviews on this site have for Jungle Bay, if you are looking for an Adventure more than a Vacation (while still being pampered), then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed in Jungle Bay for several nights and enjoyed it very much. We stayed in a lower (in elevation) bungalow and had a great time. THe bungalows are a little exposed to the other rooms b/c of the recent cutting down of foliage before we got there. THe rooms were a great size a had mosquito nets, if needed, (we didn't). Birds often flew in and out of the bungalow which added to its "jungleness". The restaurant has great service and even better food. However, the restaurant can be a little Club-Med-y (ie. people visiting your tables, signing up for activities). But who says thats a bad thing? We took a rental car out and did some of the more visited activities: boiling lake, emerald pool, champagne reef, and we had a sort of dilemma: it was not a comfortable drive (narrow road, blind curves, severe drop offs, dangerous local drivers) and we also did not want to go with the hotel b/c of the moderate size crowds. We still did not really find the solution to this by the time we left, but if you can: Hats off to you! Just two words off advice for your stay: 1) try and visit the north side of the island as well- it has a lot less tourism and some very small hotels (I personally recommend Calibishie Cove and the Pagua Bay House). 2) If you can try to go canyoneering, if your physically fit and not completely petrified of heights you'll LOVE IT. You can see the sight for it at: http://extremedominica.com/. If your on the edge of visiting Dominica or some other Caribbean island w/ the big resorts, etc. try Dominica. We did. And they'll be no feeling of regret in your mind. There wasn't in ours.

Room Tip: Any room is great... if you can get a higher up room, (in elevation)... for privacy and views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011 via mobile

Jungle bay treated us with 5 star service! Our open air hut was clean and fresh, there were no mosquitos at all and the nightly rain cooled things down nicely. Everyday we were driven ( an adventure in itself) to amazing waterfalls and volcanic valleys to hike and explore and had the best massages every evening. Really, we get massages at home and the staff at jungle
Bay were better. It was very quiet there, but i think when the word gets out they will be busier. Hope so!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vevey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

I travel extensively both for business and leisure and have certainly stayed at over 100 different hotels in the past years. Jungle Bay is definitely among the top 3. What makes is so special? Definitely a combination of excellent service, lovely bungalow and amazing location. They have an extraordinary way to make you feel welcome in a casual way (like if you were an important friend to their home). A few example: we messed up with the booking and showed up one day too late, I thought it was a misunderstanding (but back at home looking at our emails exchanges it was entirely our fault) they said nothing, did not charge for the no show, just were happy we were (finally) there. The day of departure we told them we had a late boat and they spontaneously proposed us to keep to cottage until 5pm (no charge). We had a slight problem with our rental car, they immediately took care of calling the rental company and sorted out (whilst we were swimming in the pool). And I could continue... The cottages are nestled in the tropical environment all facing the sea (some have sea view others not). They are all in wood and very nicely build and designed. True some of them are very high-up in the hill and requires good legs to reach (but what a view from them! Would definitely recommend them to people in good shape who don't mind climbing a bit to be at trees level!). Others are just steps away from the restaurant and pool. You should probably specify what you prefer when booking. The only downside we could see is that it is a bit remote and requires quite much driving to visit the main attractions. But being seculated is also what makes it so special...

Room Tip: Up hill if you are in good shape!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

Great Vacation! We did the Fitness bootcamp for a week and it was awesome. The island of Dominica is a great chance to see nature and see a land mass that for the most part has been undisturbed and looks to be intact for it's natural form.

From the time we step foot out of the airport, we were treated very well by the driver who drove us to Jungle Bay. We then got our rooms and were immediately greeted by the manager who asked if there was anything that we wanted to do extra or any substitutions from the usual boot camp itinerary. We really enjoyed this extra effort by the manager as it showed that they were catering to our individual needs.

The daily or every other day power walks either in the morning or evening were a great workout and the manager and yoga/pilates instructor were very motivating during the power walk. In fact, the owner even came out and did the power walk with us, which is usually unprecendented.

The bungalows were very surreal and cozy. The sound of the atlantic ocean tide hitting the rocks below was very relaxing to hear. The hiking excursions were out of this world, we especially enjoyed the Boiling Lake and Victoria Falls hike. The guides were especially helpful on these hikes in helping us trek through more difficult terrain.

The trip to Pomme's property was great as his family lives off the grid in the forest and it was nice and humbling to see people living like that in today's society. The yoga, pilates, and stretching classes by the instructor were very good and her instruction and flow of the classes were unrivaled.

The front desk was very courteous and were very accomadating on several occasions for us during our stay.

The waiters and waitresses at the restaurant were very friendly and worked at an American/Canadian/European pace which was very unique to the caribbean, as we've been to a good amount of restaurants in the caribbean and most restaurant wait staffs are working on their own clock, that many newcomers and tourists called "Island Time." So we really were happy to see the wait staff work in a very efficient manor for our vacation.

The cooks were very friendly as well and made some very amazing tasting dishes using what the owner described as about 90% locally grown organic foods. The cooking class that some of the cooks put on for the guests was wonderful and they were very easy accesible for any questions that we might have. The breakfast was a buffet style setup and had a full array of fruits, juices, muffins, scrambled eggs, pancakes, french toast, as well as made to order omelletes. The lunch and dinner menus were phenomenal with choices of mouth watering appetizers, soups, salads, main courses, and tantalizing desserts.

The spa treatments were fantastic, we chose massages for all our spa treatments and my mother-in-law is a CMT in the states and she was impressed by the massages which is saying something from someone that practices the trade as well. She had never heard of a 30-minute deep tissue massage that got the whole body in that time frame. Most massages in U.S./Canada/Europe that are deep tissue would have to be 45 minutes to an hour and a half to get the full body, so that was another great feature at this resort. The mood and tone of the massages was also a welcomed addition as you could hear the ocean in the background and couples had an option of getting a couples massage in the bigger room.

Lastly, we were very impressed with how humble, down to earth, and easily accessible that the owners were. The Jungle Bay Story as it's called is definitely a must hear and see, so the guests get to know the process in which the resort became a reality and the owners philosophy on social entrapuernership is great to hear in today's dog eat dog mentality.

All in all, I would definitely recommend this hidden gem on the beautiful island of Dominica for adventure seekers young and old!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

Jungle Bay will blow your mind. I have traveled extensively and never before have I encountered such an incredible group of human beings staffing a resort. I was there for a week on a yoga retreat, and within a few days everyone on staff knew all our names. What we (New Yorkers/New Englanders) would consider to be going above and beyond, seemed to be natural to them.
We did the hike to Victoria Falls one day, for example, and throughout the whole hike our guides (Brother and Keith) were literally hoisting us up difficult sections of the climb, and asking we use their hands and feet as props to get traction on slippery boulders.
Each guide we had on our adventures was extremely knowledgeable and personable. In addition to Victoria Falls, we hiked the Zom Zom trail, walked down to the White River, and hiked to Boiling Lake. We even had Sam, the proprietor of Jungle Bay as our guide on two of our excursions!
The rooms are incredible. We each had a private cottage/bungalow that smelt AMAZING. The rooms were extremely clean. Each cottage has its own balcony with hammock.
The one thing that I have to offer as feedback is in relation to the location. Jungle Bay is a "scenic 90 minute drive" from the airport. Expect that 90 minutes is in island time (as goes for all other estimated times for travel around the island) and scenic is code for "bring your dramamine" in the event that you have ever before in your life, possibly, if even for a second, been car/motion sick.
They say that Dominica is the only island in the Caribbean that Christopher Columbus would recognize if he came back today - the shoreline remains greatly untouched, and a great majority of the island has retained its natural luscious beauty.
The restaurant at Jungle Bay is incredible. Expect to eat all your meals there (not only out of necessity, but out of choice as well). They have extensive vegetarian selections and are very accommodating to requests. The food was fresh, incredibly delicious and creative.
The pool has reached the top of my list as my favorite pool I've ever been in. The bottom is made of stone. Not loose stone - the stone is cemented in, but the texture on your feet is incredible. I don't ever want to go in a tile/concrete bottom pool ever again!
I would also recommend getting a massage during your stay... the sheer experience of the view from the massage rooms will make it worth it.
Dominica is probably not somewhere I would have traveled, were it not for the yoga retreat I wanted to participate in, that was headed there. That said, I am SO glad I did. Jungle Bay truly is a gem. A luxurious eco-lodge with an incredible restaurant, beautiful grounds and five star staff.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jungle Bay, Dominica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jungle Bay, Dominica

Address: Point Mulatre, Point Mulatre 0001, Dominica
Location: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint Patrick Parish > Point Mulatre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Point Mulatre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jungle Bay, Dominica 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning Jungle Bay rises from a cliff overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. Stay in one of the 35 rustic luxury cottages suspended on wooden posts amidst jungle fauna, each with a private outdoor shower and with the ever-present sound of ocean surf. Daily adventure tours are a highlight and include transportation in open-air safari trucks. Finish each day being pampered in ocean-view spa and dining at the Pavilion Restaurant, enjoying mouthwatering local organic cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp. so you can book your Jungle Bay, Dominica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jungle Bay Resort And Spa
Jungle Bay Hotel Roseau
Hotel Jungle Bay
Jungle Bay, Dominica Caribbean

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jungle Bay, Dominica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.