We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Chinese in Evansville” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yen Ching

Yen Ching
406 S Green River Rd, Evansville, IN 47715-7307
812-474-0181
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 379 Restaurants in Evansville
Price range: $7 - $12
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Buffet, Reservations, Takeout
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Best Chinese in Evansville”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The food and the service is excellent. Everyone is extremely friendly. I highly recommend Yen Cheng!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank wendyjeyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Lewisville, Texas
Level Contributor
74 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“EARLY LUNCH”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I ordered the chicken in garlic sauce. Perfect seasoning and plenty of food. I enjoyed visiting after many years away.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank RONNIE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best Chinese in Evansville”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

Don't expect a buffet unless you go for Sunday lunch. Great food! My personal favs egg drop soup, crab Rangoon, and general tso chicken. Lunch specials are $5.50-6.50!

Helpful?
Thank Amy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
176 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Really good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Nice place, nice decor. Not buffet food. Wonderful staff. First time here. I ordered way more than I could eat, but new I cold eat it at home. I started with soup, they have many kinds, some are two servings. I had Hot and Sour soup for one. Also order your Pot Stickers right away, and do get them. They only make these dumplings as they are ordered, and it may take 15 min or more to get them to you. Wonderful, springy dough, perfect meat filling. and 6 for just over 6$. I ate them all and drank all my soup. That would have been enough for the day. I also had a large pot of hot tea. But I ordered Empress chicken and beef fried rice. This is really 2 separate meals.
The chicken dish is battered chicken stir fried with vegetables. Then covered in that bright red oil. it was cooked to perfection. Served with a large helping of steamed white rice.
The fried rice was an even larger serving. Generous helpings of thin cut beef, lots of peas, all really good.
This restaurant also has meals for two or complete family meals for 5.But their carry out appears to be the most popular. While I was eating the people did not stop coming in to get their orders, and this was at 4pm on a week day.
The menu is huge. You may want to look at it before heading out to get an idea of what you might order. They do not limit themselves to one style of chines food, but excel in all.
Sundays they do have a buffet if that is what you are after. I did not have the crab Rangoon, but the ladies next to me did, and they raved about it.
Again, all the food is fresh daily, and cooked to order. I did not ask for mine to be hotter, which I like, just to get a feel for their base. It was not very spicy at all, so feel free to ask for more heat if you want it. This is a real restaurant, the way it should be.
This is family owned and has been in this town for decades, always good service and fresh food.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Chinese Food in the Midwest? Absolutely!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I am a picky New York/EastCoast business traveller who dines out 5 days per week. I read reviews before trying new places and am often disappointed. In this case, the glowing reviews didn't do this place justice. One of the finest Chinese restaurants I have ever sampled. The most amazing part was the freshness of the food, particularly the meats. Fresh boned chicken, fresh shredded pork, juicy and delicious beef. I eat here half the time I am in Evansville.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yen Ching also viewed

 

Been to Yen Ching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing