We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great rooms, very average breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Merigot at Tropicana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Le Merigot at Tropicana to your Saves list
Le Merigot at Tropicana
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   615 Northwest Riverside Drive, Evansville, IN 47708   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Evansville
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“great rooms, very average breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Deceptively nice hotel. Outside is basic and a bit dated, but rooms, bathrooms are very well finished. The lobby bar is really cool looking-great design. fantastic selection of beers and spirits. Bed really comfortable. The adjacent casino is a bit on the seedy side. Breakfast was pretty bad-some nice fruit, hot food more or less absent. Coffee was poor, and empty intermittently during the three breakfasts that I was there. All-in, however, I would go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    37
    15
    8
    3
See reviews for
8
43
7
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I've stopped here three times within the last year and wouldn't hesitate to go back; rooms are very comfortable and well appointed.

Location is good for downtown and the casino plus there is a few bars close by. I would avoid the casino and the adjoining area.

Waterfront is close by and plenty to do in the immediate area.

Breakfast is okay, mainly fruit, toast etc.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, Manager at Le Merigot at Tropicana, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to add a review. We appreciate your time and comments. Our location across the street from the river walk is convenient for a nice stroll or run. Tropicana does offer several variety restaurants. Thank you again for staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We parked as most bikers do, under the awning by the front and weren't told it wasn't ok by the front desk. Later, security placed a huge orange STICKER on our bike. Mgt told us they didn't want the stigma of "bikers" staying there!! Prejudice!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, Manager at Le Merigot at Tropicana, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for sharing your recent experience. As I mentioned to you in my email, we are not trying to make bikers feel "unwelcomed". Our hotel entrance is not large enough for vehicles to park there long term and the area must be clear at all times for emergency vehicles. We do have a designated area for motorcycles within our valet lot adjacent to the hotel. We decided on this area as it was away from our designated smoking area for hotel guests thinking that there would be less foot traffic reducing any risk of tampering. We definitely did not convey this well to you, our valued guests. I have shared our experience with our team so they can be more forthcoming to future guests. As I mentioned, because of your poor experience, we have refunded your charges. We hope to win you back the next time you visit Evansville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Young Harris, Georgia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We spent a nite here to enjoy the casino & take in the D-Day Re-enactment. Next visit I'd like to be on the 3rd floor so our view wouldn't be marred by the walkway. I agree with the previous review - the bed was wonderful! If I could've packed it in my bag it would have come home with me! The mattress 7 bedding was superb! Housekeeping does a great job of making them picture perfect but still manageable to get in to and enjoy. The continental breakfast offering was good. Altho, since it is served in what is a bar at nite, the seating is a bit awkward for eating. Luckily, the weather was good so we went outside to the patio area.
The hotel is convenient to the casino with a walkway so you don't have to bother crossing the road. Bit odd with going up an elevator, across & down an elevator if one wants to go to other places. Staff was professional & very helpful. We would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for the front of the building but 3rd flr or above. Our room on 2nd flr, the view was skewed by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, Manager at Le Merigot at Tropicana, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience. We really appreciate your time and input. The D-Day Re-enactment was truly a great event for Evansville. I'm glad that we were part of your experience. I enjoy sharing comments like yours with our team. Thank you again for staying review. We hope to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Le Merigot is an awesome hotel! The bed was fantastic. I can no longer sleep in my bed at home it was so comfortable! My husband and I went to a wedding on Saturday night (reception at the conference center---great reception, lovely decor and friendly staff) and decided we would take a nap before going out, set our alarm and then decided we weren't getting up when it went off because we were so comfortable....it was only 11 on a Saturday night. We never go to bed that early on a Saturday night. The room was gorgeous and just what we needed for a weekend away. David and Whitney really took care of us during our stay!

Room Tip: The hotel faces to the sides so that every room can have a view of the river. It may not be head on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, Manager at Le Merigot at Tropicana, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you Heather for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I happy to hear that you and your husband enjoyed yourselves. I enjoy sharing comments like yours with our team. Thank you again for staying with us. Can't wait to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Only had time to stay one night. The staff was efficient and friendly. The rooms featured wonderful bedding and the shower/bathroom was a delight! There is a neat Irish pub and a sports bar adjacent to the hotel. Very good location if you don't want to move the car once you arrive. As for the casino, it is the old "boat" style and was a let down. The bar in the hotel was modern and had a nice design! The complimentary continental breakfast was tasty and well presented. Overall I would stay again and recommend it!

Room Tip: River view is nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, Manager at Le Merigot at Tropicana, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for sharing your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback. We are fortunate to have RiRa's Irish Pub and Sportsbook near us... and don't forget about Boogie Nights! I have shared your comments with our team. Thank you again. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

The service here is no better than the cookie-cutter Comfort Inns & such. But for accommodations, design, and amenities (e.g. omni-directional shower), this hotel legitimately lays claim to "boutique." And it's a quiet, unfrenetic alternative to its next-door sister Tropicana. An excellent value for the price.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, Manager at Le Merigot at Tropicana, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for your recent review. We appreciate the feedback. I have shared your comments with our team to help emphasize the importance of guest service. We want to be the best hotel in town and your review will help us. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Le Merigot at Tropicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Merigot at Tropicana

Address: 615 Northwest Riverside Drive, Evansville, IN 47708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Evansville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Evansville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Merigot at Tropicana 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Le Merigot at Tropicana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Merigot Evansville
Le Merigot Hotel Evansville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Merigot at Tropicana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.