We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Merigot at Tropicana

Save Saved
You added Le Merigot at Tropicana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Merigot at Tropicana
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   615 Northwest Riverside Drive, Evansville, IN 47708   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 35 hotels in Evansville
Tell City, IN
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“fabulous rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2008

My husband and I stayed here recently as a weekend getaway and it was wonderful. We booked a two queen bed room and the room was very spacious. Beds are super comfy. The bathroom was the greatest with the custom body shower. Cleanliness was above expected. Very nice stay for the money and will likely stay again. The only down side was the temp in the room was difficult to regulate. It was a cold weekend and we turned the heat down before we went to bed but still woke up in the middle of the night stuffy. We even ended up turning the heat off completely and it was still a bit too warm in the room. Not sure what was wrong there but it was manageable and not something that ruined the overall stay.

  • Liked — the shower was great
  • Disliked — room a bit too warm
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    29
    11
    7
    3
See reviews for
8
35
6
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2008

This hotel is WONDERFUL! My husband and I went for one night for a much needed escape. Upon arrival we were greeted by the bell man and the valet. Valet parking was complimentary. Check in was a breeze. The room was beautiful, with a view of the river. All amenities were superb. The bathroom was to die for. It is all frosted glass with the most wonderful shower I have ever had. The rainmaker and other multiple shower heads make for a very relaxing shower.
The only complaint was the breakfast. It was not replenished when my husband and I arrived. There area was also messy. However, I commented on it and they offered to bring us some breakfast to our room. Since we were about to check out, I passed on the offer, but at least they did try to correct the problem.
Overall an excellent experience. We will be staying again.

  • Liked — The bathroom was wonderful.
  • Disliked — The breakfast could of been better
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owensboro, ky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2007

My husband and I stayed one night for a little get away. The rooms were very nice. The hotel was very clean. The bathroom was great, it had a rainmaker shower, never been in one before, but I loved it. Also, got breakfast, it had fruit and some cereals, and different kind of sweet rolls, nothing hot. Would of been nice to have some hot eggs, bacon on the spread. But, a very nice get away, even though the rooms were a bit expensive.

  • Liked — the bed and pillows
  • Disliked — the breakfast
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2007

Just returned from an overnight stay at the Le Merigot. From the minute we pulled into the hotel, every need was met. We were greeted at the door with glass of cool pink lemonade and shown to the front desk staff. The room was fabulous. It exceeded every expectation. I strongly recommend this hotel. The cost may seem high in comparison with other local hotels but you certainly get your money's worth. We will return.

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2007

What a hip little hotel in such an unexpected place. My husband and I spent our anniversary weekend at Le Merigot, and I HIGHLY recommend it. It's brand-spanking new, clean, bright, ultra-modern, and no detail is overlooked.

CHECK-IN:

We checked in late Friday night when Lex Luther (Superman or Spiderman or some man LOL) was expected in the lobby's ultra modern Ultralounge for a special promotion. The UltraLounge was packed with people of all ages (20 somethings to 50 somethings). Despite all the activity, the front desk staff was friendly and check-in was quick. They did forget to give us breakfast coupons, but they took $10 off the nightly rate at the end of our stay. (We didn't know about the breakfast until we checked out or I'm sure they would have taken care of it immediately.)

VALET PARKING:

Free, and it takes only minutes for them to bring your car up....no need to call 30 minutes ahead of time from your room.

THE ROOM:

Fabulous! The rooms are large, ultra-modern but very comfortable, bright and airy...earth tones, yellow, and white...not a lot of black/brown/maroon like many other similar hotels (ie: the W). The bed was WONDERFUL...all down bedding and imported Italian linens. The in-room coffee maker had an insulated caraffe, Starbucks coffee and real half-and-half. There was a large flat screen TV mounted on the wall, a large armour/closet with lights that came on when the doors were opened, a desk, free wireless internet, and upholstered chair and ottoman.

THE BATH:

To die for!!!! ( unless you can't live without a bubblebath) I photographed the shower to put one in my own home. The bath is all green frosted glass, ceramic tile, and granite. The shower was huge with a ceiling mounted, plate-sized rain shower head, another wall-mounted smaller over-head rain showerhead, and two spray heads mounted lower on the walls for the body. I'm usually not a fan of the rainwater shower heads because of the lack of waterpressure, but this shower was the BEST. It took all of about 2 seconds to be completely drenched. It was heavenly. They have wonderful, fluffy soft towels and the softest bathrobes you'll ever put on your back. The bath products were all Rusk Calm (divine!) . This is really nit-picky, but this is one of the few hotels in the WORLD that I've stayed in without that wierd flourescent bathroom lighting. You can actually put your makeup on and know you'll look like a person, not a clown, when you walk outside.

THE ULTRALOUNGE:

The ultra hot spot for Evansville's beautiful people that's hopping but not overrowded on weekend nights. Ultramodern with color- changing ambient light, music, floor to ceiling walls of windows looking out over the outside patio with more seating and a very cool outdoor fireplace. Wonderful martini menu, plus full bar, decent wines. Service was VERY SLOW though. They have fresh sushi (very good, but I've had better) and wonderful desserts. I'm not sure if they have more on the menu. Continental breakfast is served in the mornings, but as I said earlier, we missed that. They also have a pitcher of fresh lemonade in the lobby with glasses during the day ... guests can help themselves.

SHUTTLE SERVICE:

The hotel offers free shuttle service to the casino across the street.

Dinner tip: for a wonderful dinner, try Cavanaughs in the casino. They don't have the most inventive menu, but everything we had was SUPERB! Nice atmosphere and great service, too.

  • Liked — Attention to detail
  • Disliked — nothing, it was all good
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville IN
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2007

Very up to date and romantic. Big fluffy beds. Love the flat screen TV's and the views of the river. Super large shower, fluffy bathrobes and slippers.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, IN
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2007

LeMerigot is the newest hotel in Evansville, Indiana.
It is a beautiful boutique hotel on the river front in
downtown; it is part of the Casino Aztar District . It
is not attached to the casino, but just across the
street from it. The rooms are fantastic - clean,
beautiful. The bathroom is the best I've ever
experienced in any hotel because it had a very
large shower (no tub) with rain shower heads, plus
spa jets for your back! Awesome! Beds are
comfortable and linens very plush. A nice flat
panel TV on the wall adds modernity.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Merigot at Tropicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Merigot at Tropicana

Address: 615 Northwest Riverside Drive, Evansville, IN 47708
Location: United States > Indiana > Evansville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 35 hotels in Evansville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Merigot at Tropicana 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Le Merigot at Tropicana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Merigot Evansville
Le Merigot Hotel Evansville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Merigot at Tropicana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.