We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent Japanese cuisine. Easily best in town!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iwataya Japanese Restaurant

Iwataya Japanese Restaurant
8401 N Kentucky Ave #J, Evansville, IN
812-868-0830
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 365 Restaurants in Evansville
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Newburgh, Indiana
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Magnificent Japanese cuisine. Easily best in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

This is very simple, Iwataya is easily THE BEST Japanese restaurant in the Evansville area. No other restaurant can match this place from top to bottom. Super fresh sushi, tempura that is to die for, fantastic appetizers, and even the salad and soup are fantastic. As others have mentioned, Iwataya is located in an industrial looking strip mall. But once you go inside, it feels like you are literally in Japan. There are intimate tables that you must take your shoes off to sit in, or you can dine in a regular table. Very friendly service too. This is a real gem in Evansville!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    6
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Evansville, Indiana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best sushi in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Authentic and always fresh with excellent rolls that always satisfy. The edamame is very good here as is the saki. One annoyance is the baby music they insist on playing. You may get a laugh because you might feel like you are a baby in a crib listening to the spinning mobile above you. Besides this, if you truly like sushi, this the place in EVV to go.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly Springs, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Traditional Excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Who would I thought that in Evansville Indiana I could get an amazing Japanese meal? I ate a number of appetizers at this visit. I was a kid in a candy store. I have not had access to this level of traditional Japanese cuisine even in many larger cities.

I had Hamachi collar that was cooked to perfection. Expertly prepare with all the scales completely removed. The skin was crisp and delicious with the interior, moist and cooked too perfection. The kimchi is homemade, fermented and spice perfectly.

They also have a variety of American dishes that will please any pallet. The sushi is also insanely good.

If you care for Japanese food, I will suggest this restaurant is a must visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Consistent Excellence for Japanese Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Though it is located in a very drab, industrial-looking strip mall north of Evansville, Indiana, Iwataya is a top-notch Japanese restaurant. With a wide variety of seating arrangements (traditional American-style dining table and chairs, booths, or floor sitting on tatami mats). For those who like tatami mats but have with limited flexibility, you will like the recessed well for your legs.

The menu has a wide variety of sushi, sashimi, tempura, and assorted Japanese appetizers. The miso soup, Yakatori, and Gyoza (pork dumplings) are especially good. Overall, the atmosphere is very authentic and the service is top-notch. This is definitely one of the best choices for Japanese fare in the region. Indeed, it can rival restaurants in other urban centers such as LA, NY, or Dallas.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign-Urbana, Illinois
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Reminds me of trips to Japan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The setting is right, the waiters/waitresses are very knowledgeable, and the food was outstanding. I was unsure of really where to eat as I was only in town for the day. I decided on this remote little Sushi place on the outskirts of town. I sat down and the waiting staff was eager to get me seated and fed (i'm plenty ok with this). I'm pretty familiar with Sushi, but was wondering what this place was famous for. Once I got the waitress to tell me her favorite Sushi rolls, we were in business. I'm sorry, but all i can remember of the rolls was that one of them had Kiwi fruit (yes, kiwi fruit) on top, and the other was a type of Tempura Shrimp Dragon Roll. Anyways...amazing dinner and it brought me back to meals and memories of my work trips to Tokyo and the surrounding area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iwataya Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Iwataya Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iwataya Japanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.