We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dive bar that isn't a dive!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Deerhead Pizza Tavern

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Deerhead Pizza Tavern
222 E Columbia St, Evansville, IN
812.425.2515
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #62 of 368 Restaurants in Evansville
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dive bar that isn't a dive!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Went there based on reviews. Pizza was good, chicken planks are excellent, best I've had. They had live music, which was very good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    12
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
southern Indiana
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good local spot!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Deerhead never disappoints. The pizza is so good, and the Greek salad is fantastic. Such an eclectic Evansville spot.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great staff but not so great pizza”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I was looking forward to eating at the Deerhead from all of the great reviews I had read. Today I ate lunch here with my family. The waitress was wonderful and very friendly. She made sure we always had everything we needed and our drinks were full. I ordered the thin crust pizza with sausage and pepperoni and my husband ordered the Reuben and we split an order of fried mushrooms. My other family members ordered the double decker pizza supreme. The food came to our table in a decent amount of time. The fried mushrooms were just your typical fried mushroom. When the pizza arrived it looked really good. When I picked up my pizza slice i noticed the bottom crust was a bit on the greasy side. I was really disappointed when I took a bite of it. I think I don't like the sauce that they put on it. I really wanted to like the pizza but I just didn't enjoy it at all. My other family members were not crazy about the pizza either. My husband didn't care for the pizza and he said his sandwich was ok. I wish I could say it was one of the best pizzas I ever had but it was probably one of the worst. Nice staff but the pizza shouldn't be their signature dish.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Must try the Double Decker”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Deerhead is one of the must try taverns in Evansville, IN. My favorite meal is the Double Decker pizza. Its actually two pizzas stacked on top of each other to create a thick, full of flavor slice with plenty of toppings. I say check the place out its got great atmosphere, good beer on tap (Fat Tire), and some great live music almost every day of the week.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Favorite Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Deerhead is by far my favorite Pizza Place in the city of Evansville. We used to go here once a week for lunch until i changed jobs. Now I don't get to eat there as often as I would like. They have a thin crust pizza and a double decker pizza both or excellent. They also have some of the best fried mushrooms in town.

If you go here on the weekends you will hear some of the best Jazz music in the city. All this coupled with a friendly staff and decent prices you can't beat it.

So now that you have read my review get out there and get you some pizza.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Deerhead Pizza Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Deerhead Pizza Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deerhead Pizza Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.