We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not nearly as good as C 'n C Fort Wayne” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cork 'n Cleaver

Cork 'n Cleaver
650 S Hebron Ave, Evansville, IN 47714-4042
812-479-6974
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #77 of 336 Restaurants in Evansville
Price range: $8 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations
Description: An Evansville restaurant for over 30 years, the Cork 'n Cleaver serves steaks and seafood with an award winning salad bar. Full bar service and wine list available. Dinner served every night with lunch offered Monday through Friday.
Greenville, South Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not nearly as good as C 'n C Fort Wayne”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Cork 'n Cleaver Evansville seems to be resting on the laurels of the other Cork n' Cleavers scattered about the country. Comparing this restaurant to the one in Fort Wayne and the one that used to be in Greenville, SC (our only other two experiences with this brand), the salad bar in Evansville is nothing more special than the salad bar at your local family buffet. The food quality is okay, but not worth the premium pricing compared to other restaurants of the same quality. I ordered the Petite Filet and my husband ordered the Prime Rib. We were both underwhelmed with the flavor and quality. My steak was bland and in need of a hearty dose of salt and pepper to give it any flavor. My husband's prime rib was so-so, which was disappointing because Cork n' Cleaver Fort Wayne's prime rib was so scrumptious! For the quality, flavor, and value of our meal, Cork n' Cleaver Evansville was overpriced and they under-delivered.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    15
    16
    12
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A dying breed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is one of the absolute treasures of the Evansville area, or any other for that matter. The salad bar is second to none and the prime rib is the best I have ever eaten. It is a shame that the ranking is so low, especially when Western Ribeye and Ribs is rated so highly. Cork and Cleaver literally does everything better than they do. It is also an excellent place for a romantic dinner. With all of the chains out there cutting corners and in turn cutting quality it is a breath of fresh air to know that you can still go to a place like the Cork and Cleaver and have a great meal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Salad Bar Overrated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Cork 'n Cleaver used to be the place to go for a deluxe salad bar ein Evansville, not exactly a salad lovin' town. C & C still advertise their salad bar in radio ads as "award winning". My recent experience suggests this is no longer the case. No dark, leafy greens, just a tired mix of Romaine and iceberg. No spinach. No broccoli. The only prepared salad was an oily angel hair pasta mix. Gloppy, high fat dressings. In short, this salad bar ($10.99) was a big letdown from how I remembered it and way over-priced. Also, if you eat here bring your pen flashlight -- curious ultra-dim lighting makes me wonder what they don't want guests to see.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PETERSBURG
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The restaurant was recommended to us for a "romantic" meal. Yes, it was dimly lit, but to dark to read the menu; the table next to us was so load that we could hear everything they said (without trying to); the steak was ordered med rare and came med well had no flavor and was not as tender as it should have been. The salad bar and bread were great. The overall price was pretty good for what was ordered. Glad we tried it but will not be back.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Writing this while my wife suffers from nausea/diarrhea (I.e., food poisoning)”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

To put it simply, our server was attentive, the atmosphere was okay, the salad bar was adequate although lackluster, and the entree was horrible and left my wife bloated afterwards and it agony this morning with nausea and diarrhea.
Suffice it to say we ate from the same salad bar with a selection of similar items and had the same vegetable (asparagus), but we differed in our choice of meat. I had the grilled salmon which had obviously been frozen in its past and tasted like flavored cardboard while my wife had the scallops. The first bitter bite gave her the warning something was wrong and she declined to finish the rest. I am glad she did else we would be in the hospital this morning

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cork 'n Cleaver also viewed

 

Been to Cork 'n Cleaver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cork 'n Cleaver, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.