We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Growth Urban Forest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wesselman Woods Nature Preserve

Wesselman Woods Nature Preserve
551 North Boeke Road, Evansville, IN 47711-5994
812-479-0771
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 41 things to do in Evansville
Attraction details
Newburgh, Indiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Old Growth Urban Forest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

This place is unique. It is old growth in an urban location. If you are in Evansville and like to walk in the woods, this is very convenient and very free. I have never seen an urban forest like this anywhere else.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    5
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place for nature walks within the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We went to the nature preserve with low expectations, but it turned out great. We had one of the volunteers (Debbie) take us around and show us some of the native plants and insects. She mentioned that Evansville was the only city of its size to have a old growth forest like Wesselman Woods within the city limits. Definitely worth checking out and free!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elberfeld, Indiana
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Underused, under appreciated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We visited the nature preserve on a spring break "field trip." Several learning opportunities in the nature center, live animals, and bird watching. No admission is a perk. Several trails throughout the preserve with interpretive markers.

I was disappointed, however, at the amount of litter throughout the park. It is a shame that people don't take ore pride in this park. It is a great opportunity to escape from the city without leaving, even though you can hear traffic noise while in the woods.

This is a great, free way to pass a half hour to half a day when in Evansville.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EVANSVILLE
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Preservation at It's Finest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Enter the Nature Center and enjoy watching nature up close. Take a walk through the woods on great trails and you will not feel like you are in the middle of a city. Wesselman Woods is the oldest preserve in the United States.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EVANSVILLE
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful local gem in the city. It's amazing to have such an educational place for all to visit. I feel there should be more advertising in the area, perhaps on TV, so people could be reminded of its presence. I hope it will be around for future generations!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wesselman Woods Nature Preserve also viewed

 

Been to Wesselman Woods Nature Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wesselman Woods Nature Preserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.