We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for nature walks within the city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wesselman Woods Nature Preserve

Wesselman Woods Nature Preserve
551 North Boeke Road, Evansville, IN 47711-5994
812-479-0771
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 18 attractions in Evansville
Attraction Details
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place for nature walks within the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We went to the nature preserve with low expectations, but it turned out great. We had one of the volunteers (Debbie) take us around and show us some of the native plants and insects. She mentioned that Evansville was the only city of its size to have a old growth forest like Wesselman Woods within the city limits. Definitely worth checking out and free!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    3
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elberfeld, Indiana
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Underused, under appreciated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We visited the nature preserve on a spring break "field trip." Several learning opportunities in the nature center, live animals, and bird watching. No admission is a perk. Several trails throughout the preserve with interpretive markers.

I was disappointed, however, at the amount of litter throughout the park. It is a shame that people don't take ore pride in this park. It is a great opportunity to escape from the city without leaving, even though you can hear traffic noise while in the woods.

This is a great, free way to pass a half hour to half a day when in Evansville.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EVANSVILLE
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Preservation at It's Finest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Enter the Nature Center and enjoy watching nature up close. Take a walk through the woods on great trails and you will not feel like you are in the middle of a city. Wesselman Woods is the oldest preserve in the United States.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, IN
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great Trails for Walking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Wesselman Park Woods has some of the best trails for walking. Most of the trails are boardwalk style, with wooden slats that raise you slightly above the ground. This is great after rain to avoid mud, and also for people with strollers. We have been to parks all over the country and Wesselman Woods stands up to any we have been to!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EVANSVILLE
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

What a wonderful local gem in the city. It's amazing to have such an educational place for all to visit. I feel there should be more advertising in the area, perhaps on TV, so people could be reminded of its presence. I hope it will be around for future generations!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wesselman Woods Nature Preserve also viewed

 

Been to Wesselman Woods Nature Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wesselman Woods Nature Preserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.