We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food in Evansville - unique taste treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of House of Como

House of Como
2700 S Kentucky Avenue, Evansville, IN
18124220572
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 334 Restaurants in Evansville
Cuisines: Middle Eastern
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Owensboro, Kentucky
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Best food in Evansville - unique taste treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

I've eaten here for more than 40 years and haven't found a better restaurant in Evansville or in neighboring Henderson, KY or Owensboro, KY. The Arabian offerings are a particular delight. A favorite is the yebra malfoof -- rolled cabbage leaves filled with beef and rice served in a tomato sauce. Italian selections are excellent as well. Service is top notch and friendly. Bar drinks are generous and well-prepared. Recent upgrades have made the interior much more inviting. Don't be put off by the exterior or neighborhood; they are part of the charm. Take cash - no credit cards accepted.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    3
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newburgh, Indiana
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Diverse menu with generally great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We hadn't been to the House of Como in years, but that unique Reservations-Only (on-the-weekend), Cash-Only place that serves up Italian and other Mediterranean specialties was as good or better than we had remembered. Where can you go that still has handwritten bills, and where the service is uniformly attentive and friendly? The house salad with flatbread is fresh and delectable; the dressing light and lively. My lamb chops were tasty, but just a bit on the small side (for the $25/with two sides meal price). The fresh shrimp my wife had was also delicious, but the 6 jumbo shrimp were the entire meal. And I don't recommend the baklava...it was a piece measuring 1"x1"..and while exquisitely tasty, come on....give me a little more for my $3.50!! From the other reviews, I guess I should try steak or an Italian dish next time, if I hope to get my money's worth. But we will come again!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food--best steaks in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is one of our fav places to go. The food is excellent! My husband loves their steaks. He has eaten at alot of steaks at the big steak restaurants in bigger cities, but still tells me this one is the best.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Don't let the outside fool you.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

This place has the best steaks handsdown! It's pricey, but you'll be moaning with every mouthful. Make sure you're hungry if you order the T-bone or New York Strip. You'll be trying to picture the size of the cow it came from. They buy their beef daily and select every cut. The kabob is filet and melts in your mouth. Perfect for someone without a massive appetite. It comes with jasmine rice cooked with almond slivers and seasoned beef. It's served wrapped in their handmade Arabic flatbread. Check or cash only! Now I have to go just from writing this review!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very nice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

It was my fist time there & my son recommended it because they had been there a few times and really liked it. The staff was friendly. The food was excellent. The service was very good. Our waitress forgot my hummus, but she brought it out when I reminded her....not a problem. I also had the Shrimp A La Como with pasta, which was delish! My husband had the T-bone, which was a whopping two lbs. He said it was great. Both my sons and future daughter-in-law had the Filet Mignon and our daughter-in-law had the Orange Roughy. We all shared a big salad and flat bread, which you put the salad on the flat bread and roll it like a taco. It was tasty. Our grandsons shared the spaghetti and they loved it. We all enjoyed our meals! It's a cozy atmosphere and not too up-ity, but yes, it is pricey. So, for a special occasion, it's nice to splurge a little bit once in awhile. I will definitely be back on a future visit. Oh, and the Bloody Mary;s are really good too! The Bartender said they make their own mix.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed House of Como also viewed

 

Been to House of Como? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage House of Como, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.