We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Meal, Lovely presentation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ma T 888 China Bistro

Ma T 888 China Bistro
5636 Vogel Rd, Evansville, IN 47715-7824
812-475-2888
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 361 restaurants in Evansville
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sullivan
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful Meal, Lovely presentation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Last night was the first time we dined at China Bistro in Evansville. It was very crowded on Friday evening; we had a 15 minute wait, but well worth it. The restaurant is tastefully decorated, definitely a bit upscale. The menu was extensive; we chose one of the two fixed price meals. We were served rich egg drop soup, crisp and flavorful egg rolls and then the 2 entrees we chose. We were served Mongolian Beef and Shrimp and Vegetables. The presentation was lovely and the taste was wonderful. This is the best Chinese meal we have enjoyed in quite a while. We will dine here again. The price is very reasonable too!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

100% Recommend
    18
    4
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The BEST!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

I love the food and the service! All of the food is prepared to order and absolutely delicious! Try the China Bistro egg rolls and the special won ton soup

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“One of the Best Chinese Restaurants In Evansville”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

China Bistro is owned and operated by a Chinese family, but here in the Midwest that doesn't necessarinly guarantee good Chinese food like you would have in L.A. or New York. The Midwest clientele expects a different kind of Chinese flavor than ethnic Chinese people do.

However, China Bistro does an excellent job of providing an authentic Chinese flavor to the dishes that it offers. The ambience of the restaurant, however, is what really makes it stand out. One of the few Chinese places in town that actually feels like a nice restaurant, yet the prices are very reasonable.

The food is better than most of the Chinese places I've sampled in town. And they even have dim sum on Sundays.

Bottom line is, if you're used to authentic Chinese food that you've had in large cities, China Bistro is the closest you're going to find here in Evansville.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice Change From Buffets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The atmosphere is delightful. Warm and Friendly feeling. The service was superb. The soup is good but the salad dressing is to die for!. Nice portions of food and tasted very fresh.
A nice quiet change from buffets.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

If you are looking for a nice place to eat good Chinese food venture on over to China Bistro. The Seafood Warbar soup is tasty along with the salad. Their portions are good sized and delicious and it is friendly place. It is located between Green River and Burkehart pretty close to mall. If you are in town visiting give it a try great people.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ma T 888 China Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Ma T 888 China Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ma T 888 China Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.