We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inside good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gateway Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Gateway Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Gateway Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   324 Rusher Creek Rd, Evansville, IN 47725-7802 (Formerly Best WEstern)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 35 Hotels in Evansville
Stafford, VA, United States
1 review
“Inside good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

This hotel was a nice stay for the money. The room was clean. The breakfast was typical free hotel fare, but was hot and good. Pet friendly. The location was a bit industrial, but the inside was clean. Exterior landscaping would have helped appearance. Inside the room was clean and fresh. Hotel has a guest bar, but there was no bartender during my stay...bummer. Small items of note...toilet worked but bowl was chipped. luggage cart wheel was broken, upstairs noise was somewhat noticeable as people walked across floor. Front desk staff was helpful. Nice stay for the money. Would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    24
    17
    12
    13
See reviews for
42
17
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

Misleading marketing. On the night we stayed the HAPPY HOUR bar sign was up yet the bar was closed because the bartender (only one?) was sick; the wireless didn't work (these were the two reasons I chose this hotel) and the clerk was sweet but not the brightest bulb so he couldn't offer solutions, eg figure out how to fix the wireless. I am a BW rewards member but believe I will turn my card in because the service and accommodations at every Best Western are so variable.

The bed was squishy, the pillows were lumpy.

At check out I was not asked how my stay was.

Never eat at the "Amish" restaurant across the street; choose one of the fast food restaurants or you will regret it!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Good clean room, pleasant desk people on way in and out. Breakfast could have been better, only green oranges for fruit and no meat in the gravy for the biscuits. Other than that it was good for motel fare. Happy with cleanliness in room and breakfast area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurley, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Nice location off the freeway. Good breakfast. Has a nice bar but it was closed on Sundays when we stayed. Great Amish Buffet resteraunt across the street. TV had poor reception in our room. Price was good as we used a Hotel Coupon from the truckers brochere

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, IL
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Upon arrival, we waited 10 minutes until someone told us that we had to call a phone number for help. There was so many things on the counter that the piece of paper with the phone number blended in and we didn't see it...the clerk was in back. When we checked out, we had to call the number again...the clerk was in the back. The breakfast bar didn't have the most health conscious items on it. No fruit or yogurt....plenty of carbs with bread, bagels, waffles, etc. The room seemed dirty. In fact we didn't want to sit on the sofa without putting a sheet on it. The bed was soft and lumpy on one side and the other side was hard. The toilet was situated like you were sitting in a hole in the wall. Not the best Best Western experience that we've had at all.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duarte, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

It was clean and breakfast was good. loved that it had an indoor pool. staff seemed pleasant. however the mattress on sofa bed was so trashed n the actual bed broken. sucked! we were relying on that extra bed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Night clerk was rude and uncaring. At least the room was clean! The free drink helped and the morning clerk was great. Breakfast needs some work, but the coffee was decent. Great for a quick stop but make sure the night clerk has your room request right.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregory S, Owner at Gateway Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Im sorry your stay began with such an unpleasant experience with our team members. We at the Best Western Gateway Inn & Suites, pride ourselves on our service and attitude. Please be assured this will be addressed.

I was glad to hear you enjoyed our fresh brewed coffee in the morning and that you slept well.

We do hope you will consider us again down the road.

Thanks again for sharing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gateway Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Inn & Suites

Address: 324 Rusher Creek Rd, Evansville, IN 47725-7802 (Formerly Best WEstern)
Location: United States > Indiana > Evansville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 35 Hotels in Evansville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gateway Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Hwy 41 near I-64, this lovely boutique hotel offers service, amenities and ease all wrapped in one.The ONLY hotel in the area with a lobby bar serving complimentary snacks and drinks Monday - Saturday evenings.With access to all routes, we are the perfect location for those in the area for business or just passing through on their way to Louisville or St. Louis.Toyota, Whirlpool, and Atlas Van Lines are just a few of the businesses near-by. Holiday World and Splashin Safari are the perfect places for families to visit in the summer. We are the closest Best Western Hotel to Holiday World a mere 30 minutes away.Book your room today to experience all the best of Evansville ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Gateway Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Evansville
Evansville Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gateway Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.