We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Sushi in TriState” 5 of 5 stars
Review of KanPai

KanPai
4593 Washington Avenue, Evansville, IN 47714
812.471.7076
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
KanPai is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #25 of 365 Restaurants in Evansville
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Japanese, Asian fusion
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Evansville IN
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best Sushi in TriState”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

I've been eating here for years, sometimes weekly, and they are consistently good! They have a large variety of sushi rolls along with other menu items to please the non-sushi eaters. The kanpai salad and kanpai shrimp is a yummy way to start off your meal. I recommend a reservation if going on a Friday or Saturday evening. The place is small and can get loud, but the atmosphere is cool and they always have good music playing. On Wednesday nights, they have live music and. 8$ bottles of wine.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    6
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good for Evansville”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

This place had some good (microbrew) beer choices, and was willing to make what we wanted vegetarian. Biggest downside: REALLY busy on a Friday night. Very small place. But the food and beer were good.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“up to expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

I found out about this place from tripadvisor. I then asked friends that had been here about it. All said it is a must go to. So I finally got around to it. Wonderful. Lots to chose from, chinese food or sushi. I wanted sushi. I also wanted hot saki, as it was cool and damp outside. I enjoyed both. I got the large saki for 9$ and could barely finish it. Still kinda woozy. I had octopus nori, 2 pieces, octopus roll, and california roll (crab, cucumber, avocado). I meet the manager, Micki, she was nice and informative. We discussed beers, of which they have several very good ones available from Carson's Brewery. Micki let me sample the Eville and Brown Cow. Eville was very hoppie, I could not taste the nutty malt I expected from the brown cow. It did have an earthy aroma. I should not have had the Eville, a wheat beer, but with the hops of a good IPA, first.
Total cost 28$ before tip. Just what I would expect to pay.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great place to eat, talk and write”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I have been going to KanPai for about 2+ years. I have always had a good experience. Jason, (the owner) is personable, knowledgable and will pretty much cook what you want, if it's not on the menu. Waitstaff is very good. Avocado sushi is excellent. Cannot beat the price/value on the Bento box lunch. Great place to talk also. As a writer, I have done a considerable amount of work there. No pressure or problem to eat and "get out." I do go at "non-rush" times, and find the atmosphere conducive to writing and thinking. Way cool, without being "trendy." Highly recommended in all ways.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, Indiana
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

In my opinion the most authentic place to get sushi in town. Dining area is small but quaint and adds to the non-franchise atmosphere. Service was great and owner stopped by and chatted for quite awhile. Can't wait to go back!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to KanPai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage KanPai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.