We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place sucks” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Suburban Extended Stay Hotel

Save Saved
You added Suburban Extended Stay Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5538 E Indiana St, Evansville, IN 47715-2853 (Formerly Lees Inn and Suites Evansville)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #27 of 35 hotels in Evansville
Evansville, Wyoming
1 review
“This place sucks”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

Okay my husband works for the coal mines and their company pays this motel money for them to stay here right but on top of that they want 10 extra dollars a day if they bring their wives that is so stupid my god their making a killing off the company and the towels are so spotted and dingy i wouldnt dare wipe my face with one and above my shower its molded they need to shut this place down.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    7
    2
    2
    4
See reviews for
3
3
2
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Smyrna, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

Lees Inn in Evansville was a pleasant surprise for my wife and I. This is an extended-stay hotel, but served adequately for one night. The room included a kitchenette, a recliner, a large desk, a sofa, and the bed.

The bed was my only real complaint... it seemed small for a queen and wasn't all that comfortable.

The hotel offered a nice free breakfast which included the standard fare, but also hot selections like sausage, bacon and eggs.

The location can be tough to find, but my GPS made it easy. It is quite a bit off the main road, and the access roads aren't clearly marked. The hotel is in a large retail district, so there are a lot of dining and shopping options around.

The staff was very friendly and offered good advice for things to do in the area.

The room was very nice, especially considered the low price.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2009

As previous reviews suggest - it's in a very odd spot and a little hard to find. Make sure you get good street by street directions. Don't use a generic Evansville map - you'll never find it. But it's odd location puts it a very quite area that is right off the main expressway.

Our stay was very pleasant. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We really liked our room. It was nice to have a full size fridge to keep drinks and snacks. Also nice to have real cups, plates, and sliverware to use. The bed was comfortable - daughter even said that the pull-out couch was comfortable. Breakfast was good (scrambled eggs, biscuits and gravy, potatoes, pancakes, sausage links, bagels, english muffins, cereal, juice, coffee). We must have been there on an off weekend, because it was very quiet. Have stayed at other hotels where you hear doors banging closed at all hours of the night. There were others in the hotel (saw them in the hall and at breakfast), but all seemed to be well mannered, so hotel does not attract a bad crowd.

While it was over-all a good stay, there were a few issues.
*First was finding the place, but it was my mistake to use the Evansville map instead of getting a detailed map.
*I could not find extra pillows for the pull-out couch, so I went to the lobby to ask for one - and got one with no problem. Later that night when we pulled the sofa bed out, we realized that there was no bedding, so another trip to the lobby to ask for bedding - again given with no problem.
*There was a VCR in the room, but we did not know about it so we did not bring any videos to watch. Checked with front desk to see if we could rent/borrow some, she was very helpful and called a local video store to see if they would rent to out-of-towners then she gave us directions to the store. Once we got to the store, we found out that they don't rent VHS tapes any more. After a little driving around we found a buy/sell/trade store that had old VHS tapes - guy sold them to us for $.99 each (seemed like a deal). Got back to the hotel, tried to put tape in VCR -- it would not take the tape. By this time it was after 9PM and we figured that the lady in the lobby wouldn't be able to help us, so we gave up and watched the Food Network. :) We told the guy at the desk the next morning about the VCR not working and he said that they were working to remove all of the VCRs - said many were being stolen and the only rooms that were getting DVD players were the jacuzzi suites.
*While the room has a dishwasher and a kitchen sink, there was no soap to do up the dishes. Went to lobby to ask for soap and was given liquid dish soap - not sure why I didn't/couldn't get soap for the dishwasher.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anybody who's visiting the Evansville area and would like a nice room at a decent rate. If my daughter attends U of E, I'll definitely be back again! Happy Travels!! :~)

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
il
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2007

We stayed in a jacuzzi room for a date night. Although the hotel is older and in an odd location behind a car dealership we were very happy with our stay. The jacuzzi was quite large and all areas of the hotel were clean. I would not hesitate to book the jacuzzie room again. By joining the free Lee's club I received a substantial discount on the room rate.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2006

My husband and I stayed at this hotel periodically right before Christmas of 2005. Two times we made reservations on priceline, and ended up at the Lees Inn. It was a pretty decent hotel, especially for what we paid. Marty was the employee who waited on us each time. When he saw how little we were paying through priceline to stay there, he told us that if we would just call him directly, he would give us the same rate, which would save them from paying a fee to priceline on our rate. The next time we came into town, we took his word for it, however, he was not willing to give us the same rate - he wanted to charge us $15 more.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2005

My husband and I decided to stay here for our anniversary and get a jacuzzi room. The lobby area was nice, that was about it. When we got to our room, we noticed a large amount of body hair in the tub. This was enough to make us check right out and go elsewhere, think before you stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL.
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2005

Thanks to the two previous reviewers for pointing me in the direction of such a great hotel. I do have a couple of additions some may find useful.

One exceptional option with this establishment is the choice of rather to have daily room service. If you want your room cleaned - just call the desk the night before and they will come. It is not cleaned by default but you can get a new set of towels at the front desk if you prefer things not be disturbed or interrupted.

There is a laundry room with 2 sets of washers/dryers. You won't have to sit around feeding them quarters - one cycle completely dries your clothes. (45 mins.)

There is a full facility workout room so you need not worry about the weather outside if excercise is a priority. There is also a well stocked convenience type store in the lobby filled with candy if excercise is not your priority.

The full size refrigerator that everyone raves about - also has an ice maker!

The room was well suited for both business and relaxation. A large desk with computer hookup - plenty of outlets for personal appliances - and a recliner for wind down time.

Our room was heated or cooled by setting a temperature preference. The unit was quiet and consistant - an enormous plus.

We checked out on our scheduled date then needed to stay one additional night. We called - requested the same room - and was accommodated at the same room rate as before.

During our stay - no one waited at the desk for service. The desk was covered at all times. If this hotel is not well staffed - it doesn't show - management is outstanding! (Dec. 04)

Do not assume the price of the room represents what the hotel and service are at Lee's Inn. You will definitely come out the winner in this deal. If I were a resident of Evansville - Lee's Inn would be my permanent address.

Lee's Inn in Evansville is the slightest bit off of the main thoroughfare but well worth finding your way to their door.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Suburban Extended Stay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suburban Extended Stay Hotel

Address: 5538 E Indiana St, Evansville, IN 47715-2853 (Formerly Lees Inn and Suites Evansville)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Evansville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 35 hotels in Evansville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Suburban Extended Stay Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All guest rooms are equipped with full size refrigerator, microwave, two burner stove top, dishwasher, garbage disposal and utensils for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Suburban Extended Stay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lees Inn And Suites Evansville Hotel Evansville
Lees Hotel Evansville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suburban Extended Stay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.