We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel that tries hard” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tropicana Evansville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tropicana Evansville to your Saves list
Tropicana Evansville
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   421 NW Riverside Dr, Evansville, IN 47708-1047 (Formerly Casino Aztar Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 35 Hotels in Evansville
Indianapolis, IN
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Hotel that tries hard”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you are going to the casino then this is a great hotel. Plenty of places to eat and it is attached to the casino boat. If you are there on business the hotel is okay and employee try hard to service their guest but its still a casino hotel. Not recommended for families.

Free Valet parking was nice but had to find the parking attendant. Cavanaugh's is a great place to eat!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    23
    17
    3
    4
See reviews for
5
36
3
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Kentucky, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed on 11-21-14 and our stay was alright except for the bug that decided to come visit us but he is no longer with us thanks to a good swat.
Willie b. The room was nice but I would have preferred a room not looking at the parking garage, but I know everyone can't have a good view
Room525

Room Tip: It is overall a good place to stay we have stayed here several times before
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The room decor was nice the view was Great but it was not very clean. The floors obviously had not been vacuumed and there was hair on the towels and the floor disgusting. Who wants to use towels with someone else's hair on it. The service was excellent I forget the clerks name that checked us in she was awesome and very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owensboro, Kentucky
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As a frequent platinum card holder, I often stay @ the Tropicana hotel due to mailer coupons and comps, but this is a terrible place to stay. Numerous problems, never properly addressed, worst customer service ever. Not a single time has there not been some issue with the room or staff. I don't even complain anymore.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This has to be the most impressive hotel I have stayed in for years. Poorly constructed (example: to start the shower, you have to get in the cold shower spray because of how the shower door works). No tub, just a shower. No restaurant or bar that was open in the hotel in the evening - they apparently want to draw you to the casino. The restaurants were basically all fast food joints of one form or another. THe breakfast buffett was one of the worst I have ever seen - avoided the eggs because of the level of yellow oil on them. Hard pillows and a harder bed. No room safe. Perhaps the smallest TV screen I have ever seen. No stores or other places to go to. I had to wonder if the goal was to drive you out of the room and into the casino. And the casino was smoky as can be with a bunch of unhappy 70 and 80 year old people plunking money as quickly as they could in the machines.

The one good spot was the staff were all attentive and courteous.

Room Tip: Unless you are there for the casino, find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Tennessee
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014 via mobile

We enjoy our stay here every time. The rooms are clean and updated. We come here every other month and it is always a relaxing stay. I would recommend this hotel to anyone in this area. The casino is very smokey but it is nice to come back and relax in your room.

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn S, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Evansville, responded to this review, November 12, 2014
Thank you for your review on your stay. We are so glad that you enjoyed your self and that you are a repeat customer. Clientele like you are what helps make us the front runner in entertainment choices in Evansville. Thanks for being a loyal customer and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

My fiancee got a free room offer and we tried the Tropicana Evansville hotel for the first time. We have stayed at Le Merigot twice before and really liked it. The staff was very friendly and helpful at check in and they got us a river view room. I understand the hotel was recently remodeled and updated. The room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was very nice with a big walk in shower. We met friends at the casino and had a really good time. The TV was a bit small and there was no refrigerator in the room, but we had a very nice stay and I would certainly stay here again on our next visit to the casino.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room. The Ohio River at sunset is beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn S, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Evansville, responded to this review, November 11, 2014
Thank you for your review on your stay. We are glad that you enjoyed yourself and had a good time on property. We do not have refrigerators in rooms, but we do have quite a few available on request at no charge, so next time you stay with us, please be sure to request one and we will try to accommodate. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropicana Evansville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Evansville

Address: 421 NW Riverside Dr, Evansville, IN 47708-1047 (Formerly Casino Aztar Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Evansville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 35 Hotels in Evansville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropicana Evansville 3*
Number of rooms: 243
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Tropicana Evansville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aztar Casino
Evansville Aztar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropicana Evansville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.