We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay if visiting Evansville or Henderson.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tropicana Evansville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Tropicana Evansville to your Saves list
Tropicana Evansville
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   421 NW Riverside Dr, Evansville, IN 47708-1047 (Formerly Casino Aztar Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 34 Hotels in Evansville
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good place to stay if visiting Evansville or Henderson.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We were in a tennis tournament in Henderson for the weekend. Spouses came with us so we thought we'd stay at the casino hotel for more activity options.

The Tropicana was a good choice. Rooms were clean and modern. Staff friendly and helpful.

It was nice to get back to the hotel in the evening and have a choice of restaurants on premise. They had a really good band playing one night at one of the bars. There's a Starbucks on site to get you going in the morning! And of course, there's the casino!

There are cheaper hotels in the vicinity, but not with all the amenities of the Tropicana.

We didn't have a good view from our room (looked out over the parking garage), but we didn't care as we weren't in our room much.

Overall, we had a good experience and would definately stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn S, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Evansville, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of our property. We are so glad that you decided to stay with us and that we had everything you needed to make your stay so enjoyable. We hope to see you again soon and be sure to ask for that river view room!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    26
    19
    3
    4
See reviews for
5
40
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jasper, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Loved are room, it was comfortable and loved the view of the Ohio River. The restaurant Max and Erma's that is on property was very good and so was the service. If you are looking for a casino to stay at, I would definitely recommend this place, and French Lick Resort and Casino... Southern Indiana is awesome!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn S, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Evansville, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us. We are pleased that you found your room clean and comfortable. I will be sure to pass that along to our housekeeping staff. Max & Erma's is a great place to catch a snack or a nice dinner and so glad that you enjoyed that as well.
Hope the next time you are in the area, you decide to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Nice Hotel in the Downtown area......across from the river. We had a room on the third floor with a nice view of the river. This Hotel/Casino is really spread out.....the parking garage entrance is on the opposite side of the building (that is, if, you do not pay for valet services). Some very nice valet ladies allowed us to park our car at the entrance of the hotel to go in and check-in and then load our luggage cart with our belongings and was able to take them to our room. About 10 minutes later, we returned to our car (thanking those two ladies) and drove to opposite side of building to park our car. The walking at this establishment and getting from one place to the other is quite lengthy.....at least it is all under one roof!
That evening we retired for the night and was ready to take a shower. To our surprise, there was ONLY one wash cloth, one hand towel, no bath mat and 4 bath towels. We managed with what we had, but, I did report it the next morning when we checked out. The man behind the check-out desk told us that was what they put in the rooms. I told him, for two people, there should have been sufficient bath linens and I had never encountered this at any other hotel!! So, people, if you stay at this hotel, check out the bathroom before you get in the shower!
Also, the bathroom vent was totally FILTHY, coated with dust, etc.
Internet... we could not connect to certain websites, like genealogy, etc.

Room Tip: Our room on the third floor was quite and we had a very nice view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn S, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Evansville, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Thank you for writing your review about your recent stay with us. We are glad that you had a good time and have addressed some of the issues that you had. The Front Desk Clerk did give you some wrong information about the number of towels and wash clothes that are in the room and the Executive Housekeeper has been notified that some of the rooms did not have the correct amount of terry in them. This should not happen again and appreciate any feedback when it is given. She has also been notified about the vents and her staff is paying more attention to detail when it comes to the vents.

I don't know what the issue was not being able to connect to the internet websites that you wanted. I do not know if they were having issues or anything like that because you can usually get on most websites on your own computer or if you came down to the Business Center and used ours.

Again, thank you for staying with us and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Indiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

This hotel had a government rate of $69--about half the cost of the cheapest decent chain hotel in the area, so we gave it a try. I am VERY sensitive to cigarette smoke, so I was concerned about his being a facility that allows smoking on the property. I'm also not a casino person & was concerned about raucous neighbors. NO PROBLEMS. Good night's sleep, NO smoke smell in the non-smoking room, quiet room. The only place I encountered smoking was in the parking garage--no big deal. Also, very convenient walk across the interior sky bridge for Starbucks in the morning (also a sit-down breakfast restaurant available--Max & Erma's, but I'm more a "grab & go" breakfast person. Also great location--right by the river walk. I didn't check out the casino, so can't comment on that.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn S, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Evansville, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of our property. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon. Our Government Rate is truly a great perk for those that qualify for it. Our team works hard on making sure that your room is kept up to standard and we try to ensure that non smoking rooms are not infiltrated with smoke.
Look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This was a nice room with a fine view of the river. Staff were also great but at 150 actually170 after taxes and assorted surcharges I thought it was way too expensive. This was just a normal day in the middle of the week. Lucky for them they are the only game in town.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn S, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Evansville, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us. We do competitive shopping and we found that our rates are in line with other hotels of the same caliber of ours. Our weekday rate is one of the best around and we are running specials from time to time. If your rate was at the higher end during the week, it was due to a special event that may have been going on. Please let me know if you are going to be in the area again. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmersburg, Indiana
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Reading past reviews, I'm guessing the place has been updated since the Aztar days. The rooms are pretty much as shown in the pictures. The smoke from the casino does seem to waft in the lobby and elevators but, once on our floor, I couldn't smell it. The bathroom is very nice and the beds are good. It was nice being close to the things the casino has to offer. The service was the only thing lacking. Nobody was rude just wasn't super friendly. I also had to wait 10 minutes for the valet. I think the place is coming along!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn S, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Evansville, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for your recent review regarding your stay. We recently completed a complete renovation of our hotel, from the lobby to every floor. Everything was completed stripped and a new, fresher, modern look was unveiled. We have come a long way and intend to keep making progress in the areas where we are lacking. I am sorry that our service level was not up to par and it took longer than should be expected to retrieve your car from Valet. This will be addressed and hopefully you will give us another chance when you are in the area again.
Thank you, Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkinsville, Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Hotel was clean, staff was friendly & very helpful. The front desk staff even told us of discounts we were unaware of and answered all of our questions thoroughly.
Our room was beautiful with a great view of the river. Bathroom was stocked well and beds were comfortable.
All in all, we will definitely be making this trip again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn S, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Evansville, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you so much for your recent review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the Team Members you encountered were professional and friendly. Our river view rooms are in high demand and have a very calm, peaceful view from your windown. Hope to see you again when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropicana Evansville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Evansville

Address: 421 NW Riverside Dr, Evansville, IN 47708-1047 (Formerly Casino Aztar Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Evansville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 34 Hotels in Evansville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropicana Evansville 3*
Number of rooms: 243
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Tropicana Evansville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aztar Casino
Evansville Aztar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropicana Evansville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.