We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good renovations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tropicana Evansville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Tropicana Evansville to your Saves list
Tropicana Evansville
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   421 NW Riverside Dr, Evansville, IN 47708-1047 (Formerly Casino Aztar Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 35 Hotels in Evansville
Madisonville, Kentucky, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good renovations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

They have renovated this hotel since I last stayed there and it is much nicer now. I really love the new walk in shower. They should have put more counter space in the bathroom but not a big deal. Overall this is a very nice hotel and so convenient for going to the casino.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn S, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Evansville, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Hi Peggy,
Thanks for the response about the newly renovated rooms. We have had a lot of positive feedback about the new showers that are in the rooms now, so glad you liked it. The bathroom does have a more modern, streamlined look to it so it did reduce the amount of counter space, but overall it does seem to work well for most people. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

Thanks,
Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    23
    17
    3
    4
See reviews for
5
36
3
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knob Noster
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We've stayed at the Casino Aztar hotel many times on trips to Indiana to visit family. It was an okay hotel, always clean, but looking older.......needed new pillows, mattresses, even the bath towels were thinning......
We returned this week due to a family emergency; WOW the difference! The hotel had been renovated since we'd last stayed there 1.5 years ago. LOVE IT! CLEAN, BRIGHT furnishings......carpet, ceramic tile. Beds were super comfortable, linens beautiful.......love the color schemes. New TVS! Newly renovated baths/showers. We werent able to stay in a suite as we normally do as they were booked but I saw the pictures online of them, and I can't wait to stay in one of them! THANK YOU! We will return our next visit to Indiana.......Now if you could give us some winnings on the slots :0)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn S, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Evansville, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Lynn P--
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are proud of our renovation and glad to see that our guests are appreciating it as well. Sorry that your visit with us this time was due to an emergency, but hope to see you again soon when things are not hectic for you. When you return we hope you get to stay in the suite. You will be blown away by the changes that have been made there. The look and feel of our property is so exciting and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bardstown, Kentucky
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

My family has stayed at the Casino Aztar hotel on many occasions over the past couple years. The new renovations have made the hotel much more cozy. In the past, the smell of smoke and the vibrant colors detracted from the experience. Now these new improvements have made this hotel nearly on par with Le Merigot.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn S, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Evansville, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for the review on the newly renovated hotel. With the lobby being completed, it gives the entire building a new, edgy look. We are proud of our updates and the new experience that we are now able to offer our guests. We are on a new playing field and are able to compete with newer hotels in the city. Glad you chose us and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylorville, Illinois
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

we came to casino aztar hotel for a 2 night stay to attend the Kid Rock concert held at the Ford Center and i have to say that i have never come across so many nice people who work there! they were helpful and friendly! our room was great! nice and clean! there is smoking in the casino and rooms if you so choose so people who don't smoke probably wouldn't like it. they do have non smoking rooms available. we took along some febreeze for the air and that helped in our room alot. bed was comfortable and bathroom was nicely renovated. we found our stay very pleasant and would go there again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn S, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Evansville, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Hi Veronica,
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thoughtful service is a company wide dedication for us so it is a plus when we read comments that show we are doing it right! We hope that you have a reason to return soon to Evansville and we get a chance to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincennes, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed there for a girls weekend a couple of weeks ago and when I saw the rooms I couldn't believe it. They have really transformed this property. Everyone was so nice. Can't wait to go back. The valet was kind of slow on Sunday am but, there was only 1 person working. But, overall it was a wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn S, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Evansville, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your girls weekend with us! The renovation of our rooms and the hotel lobby are now complete and everyone seems to be enjoying the new atmosphere. I am sorry that Valet was not as quick as it should have been. Depending on the time of your checkout, it could have been caught up with a lot of checkouts at the same time. We will look at our staffing schedule to be sure that we have adequate coverage during our peak times.
Thanks for the review and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, TN
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed at your newly renovated hotel a couple of weeks ago and were totally impressed wih the new modern look of the rooms and can't wait for the hotel lobby to get finished, as theconvenience will be so much nicer when checking in. I must say, the whole staff was super to us, from the valet, to the check-in desk personnel, to the maid service. EVERYONE we came into contact with at the hotel. The only inconvenience was the round-about way to get to the reservation desk, but when thatis finished, shortly, it will be very attractive and modern looking. We have not been to the casino in several yrs. as my husband is on oxygen and could not take the smoke, the stinch of the smoking floors and the possibility of someone lighting a cigarette right next to him. Now that you have the non-smoking floor, and someone put it on the first floor, we will surely return to your casino & hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn S, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Evansville, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you for commenting on our newly renovated rooms. We are proud of the new modern rooms and now that the lobby is finished, you will just be surprised when you return. We have a brand new look inside and out and we are just waiting to share it with you. Level One of the Casino is entirely non smoking and you and your husband will enjoy it as well. We look forward to a return visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, In
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We spent a Friday night here as a quick "get-away" for our wedding anniversary. The room was recently renovated and very nice. The check in area is a temporary set-up while they are renovating the lobby, but it was no problem at all. Now is they would do similar upgrades to the casino it would be fantastic!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn S, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Evansville, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed your visit with us and like the renovations that we have made. The lobby is now finished and waiting for you to return and enjoy a whole new ultra modern experience with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropicana Evansville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Evansville

Address: 421 NW Riverside Dr, Evansville, IN 47708-1047 (Formerly Casino Aztar Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Evansville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 35 Hotels in Evansville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropicana Evansville 3*
Number of rooms: 243
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Tropicana Evansville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aztar Casino
Evansville Aztar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropicana Evansville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.