We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My home town Evansville Indiana” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mesker Park Zoo & Botanic Garden

Mesker Park Zoo & Botanic Garden
1545 Mesker Park Drive, Evansville, IN 47720
812-435-6143
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 12 Attractions in Evansville
Attraction details
Evansville, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“My home town Evansville Indiana”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Have lived in Evansville over 60 years. And don't remember there not being a zoo. Ave added attractions and buildings over the year and made the zoo a truly family outing experience. We are proud of our zoo.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    60
    34
    17
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newburgh Indiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good for walkers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Well kept park with plenty of places along the way to sit and rest. The hilly walkway may make it difficult for those with problems walking. Not the best zoo I've ever been to but certainly great for an afternoon out while visiting in town.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very nice zoo.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Our family enjoys this zoo often. No too big. Interesting exhibits. Clean, pretty, good parking, well located. Nice food concession for resting and refreshment...great gift store.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Alot of walking for very few animals”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

They are trying to expand over the past few years, but keep getting rid of the large animals and replacing them with small ones. No elephants, or HIppos any more. There is tons of walking. We would rather go to Memphis, or Indy. Not that far away.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Kids will like it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

A really nice zoo for a small town. We had annual pass for 10 years when our kids were younger. (under 12 years old) If you are looking for something to kill 2 or 3 hours and you have kids....this is a good place to go.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mesker Park Zoo & Botanic Garden also viewed

 

Been to Mesker Park Zoo & Botanic Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mesker Park Zoo & Botanic Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.