We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honoring our heros” 5 of 5 stars
Review of USS LST Ship Memorial

USS LST Ship Memorial
840 LST Drive, Evansville, IN
812-435-8678
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 24 things to do in Evansville
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Brandenburg, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Honoring our heros”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We thoroughly the tour and history of this salvaged WWII ship. It is well worth the time. And, you will be moved to learn the history of the ship known to it's sailors as the "one trip" vessel. Prices are family friendly. Great photo opportunities. And, the LST volunteers are very happy to share their vessel with your family.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    35
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“LOVED this tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

My son and husband went to the USS LST tour and absolutely LOVED it. They learned so much, even after reading about it online. They came back from the tour super excited to fill me in on everything and show me the pictures. We went back the next day to buy a t-shirt so my husband can proudly display his visit.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EVANSVILLE
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“History At It's Finest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This Landing Ship Tank (LST) is not to be missed. It is the only remaining ship of it's kind and it still functions. The crew takes the ship to different ports every year in late August or early September so other areas get a chance to tour it. Evansville is lucky to have LST 325 permanently docked here.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia City, Indiana
Level Contributor
91 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“nice naval historical piece”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Very nicely presented and friendly people working there. It's not every day one can see a big naval ship in Indiana! A little pricey to tour so large families might want to consider that, but would be a fun place to take your little navy fan, or for those wanting to reminisce.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“This is an excellent piece of history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Evansville used to build ships long ago, and I think this is one of them or one similar to the ones they built. This is a great tour where you get to know what went on and an explanation of the different equipment, not just a look-see and "Oh I wonder what this is." Very knowledgable people running the tour.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed USS LST Ship Memorial also viewed

 

Been to USS LST Ship Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage USS LST Ship Memorial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.